We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wings Hill Inn & Restaurant

Wings Hill Inn & Restaurant
9 Dry Point Drive, Rome, Belgrade Lakes, ME 04963
866-495-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We ate at the Wings Hill Inn on our visit with dear friends while at the "pond". The food was excellent, especially the pan seared pork entre. The entire meal was a pleasure.

What separates the Wings Hill Inn from other establishments is the gracious attitude of the hosts and service staff. We have seldom had such a wonderful experience both in food quality and feeling sincerely welcomed and accomadated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

5 course delicious dinner, portions just right....not huge, but ample. Very well prepared, innovative, porch dining was peaceful, service was very good, all in all a very pleasant dining experience by a great chef.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Chef/owner needs a tune-up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had dinner there recently. Never go to second seating. Portions are skimpy beyond imagination. Realizing there are several courses; they are STILL skimpy. Owner threw a his say fit at our complaint. Time to pack it in, bro!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining- Lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I, along with a NYC couple and a Boston couple traveled to Belgrade from our Camp on Cobbossee for the 7 PM loon calling contest and fine dining at Wings Hill. While we didn't participate in the contest, which we had attended in the past, we did enjoy a beautifully setting and food prep at the restaurant. This is a BYOB and we enjoyed our cocktails and wine in the living room with ice and glassware provided by Tammy and then were escorted to a table of six in one of the dining rooms. Except for another couple in a far away alcove, we were the only diners in this room and felt like we were royalty in a classic antique.

The five course meal was priced at $65/person and included a two soup, two salad and maybe five entree selections. The appetizer is the same for everyone and five or so desert options were also offered. My wife and I had the hanger steak which was not only tender and tasty, but well presented. I don't recall all of the other options but, as the menu changes weekly we are told, it doesn't matter. What did matter was that everyone truly enjoyed the food and ambience and we admired our superwoman waitress- Tammy-- who was pleasant, attentive and lives a busy life outside of the restaurant with two kids, a farm, a pre-school, etc. True Maine hardiness and a main contributor to this celebration.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gourmet dining in the Lakes region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I just had our anniversary dinner here. It could not have been a better experience. The ambience is warm and inviting, the decor is authentic Yankee charming, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the food is delicious. One of the best meals I've ever had. Superb!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wings Hill Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wings Hill Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.