We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep thinking I should go again...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
157 Main Street, Belgrade, ME 04918
207-495-3553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Belgrade
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Keep thinking I should go again...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Every time I return, it seems I'm disappointed again. The place has been too noisy each time I've been, and the food has been mediocre. The last time we asked for a quieter table, but a bartender type was dancing through the dining area shaking drinks and making a loud show, which may be part of the appeal to some, but it was not for me.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noisy Atmosphere and Arrogant Owner, Avoid it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We called ahead to make streamside table reservations to celebrate our anniversary and when we checked in we saw an empty table with a reserved sign on it...but no, it wasn't for us . They had a table for us next to the windows overlooking the garden and the distant street. We ate a leisurely dinner and the food was fine as it always seems to be at the Village Inn. When we were ready to depart over an hour later we noticed that same streamside table was still empty.....Makes them wonder who they were saving it for...maybe someone important?
The noise level was not unlike a middle school cafeteria at lunch. A table of locals were clearly enjoying themselves way beyond reason. The small child was one of the best behaved at the table. The noise level was astounding...we almost left. It was impossible to talk to one another.
The owner, Charlie, was doing his usual back slapping as he circulated among the tables rattling his cocktail shaker. He made no attempt to calm down the boisterous table and seems oblivious to how much the Village Inn is declining. A wonderful location, food is good, but the serving staff is over extended. If they had any competition they would wither on the vine
What the Village Inn desperately needs is new management....one can pray.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Recently moving to Augusta looking for a unique experience to celebrate a special occasion we believed this was the special place to celebrate a first anniversary. Called ahead and asked for a special seating for the occasion next to water. First they claim water views on both sides of resturant. Well one side has a view of the water that feels like its hugging you well our little table for two was next to the bathroom and you can't really see the water in the distant due to the blinding sun. I asked the waitress twice to see if we could be moved and both times she returned to say the owner refused to accommodate us. It was obvious we were upset explaining we called ahead. You would have thought thee owner would have come over her self to apologize no she did not. So on to the food. The opinion of the food is not entirely tanted by the owners lack of cooth. The roasted duck tasted like the last rotisserie chicken left at 9pm at shaws. They were down right stingy with the rice and vegetables. The other entree was the lobster carbanara. If you are going to have some many references to entree borrowed from Boston at these prices then please try harder with the flattery. With the low prices of lobster you can have more than four pieces of lobster. Now to the most insulting part, we were the first table of the evening arriving at 5:00 no way was it busy and by the time we finished and left the resturant yes you guessed it their was still open setting next to the water. If you live nearby and have heard all the hype and haven't gone yet don't do it. This is the type of place that can afford to rip of the travelers because this is Maine their will always be more to come to take the place of the previous ones whom walked out and felt like what a wast of money. Next special occassion I will feel like its worth the drive to Portland. The owners never even offered dessert to make amends for the disappointment. Cluess owners. Being from away with an obvious southern accent they made the mistake of not thinking I am local as a well employed professional I will hold a grudge and tell everyone I know. One more thing the $28 bottle of wine is not impressive when the waitres just has to unscrew the top. Call me old fashion but if you are going to brag then be ready to be judged harshly i still like the corked to be poped.The $28 dollar of wine is actually $9.95 at local grocery store. Should be first clue you are about to get screwed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“go for the atmosphere, also the kid waiters are uttlerly hilarious, albeit unintentionally”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

i love the lakes region and I love to cook so Days general store has everthing you need to make a good meal, but sometimes ya gotta get out. we like the routine of getting in our kayak, and having a sunset cocktail out back of the VI, which is really pretty. The VI is good for that and not much more, given the price if you eat in the dining room, you most likely won't walk away feeling great, but calibrate your expectations, stay outside, have a manhattan and an appetizer and call it a day and you won't leave disappointed. Oh and the comedy, its awesome, my wife asked what some thing on the menu was and the waitor (19 maybe) said, "Ewww its like GIANT hunks of drippy meat stuck on a stick, i think its pig but i can ask, but don't get it it looks gross!" awesome, she kept getting funnier on the second manhattan, then we paid the check and paddled back with a .08 BAC. Overall its fun, just skip the dinng room and hang out in the back outside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Best Duck Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We like to go to the Village Inn for the roast duck whenever we are in the area. Normally, duck is not high on my list but this is different. The flavor is wonderful, the skin is crisp and richly flavored, and the duck is not the least bit greasy. Their other food is very good but we just can't resist the duck.
The view of the water is nice, the atmosphere is a bit dated, and if the restaurant is busy, the noise level gets up there but overall, you could not keep me away.
The June, 2012, reviewers comment about the owners visit to your table cracked us up. We have always had the same experience and can't help but think that if we were that totally uncomfortable doing it, we just would not bother. Let the hostess or someone more comfortable in that situation take over the task. I admire him for trying but it has to be done right. However, it still will not keep me from coming back again and again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.