We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, very clean, great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge to your Saves list
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service, very clean, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn as we wanted a pool. From the moment we arrived, we were impressed with the level of service and cleanliness. Although we had not made a reservation, the receptionist was able to give us exactly the kind of room we wanted. Later, another receptionist kept making quickly disappearing plates of cookies. The cleaning staff clearly works attentively. All of the rooms have small balconies with views. The pool has minimal chlorine and like the rooms, great views of the bay. As it is only about 4 feet deep, it functions better as a pool for exercising or for children, but served our needs. Breakfast is included, and the selection is good, with some fresh fruit and the usual array of highly sugared options. Our only disappointment was that the overflow room for the breakfast was bleak, with a loud TV on a cartoon channel--so if you stay, time your breakfast to be early or late.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for writing. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that breakfast was crowded when you came down and that we had to open another room for overflow. In the better weather, we also have the option of eating on the deck. I hope that you will have a chance to try it on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    88
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
109
23
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been staying at the Comfort Inn, Ocean's Edge for over 15 years and it is a wonderful hotel. The staff is amazing and the view is breath taking. You have to make a point to have a meal or two in their restaurant. They have an amazing chef, Ms. Hightower. The food is fantastic!! The pool is a great asset also.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, they all face the bay, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the years, and thank you for your review.I appreciate all the compliments about the property, the staff and the restaurant.
Remember when you come back next summer, we will be a Fireside Inn & Suites. It will be the same friendly staff, same great food, and of course, the same fabulous view! Just give us a call directly at 1-800-303-5098.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Purely by chance we found this place. We had nowhere to stay on this particular night and found an ad in a Maine handbook from the tourist information office. The rooms are nice, it is all very clean, the view is phenomenal, water and blue sky and a lovely meadow down to the little beach. Also their pool looks very nice, clean and big, though we didn't use it. This is a great place and I would definitely go back if in the area.
Also when we checked into our original room we smelt cigarette smoke and a woman was in the next room on her balcony and the smoke was wafting right into our room, so we couldn't open the window and we couldn't go on the balcony. We called the front desk and they gave us another room, with no offensive smoking nearby.
Management should just have a solid no smoking policy.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. Just try to avoid a person smoking on the balcony of a no smoking room, the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good for them. However, it would be friendlier to my environment if they had a no smoking policy throughout the hotel.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed the property. Thank you for writing.
We have reduced the smoking on the property over the years, finally eliminating all indoor smoking. We haven't yet taken the leap to ban smoking from the entire property, but I can see that coming in the future. I am sorry that it diminished your enjoyment. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTFORDSHIRE, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during our New England road trip visiting from the UK, we found the hotel to be of a good standard in the price range charged. As noted the views from the rooms are to die for, the breakfast has one of the better selections avaliable. We used the restaurant on one evening which was very very good, we had the stuffed haddock and Terriyki which were both very well cooked and presented. There are a few minor issues - the carpet in the hallway on the ground floor was showing signs of wear and our room would benefit from a spruce up shortly but as they are joining the Fireside inn chain on Jan 1st this is understandable and I am sure is on the 'to do' list

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends and if we are passing this way again will most certinaly call on Barry and his staff once again! thanks for the hospitality guys.

Room Tip: Any room will do they all have fantastic views!
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins readily available and well postioned to use, good water conservation signage in room
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
It's great to see how much world-travelers such as you enjoy their experience here. No doubt you have experienced fabulous restaurants and hotels. Thank you for your kind words about ours.
Should your travels return you to Belfast Maine, I hope that you will again look to us as your hosts.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge! The staff was friendly and helpful, bedding was clean and comfy, rooms were cozy with great views of Penobscot Bay. The lobby breakfast was typical, however, the hotel's on-site restaurant was OUTSTANDING! I had stuffed haddock, and it was magnificent! Another night I had the lobster turnover, again, a wonderful meal! By all means, do yourself a favor and eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: We requested the top floor to avoid hearing any footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us all the way from Texas. And thanks for the nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and commented about the comfort of the rooms, the staff and the outstanding restaurant. It is sometimes difficult to get people to try a "hotel restaurant", but we bill ourselves as not being a typical hotel restaurant. I was pleased to read that you tried it and enjoyed it so much.
If your future plans bring you up this way, we would be happy to again be at your service.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have nothing but good to say about this hotel. The beds were great, the bathrooms roomy and clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, the restaurant was awesome, the breakfast was perfect, the view was phenomenal, the pool/hot tub/sauna were healing at the end of busy days, the laundry room was adequate, fireplace & big screen tv in the lobby, computer with internet and printer were used and appreciated, juice and coffee all day long, free wifi, lots of parking, 30 minutes to Camden, 1hr & 15min to Bar Harbor....I can not think of a single negative thing to say about this hotel. WELL MAYBE....January 1st they will no longer be a comfort inn and will be joining the Fireside Inns chain. Hope this does not mean bad things for an awesome hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Like the review above, it is great to hear from people who have come so far. Thank you for writing. It is great to read that you had nothing negative to say, except that we will be leaving our Comfort Inn franchise on January 1.
I think you will like the what we intend to change, and what we intend to leave the same. We are already in the process of adding 10 fireplace rooms. Imagine yourself and that special someone in a cozy room overlooking the water, and warming yourselves by the fire. We'll be adding great coffee with Kuerig coffee brewers and Green Mountain Coffee. We will be eliminating the Comfort Inn branded shampoo, soap and conditioner and replacing it with products by Bath & Body Works. And we'll be adding more upgrades as time goes on. What we won't be changing is the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, the awesome food in the restaurant, and certainly not the fabulous view. The same people who have owned this hotel for ten years still own it. We're just building a new regional brand. I think you'll like the improvements. I look forward to showing them to you, should your travel plans bring you back to Belfast.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pluses: The rooms offer water views, and cookies and juice are available in the evening. Variety of breakfast offerings. Large dining area with annex area for busy days.

Negatives: Sound insulation is poor: we heard young people running, yelling in the hallways, doors to other rooms slamming, etc. It was a very busy weekend night and a noisy one. The elevator wasn't working because the repairman had to order the necessary part.

MAJOR PROBLEM: A sliver of clear glass about 3/4" long in the scrambled eggs. When we presented the glass to the front desk, the attendant said it was probably a piece that broke off the bowl they use to prepare the eggs. There was no expression of regret, concern, or concession. This could have been a major disaster if the glass had been ingested before being spotted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. When you presented the piece of glass at the front desk, my first concern was changing out the scrambled eggs which the breakfast attendant did immediately, disposing of the eggs. It was only afterward that we took the time to determine where the glass originated. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We use glass dishes to cook our eggs. We later found that one of the lids had been chipped. We disposed of that lid.
I am sorry too about the elevator. We had the elevator company out twice on the weekend in an attempt to get the elevator working. Fortunately, the elevator company was able to get it fixed on Monday when they could track down a part.
I hope that you can see this as an isolated incident, and allow us to serve as your host in the future.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Address: 159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.