We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel still winning awards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Save Saved
You added Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Belfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oldbiker49
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Older hotel still winning awards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A one-day stay during a September vacation. Impressive staff answered all questions and even provided warm cookies. Our second floor room offered a small balcony and a view of the bay that was terrific. Very quiet location and you'll awake to seagulls. Breakfast was busy but you can eat outside on a deck. We stayed at six hotels or B and B's during our Maine trip and this was a favorite. It's an older hotel but well-maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, we were built in 1996, but we are continuously updating the property. Thank you for noticing. I am glad that you enjoyed the staff, the breakfast, and the view as well.
I hope that we will see you on your future rides through Maine.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    80
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
58
102
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We loved our stay here. While obviously an older property, we loved the view, the location and even the price (Early Sept.). While this place might not be for nit-pickers who can find a flaw with any place I would endorse this to anyone looking for a nice view and great location. Free breakfast and cookies were a nice bonus!

Service was great. Near perfect.

Sleep-wise the bed was good but the pillows there were less than ideal, luckily we had some in the car. We slept good but could have slept much better with better pillows.

We ate dinner in our room once, I thought it was good/ok and my girlfriend thought it was great. The Thai place nearby (Seng Thai-not the one directly across the street but walking distance from property) was amazing!!! We would come back and eat at the Thai place every night!!!

Room Tip: Upper floor is probably a better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have limited recycling (cans and bottles) and we thought that was great!!!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind words. For someone like you, who has stayed all over the world to write such kind words, is really an honor. I am gratified that you enjoyed the room, the service, and the food.
I hope that you will have the chance to visit us again.
Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was in this hotel August 2013. The staff was very friendly . Front desk personal could not do enough for you. Breakfast area was a very busy place in the morning, but you could go out outside a eat on the back deck. The views are astounding. My room had a back deck with views of he water and in the distance I could hear the buoys . Only one issue and it was a smell in my room which was room 226. It is an older hotel.

Room Tip: Room 226 has a smell.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comments. I appreciate that you enjoyed the staff and the view and the breakfast. And thank you for your comment on the smell in 226. I'll have housekeeping look into the room. Thank you for letting me know. I hope to see you on future visits to Belfast.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This property is fine though it needs updating. View was beautiful, right on the water. We had adjoining rooms which was helpful. Restaurant food was not bad. On a return trip we would prefer to stay in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the view. I can understand that you may want to stay in town on future visits. Downtown Belfast is alluring and has plenty of activity. Should you choose to enjoy the peace and the view, we would be happy to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It is not beach front but the views were spectacular. The hotel is about 300 yards to the ocean (cliff). Nice balconies to sit on and enjoy the view. We ordered a pizza from the restaurant and enjoyed it on the balcony. Clean beds and rooms. Quaint and affordable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the facilities, the view, and the food from the restaurant. We look forward to serving you on your future visits to Belfast.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Belfast is located at the junction of US 1, the Coastal Highway, and Maine Route 3, about half way between the Camden / Rockport area and Bar Harbor and Acadia. The Comfort Inn is a mile or two north (or east) of town along US 1. The location is convenient for accessing a good amount of the central Maine coast. I chose this place for a one-night stay based on location and the favorable reviews on this site.

WHAT WAS GOOD: Rooms are nicely appointed and include some extra conveniences like microwaves and refrigerators. Everything is clean and up to date.…Every room has a view of the ocean and a semi-private balcony or sitting area. The views are as nice as other reviewers have indicated….It’s really nice to have an on-site restaurant in a location like this that’s a bit removed from town. I thought the food, atmosphere and service at Ocean's Edge Restaurant was very good….The complimentary breakfast is very generous and includes eggs, sausage and those DIY Belgian waffle makers in addition to your standard cold stuff….Front desk personnel were very friendly and welcoming. I really liked the complimentary drink coupon for Ocean's Edge Restaurant at check-in….There’s a nice indoor pool and sundeck with views of the lawn and ocean.

WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER: For this price range I really can’t think of anything.

THINGS TO KNOW: The property is located a mile or two from the center of Belfast along US 1. There’s not much within walking distance….All rooms are accessed from a central corridor and look out toward the rear of the property so there’s no issue with noise from the highway. You won’t even know there’s a highway out front until you exit for the parking lot.

BOTTOM LINE: This is an exceptionally nice and well run property at a good price. Stay here if you don’t mind being a little removed from town and situated along a busy highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind review. I was pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations, staff and the food at the complimentary breakfast and at Ocean's Edge Restaurant.
Yes, we are a couple of miles from the center of town, but that's what makes for a restful location and the beautiful view.
Thank you again for writing. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed here for three nights during our Maine trip this year. It can be on the pricey side (we paid $120 plus tax), but the view is worth that alone. Our room was fine - clean and well maintained. I have not noticed the moldy smell mentioned by another reviewer. The indoor pool and hot tub are great on a cool evening. We have not eaten here as there are SO many great places in and around Belfast. All the rooms face the ocean.

Room Tip: Recommend getting a third floor room (top floor)....the view is even better from here.
See more room tips
Green Features: no idea....did not notice. but it is nicely decorated with flowers.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
As a top contributor to Tripadvisor, I was honored that you rated us so well. Thank you. More importantly, than you for staying with us so many times. We appreciate our repeat guests and the frank input you give us. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Address: 159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.