We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge to your Saves list
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenfield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I used up some of my reward points to get away for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversay. We arrived on Friday afternoon and were greeted by a super friendly and enthusiastic staff. Check inn was a breeze and our room (actually every room) offered a gorgeous view of Penobsscot Bay. The bed was nice and soft and had pillows gallore. The hotel layout appears to focus on the bay views and the free breakfast on the patio is something special to enjoy during the warmer weather. It was Father's day weekend and the place was booked full for the weekend with family's and a wedding group, but never seemed overly crowded when we left our room. There was a small group of motor cycling couples that got a little loud (after bedtime) in the room next to us one night, They didn't ruin our stay, but I wish some people would espect othe peoples peace and quiet. We may have evened the score early the next morning when we got up to head out for a day of sight seeing.The location was great for getting around to local restaurants and to see the sites. Bar Harbor and the spectactular Acadia National Park is only an hour away and the drive offers plenty of great shops, food stands, restaurants and museums along the way. We had a wonderful stay, lots of Lobstah and can't wait to get a chance to return.

Room Tip: book early,but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Wow, I couldn't have sold the place better than you did. Thank you for your kind words. Particularly, thank you for your comments on the staff. We try to hire associates who really enjoy serving people. A genuine love for service is not something that can be taught. Thank you for noticing. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    86
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
110
22
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times, and while it's hard to build on perfection, the hotel just gets better and better. The views are spectacular, the rooms extremely comfortable, food for both breakfast in the lobby and dinner at the adjoining restaurant awesome, friendly, accommodating staff, etc. I will continue to stay here and appreciate the pet-friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, ask for a ground floor room that has direct access to outside.
See more room tips
Green Features: I would have liked to have had trash receptacles for my doggie poop bags close to my room. There were none available. Otherwise, the hotel is very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you are a frequent visitor and that you enjoy all aspects of the hotel and restaurant. We look forward to serving you and your pet again soon.
Thank you again for writing!
Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. The staff is friendly & very accommodating - George at the front desk is wonderful! The grounds are beautiful and the location to downtown Belfast is great. An indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, laundry facilities and a nice continental breakfast added to our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for writing, specifically your comment on George. I will be happy to share that with him. I am glad that you noticed the grounds as well. We spent quite a bit of time adding lots of color to the front. It's hard to compete with the view from the back, but we thought that we would give it a go. We hope to see you up this way again. Thanks for visiting.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My three adult children and I stayed here and the suite was wonderful with a full kitchen, living area, balcony and 2 TV's, and a hot tub overlooking Penobscot Bay. There is a sunny deck with a water view where you can eat breakfast.
Incredibly comfortable beds!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite with a name something like Majestic View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for writing. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Grandview Suite and the service provided by our staff. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved the cleanliness of the rooms, although for some reason our room was never cleaned??? also the reason we didnt leave a tip. Loved the gorgeous view...room was priced fairly. But. It's terribly old, and in need of a tune up. Hall ways have odor, and air conditioning buttons were faulty. We fixed ours, but my elderly parents didnt let us know until too late..and slept in very hot conditions..that bothered me tremendously . Please know we did NOT complain about these issues, but I did want to share. The front desk seemed very helpful, and I'm sure they would have helped, but just wasn't worth it. We left a day early. I wouldn't stay here again, but please know our room was clean, were just use to higher standards.

Room Tip: Check air conditioners, and open all windows in hallway...helps w odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I wish you had told us about the airconditioner. Our staff is available and willing to do whatever is needed to provide complete guest satisfaction. Regarding the age of the rooms, we frequently hear that people are amazed that the property is 16 years old. They often say that it looks new. I regularly inspect rooms, so I am bound to run into your rooms where we can update whatever looks old. We are continuingly updating, most recently adding refrigerators and microwaves to all rooms. I was glad to read that you found the rooms especially clean. I do hope that you will try us again and enjoy an experience similar to our other reviewers.
Sincerely
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an update on my last review, from one year ago. Both reviews are based on paying off season rates-- as soon as summer vacation time rolls around, the daily rates go through the roof! The hotel is well managed and maintained-- the manager, Barry A., is a true superstar in the hotel industry. The exterior is inviting and well kept. The interior is generally well kept, though to my mind, it felt slightly dated. The hotel overlooks a Maine ocean bay, and, perhaps, as a result, the long interior hallways that one walks through seem a bit damp, with a slightly "off" odor. No matter, the rooms are well kept and clean. Furniture is "motel grade" but wholly adequate and in good condition. Clean, fresh sheets and pillow cases, lots of fluffy towels. One thing that is a personal pet peeve of mine is the flimsy plastic cups that are provided in little hard to open plastic wraps. This hotel provides these things for use in the rooms-- I wish they'd offer something better, more pleasant to drink from, like glass. But as I said, this is a pet peeve, and a small one at that. More to the point, our room-- maybe all the rooms, offered a small porch where we could sit and watch the bay at the end of the day while enjoying a libation and a book. The hotel welcomes dogs, and during our last visit, our dog had a terrific stay and enjoyed walking on the hotel's grounds and trotting down to the bay for a dip in the water. This hotel is well run and shows attention to detail by the staff and management. We had a good meal in the hotel restaurant, although it was a bit slow in getting food to our table. The complimentary breakfast is on a par with the free breakfasts provided by most hotels. But it's hard to argue with the price. All in all, we had a good stay in this good hotel.

Room Tip: If I'm correct, the rooms in which dogs are allowed are on the ground floor, with each room havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for returning and your updated review. I was happy to read that you still find us an excellent value even with our summer rates. As you pointed out, we are even a better value in the off-season.
I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant as well. We were fortunate to secure a great Chef and support staff in the previous year, and have had great comments ever since.
You are correct that all the pet friendly rooms are on the ground floor overlooking the water. Each one has a rear door leading to our ten acres overlooking the water.
I hope that we can look forward to seeing you again in the fall. Oh, thanks for the personal compliment. I am fortunate to get to meet many interesting people from all over. That makes what I do so much fun.

Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great view, friendly staff, nice and clean. Great amenities, too. (I noticed the pool and hot tub were handicap-accessible.) Be sure to check out the hotel's restaurant, too. After a long day exploring the area, we got back to our hotel rather late and decided a quick trip down the hall to the restaurant was the easiest option. We were glad we made that decision. Lobster popover? Oh, yeah.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
What a nice compliment: "Clean & Friendly". What more could one want in the hotel business?
You had the Lobster Turnover? Yes, it is my summer favorite. Last summer, I was so sad to see the chef stop making them that she made sure that I had the last one of the season. I do love them.
Handicapped accessible: We added a lift to both the pool and the hot tub last winter. People who have difficulty getting in and out of the hot tub or pool now have the help they need.
Thanks for point these things out. I am pleased that your enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Address: 159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.