We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing, View & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge to your Saves list
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wexford,Pa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Just amazing, View & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The best place I stayed in New England. Ocean front - every room. Sit on your balcony and enjoy the Ocean view about 200 yards away and the quiet. The road is on the other side of the building - it is just you and the Ocean.. Front Desk staff as well as all other staff are very Professional, but super friendly. If you are in the Belfast area, this IS THE PLACE to stay. This place has all you could ask for , be sure to ask - they WILL accommodate. Do NOT skip the Restaurant - A++ service and food.. Just of Rt 1, lots of parking. Easy 1 1/2 hour drive to Bar Harbor.
I stayed 3 nights and did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Enjoy the Ocean view from your room.. Suite is nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for driving up from PA, and thank you for writing. I'm glad that you enjoyed the facililies and the staff, as well as the restaurant. I am fortunate to have a staff who really care about a guest's experience here. From our restaurant staff to front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, and laundry, I don't have one apathetic employee. We are fortunate to get paid for what we enjoy doing.
Stay safe this winter. I hope that you will visit us again next summer.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    86
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
110
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge, Is a very welcoming hotel. The every room at the hotel has a great view of the Ocean. Each room has it's own balcony. I have seen a sign on the front of the building for a few years now. Year 2011, it has changed, that this hotel has won a Choice Hotel award. They must have it really offers more than expected.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for writing and thank you for staying with us year after year. If you have noticed the date changes on our awards. Yes, we have gotten Awards for Hospitality from Choice Hotels for six years. As you can see from the banners we post each time we win, we are very proud of our awards. It puts us in the top 10% of the 1380 Comfort Inns in the system.
It is returning guests like you that make our job easy and preasurable. Thanks for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were visiting Belfast Maine for a wedding. This hotel was recommended by the hosts.
From the first time I called to make a reservation to the final check-out, everyone and every-
thing went well. The staff (all the staff) is soooo nice. The hotel is clean and efficiently run.
Breakfast (included) was great and everything is kept full and cleaned all the time.
The view is beautiful. Over Penobscott Bay. Our rooms were ready early (they gave us
early check-in.) Really great. Simple rooms but, they had a fridg. and microwave:)
All the staff made our stay A-plus. We're used to 4 star hotels. The Comfort Inn was simple
but we we're made to feel like family. Thanks a bunch!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view. We prefer a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and to compare us with 4-Star Hotels. I am very fortunate for the staff that I have. They really enjoy providing guests with a great experience. We encourage our associates to have fun at work and share that fun with our guests. From your comments, it is a strategy that works.
I hope that you won't wait for another wedding to join us again.
Thanks,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a generic room with a non-generic view of the bay. Worth the view alone - but the room was comfortable. The wi-fi was a little weird, but it worked so I'll just say to keep trying and you'll find the link to connect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting and posting a review. I am glad that you enjoyed the accommodations and the view. I'm sorry that the WIFI was a bit confusing. We have 15 antennas in the building to give good signal strength. Sometimes, a computer will select the first access point in a list rather than the strongest signal. I'm glad that it worked out. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having stayed in many Comfort Inn hotels, this one topped them all. The staff was welcoming & efficient. The room was comfortable & equipped with microwave, refrigerator & a very good TV. The view from our room was beautiful. At the complimentary breakfast, we were extremely pleased to find that the trash was all taken our by a firm which will separate and recycle as much as possible. We hadn't found this anywhere else. Our rate was very acceptable and less than we had paid at most other locations, many of which were just adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for writing. I remember speaking with you about recycling and our zero-sort recycling through Pine Tree Waste. We are proud of our Environment Leader designation from the State of Maine.
I am pleased that you also enjoyed the accommodations, staff and the view. We enjoy our guests and are pleased that the vast majority enjoy us.
We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beautiful view of the bay near Belfast Maine. Got a good deal on Expedia for a weekend in September. ($105 a night) Usually the hotel is a bit more expensive I've heard.The weather was cold and wet but the hotel was very pleasant and clean. Nice breakfast and lobby area too. Comparable to nearby hotels in terms of amenities etc. on Route 1 outside of Belfast, not walking distance to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write, expressing your pleasure with the facilities, the staff and the view.
You said that you got a good deal on Expedia. For future, also check out choicehotels.com. We guarantee the lowest published rate on the internet. You can even make an advance purchase and save up to 20%.
Thank you again for writing and for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and could not have been more pleased. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel was quiet and relaxing. The view overlooking the bay was spectacular. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. Parking is directly in front of the hotel and made loading/unloading very convenient. If we have another opportunity to visit Maine, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your recent visit to the Comfort Inn Ocean’s Edge. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities, the staff and the view. Fortunately, the builders of this hotel had the foresight to build every room facing the water, providing a fabulous view. I was pleased to read that you plan to stay with us, should your travels bring you back to Maine. Thank you for writing.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Address: 159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.