We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“owner dictates your comforts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Motel and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Seascape Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
Seascape Motel and Cottages
202 Searsport Avenue, Belfast, ME 04915   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
rindge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“owner dictates your comforts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Hot muggy temps and we were looking forward to a cool room. The place was super clean and the cottages immaculate. Turned on A/C and after 10 mins. it cuts out. NOTHING... Fan will work. OK , thinking it is overheated etc. we give it time to "cool off". Meanwhile the room is very hot and muggy. Go to take a shower and the hot water is on setting that obviously the owners think is warm enough for you! Ended up sleeping with the fan on for the night. Second night after another hot muggy day. Same thing A/C cuts out after 10 min. I went to see Chris and got a song and dance about the ambient temp being differently then the exterior temp??? WHAT? He said he had complaints before but assured me there was nothing wrong. The cottage next to me said their A/C did the same thing! Come on .. Just be honest and say that you have timers and restrictions on the heat,A/C water temp etc. Great I appreciate you being green but when I go on a trip in the middle of August I expect a cool room and a hot shower! Not asking much Chris, just that you be truthful when a guest confronts you with these same complaints. Other then feeling like I was told " I'll tell you how cool it should be and how warm your shower will be it was a lovely place. I had more choices in the last hotel I stayed in Beijing China.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeMotel, Owner at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
The A/C has been checked out and is working fine now, however, we’ll keep an eye on it, and if it acts up again, we’ll change it out. I recall, the other little atmospheric detail was that you were boiling a pot of corn... a lot of steam, combined with the shower, albeit, not very hot. Outside temps were cooling in the upper 60’s. Lot’s of variables. The guests after you stayed for a week and had no trouble. They were a little annoyed that I kept asking them if everything was o.k. It was. Thanks for mentioning the water temp. We don’t use timers, but the temp control on the water heater was inadvertently set too low, probably when it was recently serviced. Now it is set to the legal limit, just below scalding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, New Brunswick
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in July for a getaway weekend and were very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the motel, pool area and grounds. Found the queen bed firm but comfortable and the fan drowned out the road noise at night. The fresh muffins for breakfast were a real treat with the coffee and juice. Chris was very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeMotel, Owner at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We continue our efforts to provide clean and comfortable accommodations. This is an understatement, as the actual amount of energy it takes to provide these two seemingly basic needs, is quite astounding! All of the little details have to come together as a whole. Some things we can control and others we can’t. It is the savvy traveler, whether for business or pleasure, that can adapt to their brief home away from home, and ultimately have a pleasant experience. We have a lot of information in our lobby about Belfast and beyond. I enjoy helping you find the right place for you to eat, shop or play. I have created a map of my favorite places that I hope you too can enjoy. Just give us a call when you would like to return, as you can save 15 -25% off listed online rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford,UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in one of the motel rooms for an overnight stop on our drive up to Canada, and found it to be a good, clean, reasonably priced motel. The room and bathroom were quite small, but had a fridge, coffee-maker, hairdryer etc. also had the bonus of free muffins, juice and blueberries for breakfast. We did find the air-con to be a bit "fierce" - rather noisy even on the low fan setting, so opted to sleep with the windows open instead. Thought the traffic noise might keep us awake but, in fact, the traffic seemed to stop between 10pm and 5am - it was quiet and we weren't disturbed. The motel has a lovely, well maintained swimming pool.
Easy to find, on the main road north of Belfast. A couple of miles from the town centre, though there are a few restaurants nearer ro the motel. Rather than drive into town, we parked a mile or so south of the motel by the footbridge across the river, and had a very pleasant evening stroll across and into the town.

Room Tip: As far away from road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeMotel, Owner at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Our motel rooms are efficiently organized for a space of 12’ x 15’. Our cottages are larger throughout, and are available as nightly rentals. Pictures and floorplans may be viewed on our website. We often offer fresh seasonal fruit with morning muffins and coffee, when available. Usually organic and local when possible. We try to maintain moderate, reasonable rates. Online bookings have become quite costly, as we all are shifting from phoning in a reservation to simply booking online. Beginning September 2012, we will be offering substantial discounts off the online rates. For example, the nightly rate for a motel room of $115.00 online, would only be $84.00 when booked by phone! And the best part is that you will be dealing directly with us. We will know your specific needs, and you will get all the correct details about your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although we only spent one night there , I had to express our satisfaction on our lodging experience at the Seascape. Chris the owner is very prompt in responding to emails, helpful, and knowlegeable in answering area touring questions. Accomodations were immaculate , pool pristine and continental breakfast was predominantly Maine products and delicious. I definitely would recommend staying at the Seascape .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeMotel, Owner at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
The Seascape is a small family business, and we will be celebrating our 50th season in 2013. I am on the front lines, answering the phone and email, receiving you at check-in and bidding you farewell at check-out. My wife manages the behind-the-scenes details. And with some excellent hired assistance, we all share in the cleaning and preparation of your room. It is what we do, and we always want it to be just right for you. We constructed our heated pool and spa in 2002, of top quality materials and the best equipment. It is holding up well, and gives us pride to be able to offer an aquatic facility of such caliber to our guests. I have received Certified Pool Operator certification through the NPA to provide a ”pristine” and healthy pool and spa. Our “delicious” muffins are made locally using good wholesome ingredients. And the coffee is locally roasted and responsibly harvested (from away). Most of us have forgotten what real food tastes like, or from where it comes. We only care to offer our guests real food from real people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The bed's were plush and comfy, with four pillows one each that were like heaven. The linens were crisp and fresh . The rooms were immaculate as were the grounds, pool and spa. The owner was very accommodating as were the housekeepers. We loved the deck on our cottage that had a lovely view of they bay. We were happily surprised to find everything we needed, including paper towels, dish soap, shampoo, shower gel, salt, pepper as well as everything for our cooking and dining needs. Thank you Seascape for an amazing get away!

Room Tip: Cabin #10 and #11 have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeMotel, Owner at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
The duplex cottage (units #10 and #11) is comprised of two fully private side-by-side units. Unit #10 has two double beds, and Unit # 11 has one king bed. Both units have a full bathroom with a hair dryer, and a fully equipped kitchen, including a microwave oven, a standard stove and oven, a coffee maker, a toaster, and a refrigerator. Utensils, dishes, glassware, cookware, and cleaning supplies are also provided. There are linens, towels, and an iron/board. Each unit has color cable TV, a clock/radio, phone with free local calls and Wi-Fi. There is also an interior connecting door. All of our cottages are non-smoking, air conditioned, and AAA 2 diamond approved. Outside the cottage is a deck, picnic table and grill, with an unexpectedly “lovely” view of Penobscot Bay! “Immaculate” is our end goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed a week, it was nice to have a kitchen (gas range, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, toaster and all the pots and pans and dishes to have a full meal) recliner, full bath and a king. The grounds were lovely, the room was spotless and sparkling clean. The ladies cleaned our room daily and supplied clean towels daily and removed any accumulated trash. Seascape does a great job of recylcing cans and bottles. Didn't make it in the pool, it rained daily - so very Maine.... They even offer a pot to cook lobster in. Much better than staying in a hotel, very restful, enjoyable

Room Tip: Rooms are sparkling clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeMotel, Owner at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Whether staying one night or one week, our cottages are supplied with all you may need to relax and enjoy your vacation. We do have additional items such as a large lobster pot when needed. We provide daily housekeeping service, which helps us maintain a “spotless and sparkling clean” facility for you. If only for our heated pool and spa, it is worth coming back! Just give me a call and save off online booking rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My room in the motel was spotless! The bathroom floor and walls literally shone. The bed was a queen - firm and comfortable. The room was"cozy ", as was the bathroom. The shower is definitely a single. I enjoyed sitting on the porch in late afternoon and catching a glimpse of the ocean across the street. The pool complex looked spacious and well layed out. The nearby Rte 1 quited down around 10. It began to get going again around the 5:30 a m. For motorcyclists who like to walk to dinner, there are two nearby,one of which is closed on Sunday. Breakfast is minimal; hot coffee and locally made muffins. This will stay on my" stay again" list.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeascapeMotel, Owner at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We do have one motel room which has a full bathroom with a tub/shower, while the other rooms have a shower stall. Our cottages are larger, most with full baths. We try to maintain moderate, reasonable rates. Online bookings have become quite costly, as we all are shifting from phoning in a reservation to simply booking online. Beginning September 2012, we will be offering substantial discounts off listed online rates. For example, a September nightly rate for a motel room of $115.00 online, would only be $84.00 when booked by phone! You would save better than 25% off the internet rate! And the best part is that you will be dealing directly with us. We will know your specific needs, and you will get all the correct details about your accommodations. Just call Chris. I will be happy to help you. Our outdoor heated pool and spa are just divine, and there for you! In 2011, we upgraded our breakfast offerings. We no longer use conventional baked goods from big box stores. We now offer complimentary muffins baked for us by a local bakery, which uses many local ingredients, organic or responsibly grown fruits, free-range eggs, organic soy milk and local butter, as an example. We feel better offering you a wholesome, quality product, we are sure you will enjoy. We also offer great coffee roasted locally and harvested responsibly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seascape Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Motel and Cottages

Address: 202 Searsport Avenue, Belfast, ME 04915
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Seascape Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Motel And Cottages Hotel Belfast
Seascape Hotel Belfast
Seascape Motel And Cottages Belfast, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seascape Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.