We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lobster great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Young's Lobster Pound

Young's Lobster Pound
Mitchell Ave., Belfast, ME 04915
207 338 1160
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Bush, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lobster great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

lobster is great ... but most people bring their own lobster utensils, tablecloths, alcoholic beverages, candles, whatever floats your boat

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    86
    17
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Even the freshest lobsters can be ruined”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were excited to try this place as it is a very large commercial lobster operation. The lobster men were rolling in bins of just caught lobsters the entire time we were there. We ordered the special shore dinner for two that included 2 lobsters, steamed clams, raw oysters, shrimp and corn. $49. Good price. The place was very busy at dinner hour. The fish is cooked in bags in large drum kettles behind the counter. Our lobsters were way over cooked and partially burnt - they must have been cooked near the bottom of the pot too close to the flames. And they were delivered stone cold - chewy and tasteless. All of the food was cold but not supposed to be. The dinner was a disappointment given our expectations and the incredibly fresh seafood these people are working with. They need to figure out how to cook a lot of meals simultaneously and still get it right.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious lobster and clams!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Oh boy, lobster on the coast of Maine is as fresh as it gets! Clams too! Ate here twice in three days. Couldn't resist.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was a 52 degree, cold, damp & windy evening. Brought our wine with intentions to eat there but the upstairs dining area was cold as they do not provide heat! We decided to take our Lobster orders back to the hotel which was a good decision. The Lobster Sampler & Sautéed Lobster dinners were excellent. Staff was friendly & knowledgeable but they do not serve you. You get a number & wait at your picnic table outside or upstairs indoors until they call you over a speaker. It does take 20 min. once you place your order because these are live Lobsters. Also, they were closing at 7PM tonight. It would be much nicer in the warm weather but also much more crowded. There were only 4 - 5 parties ordering tonight. It is located on the water & the view is spectacular. The food was so good that we are returning tomorrow for more Lobster. The price was quite reasonable for the quality of food. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york metro
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nothing beats eating lobstah in Belfast on the water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We drove fromThorndike, ME. to have dinner here. It was fantastic. The atmosphere is pure "downeast". As soon as you see all the tanks with all the fresh lobsters in them you'll know this is the real deal. I ordered surf n turf and was very impressed. The lobster tail was out of this world, and the steak was served in a plastic tray already tid bit style , but nice size pieces.I started off with shrimp cocktail which was cold and fresh and really good. Head upstairs to a long picnic style table where all 7 of us had a great feast. It's a byob so be sure to bring your beverage of choice if you desire. Great view of the bay from up top as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Young's Lobster Pound also viewed

 
 

Been to Young's Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Young's Lobster Pound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.