We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Finest Maine Has To Offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Young's Lobster Pound

Young's Lobster Pound
Mitchell Ave., Belfast, ME 04915
207 338 1160
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“The Finest Maine Has To Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's hard to add any more good things than what's already been written here about Young's. I ordered the lobster and clams. They were cooked perfectly. My wife had the fish sandwich. It was also delicious. We've been traveling around Maine this week and have eaten lobster and fish several times but, nothing has been as good as as what we had here. Maybe it's the thrill of picking out your own special lobster, seeing it dipped in the steaming sea water and then enjoying it and the harbor view out on the deck. Whatever it is, this a must stop if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    86
    17
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Certificate of Excellence for a Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a must stop!! Right on the water, very "local" atmosphere. Friendly and a great place for family even when the weather is cold and windy because there is dining on the inside. Our family from age 2 to 65 love to eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown PA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Gotta Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What can you say about Young's that hasn't already been said? And it's all true. Young's needs to be on everyone's Gotta Go list. The experience alone is worth the price of the meal. Maine lobster done simple, done right. BYOB, tablecloths, desserts, sides...sit and enjoy the sights, sounds and tastes that are purely Maine.
Go at sunset for spectacular views of Belfast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The perfect Maine meal/experience--eating steamed lobster and clams at a picnic table outside on the beautiful Belfast harbor. I go every time I'm in the area. The BYOB policy is great also--I could pair my lobster with a very good Maine IPA.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Outstanding lobster pound with a scenic view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

While hiking in Camden Hills State Park, we bumped into other hikers and our discussion brought up a need for a lobster pound recommendation. A family from Augusta told us to go to Young's and we are so happy he did! We've been to Five Islands Lobster Co. and this is just as delicious, although with a different setting.

The lobster shack itself is much larger than FILC, with a large number of lobster tanks. The staff was very friendly and efficient, and we decided to go "all in" and order their special "Bucket List for Two" platter. This consists of 2 1.25lb lobsters, 4 jumbo shrimp, 4 oysters, 2 ears of corn, and a plethora of clams and mussels...all for $49.95 - SUCH A DEAL! If you are 2-4 people, don't pass this one up.

There is an upstairs dining room for poor weather, but outside at the picnic tables is where it's really at. A great view of Belfast harbor and the islands, it is hard to beat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Young's Lobster Pound also viewed

 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Young's Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Young's Lobster Pound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.