We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern BBQ in Maine - yep- and it is fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pig Out BBQ

Pig Out BBQ
31-B Front St, Belfast, ME
207-338-6009
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Southern BBQ in Maine - yep- and it is fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Folks, do not pass up the opportunity to eat here! Not only is the food outstanding, the hospitality is wonderful. The owner's, their family and staff add to the experience. My wife and I had the large BBQ sampler plate, sweet tea and pecan pie(Thanks Candace!) for less than $20. Melt in your mouth brisket, fall off the bone ribs, pulled pork that will make you weep quietly and chicken full of flavor - WOW. We had passed on sides however Ted said "try my beans" - again, nothing short of amazing. Thank you to the entire family there - you all really made our trip amazing. Best of luck in the future - we will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    28
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Searsmont, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“True BBQ in Belfast, Maine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We traveled to Memphis in May, and had to come back home to find the best BBQ! We tasted a little bit of everything, my kids loved the bbq chicken and the pecan pie! Great food, service and atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real Southern BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Phenomenal. The food is cooked on big smokers, and it is incredible. The food is moist and tender and flavorful. And the sauces! OMG. this place is one that needs to be visited.. and frequented.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A taste of home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Moved to Maine from the deep south and had given up on finding good dry rub BBQ. A true taste of home, southern hospitality and finger lickin' ribs. Only complaint is that they aren't open year round.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST BBQ in Maine and maybe anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The food is excellent, the staff is wonderful and so nice. I have been to the best BBQ places in Memphis TN and this was just as good, maybe better!.
I have gone there for lunch and dinner and got take out- they are all wonderful.. The sweet tea is a MUST!! They are family owned and it shows. Very good people that take pride in what they serve. Highly recommend to everyone! Best BBQ around by far!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig Out BBQ also viewed

 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Pig Out BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig Out BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.