We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Modern Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yankee Clipper Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yankee Clipper Motel to your Saves list
Yankee Clipper Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   50 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and Modern Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a very clean and modern motel. The staff is friendly. The rooms look just like the photos on the website. We only stayed for 1 night as a stopover to Bar Harbor but would have been happy to stay longer. We stayed at a big hotel chain the previous night while in Mystic CT and the room wasn't horrible but it wasn't good either. The Yankee Clipper Motel raises the bar!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Let me confess that I like luxury and pretty things. I have not stayed in a motel since I was in college. However, Maine seems like a good place to try motels. There are certainly many to choose from. So this trip was less about luxury and pretty things and saving some money while maintaining a certain level of creature comforts. Liked the linens, the refrigerator, and the decor was actually pretty nice. Front office was ok. No loudness outside and other guests seemed civilized. Might do this again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stopped there on our first night in the area. Last time we were in Belfast, the motel was being renovated. OMG, what a nice comfortable place. All brand new beds, AC machine and laminated floors. No bad smelling and dirty carpets for a change. We stayed 3 nights and I think we could have stayed longer. I found the place to stay for my next vacations. No pool but a clean and quiet place despite the traffic. Had a king bed that was so comfortable, it was almost sad to get up in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Motel has been renovated and looks new. Loved the wood laminate floors and the cleanliness. I was surprised we heard no traffic noise within the room. Beds are firmer than I like but I still had a great night's sleep. Luke checked us in and was very accomodatong and pleasant. Good value. I'd stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doloresandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We only spent one night in Belfast and were so pleased to find the Yankee Clipper Motel! Downtown Belfast is a short drive down the road and there is a great Lobster Pound restaurant across the street. The Motel was remodeled in 2012 and is tastefully decorated and extremely clean. The floors are laminate wood and spotless, no musty carpets. Oh, did I mention it was only around $100 for the night? We'll definitely stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob5519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Yankee Clipper is a completely renovated roadside motel on Hwy 1 (Searsport Avenue) on the outskirts of Belfast. Downtown Belfast is only 5 minutes away, across the bridge. Our room was large, immaculately clean with a comfortable King bed. We liked the hardwood floors and the nice decor. On the con side, we were surprised that the rooms are NOT equipped with landline telephones. There isn't a fitness centre nor a business centre but I guess this is a motel and not a hotel. The large front window had a drape but also needs a sheer for privacy. We paid $109 per night which is a good rate in Belfast. Most of the closeby hotels and inns were completely sold out on the nights we were there. Oh, go down the lane directly across from the motel and you will find the Lobster Pound, a hidden gem of a place for seafood served informally on picnic tables.

Install that sheer on the window and put in a landline telephone and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - very large and comfortable. The small reception area is located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJMJ091539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Yankee Clipper several times, including this summer in June and August. It is clean, looks like new and is a good value for Belfast hotels. I usually stay at hotels such as the Hampton Inn and the rooms at the Yankee Clipper are as nice, but newer since it reopened the summer of 2012 after a remodel. Great location across from Young's Lobster Pound and right down the street from Nautilus restaurant, both of which rock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maineartscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.4 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
20.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#1 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gull Motel
The Gull Motel
#6 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Motel

Address: 50 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Clipper Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Yankee Clipper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Motel Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing