We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Modern Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yankee Clipper Motel

Save Saved
You added Yankee Clipper Motel to your Saves list
Yankee Clipper Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Motel
50 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Modern Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a very clean and modern motel. The staff is friendly. The rooms look just like the photos on the website. We only stayed for 1 night as a stopover to Bar Harbor but would have been happy to stay longer. We stayed at a big hotel chain the previous night while in Mystic CT and the room wasn't horrible but it wasn't good either. The Yankee Clipper Motel raises the bar!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Let me confess that I like luxury and pretty things. I have not stayed in a motel since I was in college. However, Maine seems like a good place to try motels. There are certainly many to choose from. So this trip was less about luxury and pretty things and saving some money while maintaining a certain level of creature comforts. Liked the linens, the refrigerator, and the decor was actually pretty nice. Front office was ok. No loudness outside and other guests seemed civilized. Might do this again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stopped there on our first night in the area. Last time we were in Belfast, the motel was being renovated. OMG, what a nice comfortable place. All brand new beds, AC machine and laminated floors. No bad smelling and dirty carpets for a change. We stayed 3 nights and I think we could have stayed longer. I found the place to stay for my next vacations. No pool but a clean and quiet place despite the traffic. Had a king bed that was so comfortable, it was almost sad to get up in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Motel has been renovated and looks new. Loved the wood laminate floors and the cleanliness. I was surprised we heard no traffic noise within the room. Beds are firmer than I like but I still had a great night's sleep. Luke checked us in and was very accomodatong and pleasant. Good value. I'd stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We only spent one night in Belfast and were so pleased to find the Yankee Clipper Motel! Downtown Belfast is a short drive down the road and there is a great Lobster Pound restaurant across the street. The Motel was remodeled in 2012 and is tastefully decorated and extremely clean. The floors are laminate wood and spotless, no musty carpets. Oh, did I mention it was only around $100 for the night? We'll definitely stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Yankee Clipper is a completely renovated roadside motel on Hwy 1 (Searsport Avenue) on the outskirts of Belfast. Downtown Belfast is only 5 minutes away, across the bridge. Our room was large, immaculately clean with a comfortable King bed. We liked the hardwood floors and the nice decor. On the con side, we were surprised that the rooms are NOT equipped with landline telephones. There isn't a fitness centre nor a business centre but I guess this is a motel and not a hotel. The large front window had a drape but also needs a sheer for privacy. We paid $109 per night which is a good rate in Belfast. Most of the closeby hotels and inns were completely sold out on the nights we were there. Oh, go down the lane directly across from the motel and you will find the Lobster Pound, a hidden gem of a place for seafood served informally on picnic tables.

Install that sheer on the window and put in a landline telephone and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - very large and comfortable. The small reception area is located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Yankee Clipper several times, including this summer in June and August. It is clean, looks like new and is a good value for Belfast hotels. I usually stay at hotels such as the Hampton Inn and the rooms at the Yankee Clipper are as nice, but newer since it reopened the summer of 2012 after a remodel. Great location across from Young's Lobster Pound and right down the street from Nautilus restaurant, both of which rock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yankee Clipper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Motel

Address: 50 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Yankee Clipper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Motel Belfast, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yankee Clipper Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.