We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Rail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad

Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad
13 Oak Hill Road, Belfast, ME 04921
+1 207-722-3899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad, a project of the Brooks Preservation Society operates on weekends Memorial Day - Halloween Weekend. Please see the web site for special trains and schedule. We also offer rail bike tours. Come ride the rails and enjoy the sights and sounds of a a by-gone era.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Vintage Rail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Scenery, Equipment collection, all great. Saved old stations really give you the feel of the "good old day" of rail.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooksRailroad, Owner at Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pizza Train!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Once or twice a month on Sat. this railway goes to Waldo for PIZZA! Three slice limit plus a drink, but if there's any left you can have more. Relaxing; great fun for kids (from what I saw) and senior seniors. (I enjoyed it!) N ot much to see from the train.
It's HARD to find--way at the end of town. You cannot find it (or at least I couldn't) with GPS. Make sure you print out the online map.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooksRailroad, Owner at Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Google & Yahoo maps have yet to update their maps. The City of Belfast assigned us the address 1 City Point Road this past spring. I encourage people to use the address 162 High Street, Belfast Variety. We are approx one mile from the store where High Street ends and City Point Road begins. Hopefully maps and GPS will update soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great way to spend a couple of hours when in Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This train ride is definitely worth the price! We had a great time. The train has an enclosed car with cushioned seats and one car that is completely open air with bench seats. We sat inside and enjoyed all the views out the windows. They do have a restroom on the train and they also serve soft drinks for a dollar or 2. We felt the price for the trip was quite reasonable and our kids LOVED it (they are 3 and 10). How often do you get to ride in a train from 100 years ago through the Maine woods??

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooksRailroad, Owner at Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are glad your family enjoyed the ride. Thank you for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfast & Moosehead Lake Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.