We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, congenial atmosphere, extensive wine list, friendly staff, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa J's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Papa J's Restaurant
193 Searsmont Avenue, US Route One, Belfast, ME
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 52 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: American
Description: Restaurant and ocean front camping
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant and ocean front camping
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, congenial atmosphere, extensive wine list, friendly staff, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Four of us (two couples) had a very good late dinner at Papa J’s. We were staying next door at Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village, and were thrilled to find Papa J’s serving good food and excellent wine at 10 pm. The late night menu ($7 to $12) was limited but offered several good choices (we liked the fried haddock sandwich and the Portuguese burger). The restaurant/bar has an impressive wine list, and several good beers. The atmosphere is casual, comfortable and relaxed, yet lively. An outstanding selection of rhythm and blues background music was enjoyably present but not overwhelming (just the right volume). Lighting is set at a pleasant mid-point. Our waitress was cordial and helpful. An ideal choice for a light meal and a drink. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Searsport, Maine
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not just lobster, the best steamed garlicky mussels & bacon-wrapped filet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We are so lucky to live nearby...we just wish Papa J's was open year-round! This is one of the few restaurants where your meal is prepared by a CHEF, who also happens to be well-versed in wines. The steamed mussels, lobster, steaks & fried corn-on-the-cob are all wonderful. Treat yourself & go there! And, if you enjoy a Key West atmosphere (décor-wise), you'll enjoy Papa J's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Lobster Dinner in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

How lucky can we get!? Our first night in Maine we stopped at Papa Jay's and had the best lobster stew, lobster dinners, and micro-brews. Don't miss this interesting spot of Americana.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fish'n'chips.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Although it looks like another ordinary restaurant from the outside, the interior decoration is very unique, the staff is efficient and the food is good. There is a cute little boy (son of the owner?) who brings the water glasses and promotes his dad's books!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Watch what you order”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was an experience that we learned from. We didn't know much about lobster. The waitress threw out prices (I.e.$16.00/1#,etc). She said we could share and much to our surprise our bill was $82.00.for a shared lobster with 2 salads and drinks. We could each have gotten a meal for that price. We weren't they only ones in the room yo be surprised by the bill. The lobster wasn't cracked and my husband finally was able to do it but we made a mess trying to crack it. It just made the experience not as fun as it should have been.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa J's Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Papa J's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa J's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.