We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything else was full during Lobster Festival” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gull Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gull Motel to your Saves list
The Gull Motel
196 Searsport Avenue, US Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
Exeter NH
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Everything else was full during Lobster Festival”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We wanted to stay in Rockland, but it was Lobster Festival and we needed a room last minute, so we stayed 45 minutes away in Belfast, at the Gull Motel. The rate was fair for this time of year, but I would spend a little more and stay at a nicer place next time. However, if you are on a budget, this motel was clean and we had two queen beds, night tables, a bureau, a small dining table, a fridge, an open closet to hang clothes, a suitcase stand, and small but serviceable bathroom. Our tub/shower combination had some kind of plumbing issue and leaked water all over the floor the first morning. we used towels to prevent this the second morning, but hope they fix this problem!! We mentioned a burned out lightbulb and it was replaced before we returned that evening. We stayed two nights. There is a Keurig coffee machine and pre-packaged muffins in the lobby in the morning, so not really 'breakfast'. We highly recommend the Belfast Co-op for breakfast and a nice selection of organic meats and cheeses, by the way. I agree with the other reviews that the policy of allowing smoking just outside the rooms is offensive to the non-smoking guests! The motel puts ashtrays and chairs outside each door - this is a motel, so we had people smoking 3 feet from our windows! I understand that they do not want smoking in the rooms, of course, but if they want to designate a smoking area, it should be away from the doors/windows of other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Exeter/Nina,

Thanks for taking the time to write your lengthy and detailed review of our motel. The minor plumbing issue has been resolved and was not as serious as thought.

The issue of non-smoking guests having to suffer other guests' cigarette smoke is a difficult and challenging one, which we are determined to address.

As a result of your and other comments, we have designated our only two upstairs rooms as non-smoking, both inside and out..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new england
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Room clean. Rates fair for this time of year, I am sure they drop by a large amount in winter which is why I hate to travel on business in summer in Vacationland! The only minus, folks on either side of our room sitting outside smoking themselves silly as the rooms are smoke free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Tiquer,

We appreciate the positive comments about our rates and cleanliness. Our winter rates are as low as $59 per night and we offer a weekly rate of as low as $225.00.

In future, we will do our best to place non-smokers where they will be least affected by this problem. We have two upstairs rooms which will be designated as non-smoking rooms, both inside and out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A very clean and comfortable motal with very reasonable rates a very, very enjoyable weeks stay

Room Tip: If you can book a room there you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoastUSA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great location motel with very frienly owners.
The room was large DOG FRIENDLY and clean!
The bathroom was large enough, not spacious but
large enough. We travel to the Common Ground
Fair every year from MA and this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The motel was clean with a great location. The room is large enough for two adults to be comfortable but the bathroom is very small. If you love a soft bed, you are in luck and will be very happy! The room includes a microwave and a refrigerator which is really convenient but alas, no coffee pot in the room. If you want coffee, you must go to the front office for it but they also provide a selection of pastries. Peter covers the front desk and is very friendly and helpful. He is willing to answer your questions about the area, providing recommendations if you need them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

A nice place to rest & relax, very friendly staff, very clean , nice view across the street. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

The staff is wonderful. You can't beat the location or view. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Everything you could ask for in an affordable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gull Motel

Address: 196 Searsport Avenue, US Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gull Motel is a clean, affordable and friendly motel on Route 1 in Belfast, Maine. It's a hour's drive from I-95 and just over an hour from Acadia National Park. All of our 14 non-smoking rooms come with air conditioning, heating, fridge,microwave,cable TV, secure wi-fi internet access and telephones with free local calls. All our rooms have queen beds, most have water views. Complimentary K-cup coffee and muffins are served in the lobby from 6:00AM to 10AM daily.The Gull is just a few minutes drive from Belfast's historic downtown and waterfront, with its many specialty shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Gull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gull Motel Belfast, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gull Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.