We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster roll in years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Takeout

Bayview Takeout
Bayview Drive & Indian Point Road, Beals, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Beals
Cuisines: American
Description: Outdoors dining with super fresh seafood and sandwiches, where the local fisherman go to eat.
Restaurant details
Description: Outdoors dining with super fresh seafood and sandwiches, where the local fisherman go to eat.
Belfast, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll in years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is great. We had driven up the coast on an unusually hot day and found ourselves on Beals Island and hungry. We had two beautiful lobster rolls absolutely stuffed with fresh meat. This was really the very best that I have had in my memory, and that is long. The family who run the place are very friendly and really care about what they are doing. This was evident in the way that they treated each new customer. Everybody had the same favorable and enthusiastic comments. We have put this on our list of " The Best " places to go and will return again this summer for another good meal. The clams looked really delicious so maybe that will be the next adventure. I must mention that there is a very pleasant view of the harbor looking over toward Jonesport so we sat at their picnic tables and enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

There's no frills on the town of Beals, it's an unadorned slice of Maine at its best. There's no frills on the Bayview Takeout either, but the haddock was fresh-caught and hot, the portion was generous enough for two, and the owners are so friendly that they hand deliver your order to you at one of the two tables or directly to your car. Doesn't get much fresher or genuine than this. If we had waited thirty minutes we could have had lobster straight off the boat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesport, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best takeout in Down East Maine, including the highly overrated mob scene of Jordan's.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fresh fish, an outside sit down, friendly and fast as lightning service and the best battered clams in the world. Huge portions for reasonable price. But no place to wash up ahead of time and no bathroom facilities. Be sure to get those needs taken care of ahead of your visit or call ahead , pick up your order and scoot back to where you're staying.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Maine, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you like seafood here is the place to go.. The clams are to die for, tender and fresh. I got the clam basket and had plenty left for dinner..I live 45 minutes away, but worth the drive to go back another day. I had the haddock, again another delicious meal the haddock is so sweet and fresh..
You can make two meals with this as well. I had the burger couldn't get my mouth over it, it was so full of haddock.. Top that off with a sundae and you have a full course meal.. Just love it.. Thank you Bayview takeout..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were exploring small harbors and stumbled upon this out of the way take-out restaurant. You walk up several stairs to the order window of what is a converted house trailer. Our lunch was delicious, had good portions, and cost the least of any meal we had during our week in Maine. There are three picnic tables to sit at or you can drive to a close-by wharf and eat overlooking the harbor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayview Takeout also viewed

Jonesport, DownEast and Acadia Maine

Been to Bayview Takeout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Takeout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.