We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite breakfast, wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin F. Packard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benjamin F. Packard House
Save
You added Benjamin F. Packard House to your Saves list
45 Pearl Street, Bath, ME 04530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woburn, MA
1 review
“Exquisite breakfast, wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

It rained the entire day Saturday, so all conditions were set for this escape to be miserable. However, Amy's delicious breakfast helped us start the day on an extremely positive note. We enjoyed an almost aristocratic stay here: this is a squeeky clean, harmoniously organized home where care for detail and graciousness are first things that one can notice.
All right, it is somewhat expensive, but we'd still love to be able to visit again soon.
Enthousiastic guests in the Niagara room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Impeccably clean. Innkeepers pleasant and unobtrusive. Centrally located for various mid-coast attractions. Excellent value. Only downside is near-town-center location. But I heartily.recommend, and will return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

We have stayed in the house two nights onSep. 26-27, 2008.
The innkeeper received us warmly.
The room was perfectly clean and suitable to our requirements.
Breakfest was varied and plentyful.
Mrs. Hranicky, the innkeeper, gave us a good tip for an entertainement with the local a-capella singers at Chocolate church in Bath, Me.
Overall we had a wonderful time and would warmly reccomend the place.
We felt very well with the Hranicky family

  • Liked — Homeliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Given an option, my hubby & I always choose small inns but definitely stay away from B&Bs. One too chummy innkeeper in our past. However Amy & Mark changed our minds forever! The Packard house is so fresh & charming; loving little details in every room make it a joy to explore. Amy & Mark are unfailingly friendly & helpful but never intrusive. We stayed for five nights & were always pleased with the wonderful food (new menus every morning) & attention to our room. Our first visit to Bath was over Independence Day weekend & we were very surprised by the variety and quality of the things to do. This is a wonderful village & the Packard House makes it a joy to visit.

  • Liked — The innkeepers & the freshness of the old house
  • Disliked — We had no problems
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband and I visited the Packard House for one night while on break from a weeklong family vacation in another area of Maine. We chose this B&B because of the positive reviews on tripadvisor and the reasonable price. Our stay was perfect. We felt very pampered and relaxed.

Amy was so attentive from the moment we walked in the door, offering afternoon tea and other goodies. We spent a few hours in the secluded backyard - comfortable outdoor furniture, pretty landscaping, and a soothing water feature. It was so relaxing and private. We had dinner at Solo Bistro, walking distance from the B&B. When we returned, our bed was turned down and our host had set up fresh ice water and chocolate covered blueberries in our room. Breakfast the next morning was incredible - fresh fruit and yummy scones, an amazing quiche and perfectly cooked bacon. Also important to note: this home is very clean!

The price is very reasonable for the accommodations. We stayed in the Down Easter, which was the least expensive and still had a private bath. We would definitely recommend this place and hope to be back.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Amy and Mark have a beautiful house and we were delighted to be able to stay with them as part of our New England tour.
Bath is picturesque and our hosts were truly welcoming. They have thought of everything. We loved the turn-down service (complete with cookies and iced water) and our room was both spotless and beautifully appointed. All home comforts were provided and there are a number of tasteful public rooms downstairs in which to relax.
After the best night's sleep of our entire holiday(!) we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast - Amy's home cooking is fantastic!
If you're off to Bath, you must stay with the Hranickys! It's a really top class bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — The fact that the house is so clearly loved and is beautifully presented.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

My daughter and I just returned from a short stay at the Benjamin Packard House and enjoyed our 2-room suite. The B and B is on top of every detail--very clean and well-decorated. The service is friendly, the breakfast is wonderful, and the location is very convenient to downtown Bath.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benjamin F. Packard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin F. Packard House

Address: 45 Pearl Street, Bath, ME 04530
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 18th century shipbuilder's home is ideally located in the heart of Bath's historic district with easy access to downtown shopping and restaurants. Relax in front of the fire in the gathering room, curl up with a good book in the library or enjoy complimentary afternoon tea in the garden. The Benjamin F. Packard House is your premier port for gracious hospitality, extreme relaxation and unsurpassed service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benjamin F. Packard House Bath, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjamin F. Packard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.