We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin F. Packard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benjamin F. Packard House
Save
You added Benjamin F. Packard House to your Saves list
45 Pearl Street, Bath, ME 04530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Bath B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Amy and Mark have a beautiful house and we were delighted to be able to stay with them as part of our New England tour.
Bath is picturesque and our hosts were truly welcoming. They have thought of everything. We loved the turn-down service (complete with cookies and iced water) and our room was both spotless and beautifully appointed. All home comforts were provided and there are a number of tasteful public rooms downstairs in which to relax.
After the best night's sleep of our entire holiday(!) we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast - Amy's home cooking is fantastic!
If you're off to Bath, you must stay with the Hranickys! It's a really top class bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — The fact that the house is so clearly loved and is beautifully presented.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

My daughter and I just returned from a short stay at the Benjamin Packard House and enjoyed our 2-room suite. The B and B is on top of every detail--very clean and well-decorated. The service is friendly, the breakfast is wonderful, and the location is very convenient to downtown Bath.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Benjamin Packard House while visiting my son at school. I love it there. I feel right at home. Amy and Mark are wonderful hosts who make you feel so comfortable. The breakfasts are wonderful. I get a better night's sleep here than I do at home. I will be returning here in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

This B&B is awesome - from the moment you walk in the grand front door, you feel right at home. This beautiful home is impeccably decorated and the hosts are as gracious as the home. The breakfasts are something to dream about -- and I often do! I always stay at the Benjamin Packard House whether I am visiting family in Bath or doing business in Freeport or Rockport. It's centrally located and simply the best B&B in Maine. Don't miss it on your next trip to Maine.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

This is the third time we stayed at the Packard House, and it just keeps getting better. The personal attention by the owners, the quality of the facility, the outstanding service and breakfast selections all make it a mouth-watering experience. We continue to look for reasons to visit Bath (have you ever been to a cookie bistro? If not....Marnee's is a must) just so we can stay at the Packard House. And if you're into ghost tours....make sure you ask about Simon and the Lady in Blue.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

As avid travelers preferring the home-like atmosphere of Bread and Breakfast accommodations, we have stayed at the Benjamin Packard House and enjoyed our stay many times in the past. However, since Amy and Mark became owners of this landmark property in historic Bath, ME, they have raised the bar to a superior level; one equal to the very best of accommodations we have experienced worldwide---and at reasonable rates. Every traveler expects a clean room, a comfortable bed, fresh linens and towels, and adequate bath facilities. Nonetheless, as hosts, Amy and Mark have overlooked nothing to make their guests feel right at home and exceedingly pampered ---plus, they bend over backwards to accommodate special requests they are able to fulfill. From the crystal pitcher of ice water in your room, tea in the afternoon, and an ever changing menu of gourmet breakfasts, to nicely decorated (but not overly cluttered) New England bedrooms and fully stocked bathrooms with soft towels and your every need, they go the extra mile. We have been their guests four times now and have thoroughly enjoyed each stay. We have personally recommended this inn to our friends.

  • Liked — Attention to details
  • Disliked — As an historic home, it does not lend itself easily to persons with mobility problems.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

We have just finished a relaxing and restful long weekend at the Benjamin F. Packard Bed and Breakfast. This has been our 3rd visit to the Packard House in Bath, Maine. The proprietors, Mark and Amy, are very accomodating and gracious hosts. The bedrooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. Each bedroom has their own spacious bathroom. We had access to a library, parlor, and gathering room when we were not out enjoying Bath and the surrounding area. Amy and Mark have a variety of information available on the different activities, shops, and restaurants in the area. Each time we have visited we have been treated to a variety of delicious full gourmet breakfast. Amy always has new and delicious breakfast menus for her guests. We would highly recommend staying at the Benjamin F. Packard Bed and Breakfast. We will be coming back again to enjoy the hospitality.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benjamin F. Packard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin F. Packard House

Address: 45 Pearl Street, Bath, ME 04530
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 18th century shipbuilder's home is ideally located in the heart of Bath's historic district with easy access to downtown shopping and restaurants. Relax in front of the fire in the gathering room, curl up with a good book in the library or enjoy complimentary afternoon tea in the garden. The Benjamin F. Packard House is your premier port for gracious hospitality, extreme relaxation and unsurpassed service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benjamin F. Packard House Bath, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjamin F. Packard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.