We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why have bbq near the ocean?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beale Street Barbeque and Grill

Beale Street Barbeque and Grill
215 Water St, Bath, ME 04530-2628
207-442-9514
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brownsville, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Why have bbq near the ocean?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When my friend suggested we go to Beale Street I was thinking, "what are you nuts, we are next to the ocean. get seafood!"
Wow, was I in for a surprise! Now, no trip to the Bath area is complete without a trip to Beale Street. Great food and beer and a great staff keeps me coming back year after year!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    47
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Memphis Comes to Maine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Great choice in Bath! It's primarily BBQ (which was quite good) but they also serve non BBQ items ( e.g., sweet potato and black bean burrito, fish tacos). About half a dozen Maine brews were available too. It's quite small so you might have to wait (no reservations), but it's worth it and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati , OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great barbeque w good brews on tap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is small and always busy in the summer. Beef brisket, crab cakes, bbq pork and chicken....all the BBQ faves are represented and are very good. I think their prices are very fair as well. Our guests each summer always want to return. Have to warn you they get busy and the service can be very up and down. If you have a large party better call ahead. Nice change from all the fried seafood in Maine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Great Place Overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

For the past 12 or more years, we've frequented this local standout establishment. I tell my friends who come to visit that it is my favorite restaurant in the world. A bit much perhaps, but I so enjoy the combination of really great Memphis style barbecue, a variety of non-BBQ dishes for those strange souls who don't like the stuff, a great selection of Maine beers on tap, including always having one cask-conditioned ale (Brit style pumped). The service has ALWAYS been great for us, with amazing continuity of staff from year to year.

This is not a plush restaurant, but a homey small bar/grill with great blues music playing in the background, and a crowd of locals and visitors who appear very glad to be there.

It has really spoiled me for BBQ, which I generally find to be inadequate at other places across the country, many of whom claim to have good stuff.

It is always possible to have a problem with service at some isolated moment anywhere, but it is hard for me to imagine anyone unhappy with this great spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Pulled pork, chopped brisket, tasty Bar-B-Q sauce, local draft beer. In Maine? Yes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beale Street Barbeque has been a Maine staple for quite a number of years, now, and continues to provide southern-style smoked meats served with a tasty sauce in portions that satisfy. Our waitress was attentive, although it must be noted that we arrived early on a Saturday afternoon and the restaurant wasn't yet busy (see other reviews), and insured our meal was enjoyable and satisfactory. One big plus is the availability of quite a number of local draft beers which complement the meals; this is especially true of the Allagash IPA. Overall, a very enjoyable meal at what now serves as a reasonable price point for luncheon fare. If you're a fan of Bar-B-Que in a Memphis-style tradition, Beale Street can satisfy your cravings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beale Street Barbeque and Grill also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Beale Street Barbeque and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beale Street Barbeque and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.