We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent shrimp and haddock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schutty's Seafood

Schutty's Seafood
410 State Road, Bath, ME 04530
(207) 798-9167
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New England
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“excellent shrimp and haddock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The fried shrimp and the fried haddock were perfect. Nice and crisp . Just perfect. The shrimp were so good that I will have a hard time forcing myself to try something else. we went here twice. The first time the lobster roll was good, but not excellent. It had too much dressing. They offer fries and sweet potatoe fires that were very tasty, but a little bit soggy. They did not charge extra for the seet potatoe fries. I am anxious to try their onion rings. They looked delicious. The first night we ate at the picnic tables. There is a road nearby, but it did not distract us. Not sure if they are open all year,but we want to try it a bunch more times. Their menu includes choices from the grill so that if you have one in your party who doesn't want fish they have plenty of choices. -veggie burger, steak sub, reuben, meatlovers wrap. I can see that this place is going to be a great success.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    8
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT Seafood at Schutty's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We made our second stop at Schutty's the first being a couple of weeks ago! We love fried clams and have eaten many in the Seattle area. Their whole bellied clams are amazing and the best friend clams we have ever had!!! Onion rings are terrific! We usually don't eat friend food, but this is light with no heavy breading. Today we had to have the clams again and also tried the seafood sampler platter with the hand cut fries. Everything was so good, but we think the clams and onion rings are our favorite so far! Next we will try the oysters and maybe the fish taco. The owners are friendly and make you feel welcome. We live in the area so are glad we can visit often during the season!! Tip -- the porta potty was also clean!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very, very tasty seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

During our week in Maine, had the tastiest seafood here. Fish tacos were excellent and the onion rings cooked to perfection. Very friendly taking the orders and suggesting different options. Would recommend this as a great place to go to.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Maine-homemade and fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Schutty's Seafood is hands-down the best seafood in Maine (and we've been to a lot of places!) All of the food there is homemade, fresh, and delicious! The menu offers a variety of choices, which makes the place unique and different from the average clam shack. For example, they offer lobster eggrolls, fried pickles, fish taco's, a grilled haddock reuben, and even some cold sandwiches and wraps. The first time we went was for lunch. We had the whole belly fried clam basket which came with onion rings and cole slaw. The clams were extremely fresh and the batter was light and crispy and just perfect! The onion rings were the best we've ever had! The breading is different from the clam breading, but perfectly seasoned and coats the onion perfectly without making it heavy and greasy. We also ordered the haddock chowder, which was light, creamy and delicious. On the side, we had the fried pickles with ranch dipping sauce. The pickles were crisp and fresh and amazing! Not only was the food wonderful, but the owners are extremely personable and gracious. So good, we went back a couple days later (had to wait a day since they are closed on Mondays.) On our next visit, we tried the Schutty's Special, which is 6 oz. of fried haddock filet topped with lobster chive mayo! Best fish sandwich we've ever had! The lobster chive mayo is full of chunks of lobster and puts the sandwich over the top! All of their seafood specialty sandwiches come with chips and a pickle. Did I mention they make their own chips? YUM! We also tried the crabcake burger with lemon, chive, and crab mayo. This was a special for the day and was also delicious! Again the service was great! Can't wait to go back here next year! You don't want to miss out on trying their food if you are ever in the area looking for great seafood! I wish they had a Facebook page so I could "like" them.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great seafood at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The food is wonderful if you are looking for great seafood at affordable prices. Do't expect some fancy place, it is a small mobile facility. But this is certainly the time not to judge a book by it's cover. It is clean they have fabulous looking vegetables and some herbs growing out front. The cook is willing to tell you what is he freshest and they have an interesting numbers of specials. There were 4 of us and 1 had eaten here frequently. She said she chowder is fabulous. I love hat you can buy either a basket meal with slaw and fries or rings or just seafood by the pint. I had ordered a pint f clams and fried green beans (a special that day). The clams were fantastic, I am fussy! They were tender and plump not masked by a ton of batter. The batter was light and tasty, not that old oil taste you sometimes get at an outdoor seafood place. Served with a lemon which I prefer and quality tater sauce. The beans were crispy and fresh with a light batter ad a ranch dressing if you wanted it. They must have been a good seller as I had the last order they had. One other in my group also ordered clams and agreed that they were some of the best he has had ( he's 80 and has had many). Also ordered were a scallop basket, she said he scallops were tender and sweet, large sea scallops. The coleslaw she said was very ood and she had a choice of handcu fries or onion rings. She got the rings which were scrumptious. The final Oder was a salad with grilled shrimp. These were the tiny Maine shrimp which are sweet and tender. They were nicely seasoned on a garden sala with a nice variety of veggies. Her only complaint was that the salad had black olives which she does not like, but they were easily picked off. I highly recommend Schutty's it is a great stop after a day on he water. Enjoy the good weather with good food and friends at one of their picnic tables or take it back to camp. It is great no matter how you do it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schutty's Seafood also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Schutty's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schutty's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.