We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Bath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Bath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Bath
Save
You added The Inn at Bath to your Saves list
969 Washington Street, Bath, ME 04530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Bath B&B and Inns
Baltimore USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I had the quintessential B and B experience during our stay at this lovely Inn in June. We were in Bath to scope out the wedding venue where our son will be married later this summer. Our hostess, Elizabeth, was wonderful-gracious and very helpful. But it was the welcoming atmosphere that she has created that enabled a very diverse group of guests to meet at her breakfast table and have such a delightful time conversing, sharing stories and travel ideas. Our room was lovely, the bath modern and well-equipped. everything was as described. We had a wonderful time. And we are so glad our friends will fill the Inn over Labor Day for our son's wedding weekend Thanks so much, Elizabeth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    13
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
59
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surry, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What you will not find at this inn is an impersonal staff or an army of cleaning women in those awful little maid smocks. You will not find the haughty, nose-in-the-air feeling that sometimes comes with inns of this class. You will not find yourself feeling like an anonymous guest at some fancy-pants resort. What you will find is a relaxing retreat. You will feel pampered, but not intruded upon. You will feel at home. You will find that you want to come back.

Arriving at The Inn at Bath is like dropping in on relatives you didn't know you had. Elizabeth, the owner and inn keep, is like your favorite aunt. You know... the cool one. She's energetic and enthusiastic, but not overbearing. She's like that aunt who might say to you, "Have a great time while you're here and I don't care what you do; just don't do anything I'm going to have to tell your mother about. At least not in front of me..." When we arrived, she was just getting out of her car with her dog. We all stood in her kitchen, which also serves as the main entrance for guests, and chatted for 20 minutes about everything under the sun. It really was like showing up at a familiar place after a long absence. "This is your room, extra towels are in there. Cups are in the cupboard, breakfast is in the morning; let me know if you don't eat eggs or bacon. If you have leftovers from dinner, there's room in the fridge, but put your name on them." In addition to this charming welcome, Elizabeth gave us the low-down on all of the best places to eat at, not to eat at and what things to see and do. She's a wealth of knowledge. One only has to look at the "what to do" tab on the inn's website to see what I'm talking about.

As for the particulars, this inn is situated just outside the "downtown" area of Bath on a shady, quaint street. Everything is within walking distance, but somehow, you don't know you're so near to the hubbub. My husband and I stayed in the Fo'c'sle room on the basement level. The room was appointed with a Jacuzzi tub for two, a queen sized bed, private bath and a fireplace. It was lovely. The décor was pretty typical modern New England cottage. The bedroom was furnished with antiques and painted soft sage greens, whites and warm earth tones while the bath featured light paint and classic, mirrored finish accessories. There is nothing too fussy about the place, but it had a truly comfortable, welcoming feel. An advantage of staying in the Fo'c'sle is that it has a private outside entrance onto a stone patio. I enjoyed a bottle of wine there, in a glass borrowed from the kitchen, and read a book. Ah... bliss.

When we went up for breakfast the first day, we found Elizabeth, cheerfully bustling around the kitchen preparing breakfast. Let me tell you, it's worth staying here just for this breakfast. We helped ourselves to deliciously dark, rich coffee and fresh juice, but passed on the fruit, yogurt and homemade granola to save room for what was coming. We DO eat both eggs and bacon and were treated with an open faced BLT. Atop toasted local artisanal bread sat a little pile of micro greens, thick cut bacon, a poached egg and a perfectly warmed tomato slice. It was made to order and it was divine. The only downside was that we were forced to watch the other couple staying at the inn, who had come up first, devour theirs while we waited for ours, drooling. The following day we noshed on ultra-moist, tender blueberry pancakes with enough butter in the batter to make them feel truly naughty, topped with real maple syrup and served with sausage. This breakfast is included in the price of your room. It features the fruit, yogurt and granola and a different hot dish each day. Do not skip it.

I could go on about all of the things that we loved about this place, but there are just too many. When you stay here, you are staying with someone, in a home not at somewhere, in a room. Its geniune and familiar feeling. When we packed our car and turned in our key, I found myself fighting the urge to hug Elizabeth, like that familiar favorite aunt, and promise to visit next summer.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have wifi. Check with the inn keep before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just a very nice place to stay…great location, great innkeeper and elegant/rustic rooms….probably not the low cost alternative in town, but worth the money for the experience and for the service….highly recommend….

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

What a lovely place! The Sail loft room was so quaint and comfy. Terrific bed, and we loved the step stool to step up into the bed. The well stocked bookcase was also appreciated. Breakfast was divine, and Elizabeth shared her fantastic granola recipe with me. Yum. We played cards at a card table Elizabeth kindly set up for us in front of the fire place in the parlor. So fun and relaxing. Elizabeth also was very helpful in giving great suggestions on what to see and do on our way down the Maine coast. She let us brouse through several map and tour books from her large collection of travel books for her guests. We loved our stay, and would return again when we are in Maine.

Room Tip: Sail Loft room has a well stocked bookcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This inn is everything you could want an inn/B&B to be: charming, well-located, and friendly. Our room, the lavender room, was comfortable and large. Elizabeth, the host, is lovely and informative. The house just works well. There is an information packet waiting when you arrive with local restaurants and sights included. Everything is well-explained. Breakfast is delicious - fruit, granola, yogurt, plus a hot dish, eggs one morning and pancakes another. The heated coffee mugs are a nice touch. It's a short walk into downtown bath for dinner or a little shopping and sightseeing and very convenient for exploring the area. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Have a conversation with the owner to sort out your preferences. She's lovely and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We traveled recently for a short weekend Christmas shopping trip to Maine and decided to stay at the Inn at Bath since it close to where we needed to be, offered rooms that allowed our dog and had those extra features like fireplaces to set it apart from others. We found it to be outstanding and wonderful from the moment we arrived. The house is simple charming and walking in we we warmly greeted with a prepared packet of information about the area and fabulous recommendations of where to eat, most of which could be walked to. Elizabeth is the perfect Inn Keeper, friendly, informative, great cook and a dog person!! Our room, The East Room, was plenty spacious with a comfortable king size bed, clean and modern bath including a bidet, fireplace, cable TV and plenty of books. It was very clean and decorated very tastefully. The rest of the house is just amazing!! We had an incredible breakfast at a large table and had an opportunity to interact with many other travelers. The only issue that arose, a broken key, was handled quickly and without drama or issues. This is a great place to use as a base to travel north to Bar Harbor, south to Freeport or explore what Bath has to offer. We will keep this as a regular place to stay on our travels to Maine. My compliments all around!!!

Room Tip: Certain rooms pets are allowed if traveling you maybe limited, but the rooms with fireplaces add a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent one night here on a recent trip through Maine. The inn is a cozy little nest with all the nooks and crannies one expects of an property like this - we walked through another (vacant) room on our way to breakfast. Speaking of breakfast - an ample cooked meal is offered at a communal table. The inn is located a few walkable blocks from the cute downtown and two nearby small parks. Elizabeth is an outgoing and knowledgeable host - we took her advice and dined at the Solo Bistro and weren't disappointed. All in all, this was a great place to rest our heads for an evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Bath

Address: 969 Washington Street, Bath, ME 04530
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Bath is a mid-1800's Greek Revival home with lovely rooms full of color and light and located within Bath's Historic District. Short walk to Front Street for shopping and great dining, one block from the Kennebec River, and only 20 minute drive to the best beaches in Maine: Popham and Reid State Parks. All rooms have private baths, 4 have wood-burning fireplaces, 2 also have whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Bath Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.