We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Beautiful Inn - a Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Bath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Bath
Save
You added The Inn at Bath to your Saves list
969 Washington Street, Bath, ME 04530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Bath B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Warm, Beautiful Inn - a Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I only stayed in the Inn for one night, but were warmly welcomed by Elizabeth, the owner. We both loved the Inn, it was a beautiful old home in Bath - I love these old homes. The building itself is beautiful, and has been kept in excellent condition. We stayed in the Garden Room, which is right behind the kitchen. I was somewhat concerned that the sound of the kitchen may be an issue in the morning, but it was not, we both slept peacefully into the morning.

Breakfast was awesome as well. I wish we could have stayed longer. I would definitely stay there again if we're in the area, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    13
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
59
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just one night to visit family, and wish we had more time to stay at this wonderful B&B. Our room was the Garden Room with a private entrance, which was perfect with our small dog. The king size bed was most comfortable and a fire in the fireplace took the chill off the early evening. Everything was spotless.

Elizabeth took care of all our needs and cooked up a super breakfast of local eggs and bacon along with freshly baked rolls and homemade jams.

We will certainly stay there again when we return, and would recommend it to anyone.


Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Bath. We were attending our son's wedding in Bath and Elizabeth, the innkeeper, was so helpful and flexible with our very many needs. All our guests who stayed here were so impressed with her home, breakfasts, and kindness. We definitely would return here if we return to this area!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Inn at Bath offers a welcome alternative to Maine's motels and fishing camps.. We were traveling with a dog. Fortunately, animals are always welcome at this property. The innkeeper Elizabeth Knowlton provides clean, well appointed rooms. Breakfasts are home cooked and delicious. The inn's staff are friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms both in the main house and those adjacent to the garage. Have never had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Inn at Bath is a wonderful place to stay on a street lined with beautiful houses - excellent rooms, a wonderful breakfast, and gracious hospitality from its proprietor, Elizabeth Knowlton and her staff. Bath is certainly worth visiting!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a wonderful experience! The home is absolutely beautiful and our breakfast was fresh, homemade and delicious. The room was very clean and perfectly comfortable. But the very best part of the stay were Elizabeth and her staff. Lovely, lovely people. I highly recommend The Inn at Bath, Maine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Inn at Bath was the first of the seven inns or guesthouses that I stayed in during a meandering drive up the mid-coast of Maine from Portland to Bar Harbor. Elizabeth, the owner, is helpful and friendly and the house is wonderfully designed and maintained in that "Maine Inn" kind of way. I stayed in the large room at the front corner on the second floor and the light streamed through the windows with a cool breeze so that I looked forward to sitting there during late afternoon and early evening. Breakfast is delicious. Elizabeth helped me to plan the day in Bath and gave me useful "inside information" about the rest of my drive trip. It's not a long drive up from Portland so I don't know how many folks stay on the way up the coast but if you want to explore the Maritime Museum and the Bath Iron Works, this is the best place in town and I recommend it without reservations. [Some of the older reviews just seem "wrong" to me--the place was spotless and the staff friendly--I expect that there may have been a change in management or that some folks simply can't be pleased].

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innatbath, Owner at The Inn at Bath, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank-you for your kind words. I looked at the reviews that followed and it looks like you had a great week in maine, and you've given me a list of great B&B's for other guests as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Bath

Address: 969 Washington Street, Bath, ME 04530
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Bath is a mid-1800's Greek Revival home with lovely rooms full of color and light and located within Bath's Historic District. Short walk to Front Street for shopping and great dining, one block from the Kennebec River, and only 20 minute drive to the best beaches in Maine: Popham and Reid State Parks. All rooms have private baths, 4 have wood-burning fireplaces, 2 also have whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Bath Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.