We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our kids love Bass Harbor Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Harbor Campground

Bass Harbor Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bass Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Harbor Campground
Save
You added Bass Harbor Campground to your Saves list
342 Harbor Drive, Route 102A, Bass Harbor, West Tremont, ME 04653   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Our kids love Bass Harbor Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was our fifth summer staying in a cabin at Bass Harbor Campground, which is on the southwest side of Mt Desert Island, often correctly called the quiet side of the island, compared to Bar Harbor.

We keep coming back to Bass Harbor Campground for two reasons. Because you just can't beat the value for the price -- less than $100 a night for a whole week. And, more importantly, because our kids love it here! Every day our 8- and 11-year olds swam in the heated outdoor pool. They rode their bikes around the campground. Our teenager chilled out in the cabin, enjoying the complimentary wi-fi, even though there’s not enough bandwidth for heavy gaming or videos. We all enjoyed roasting marshmallows at the campfire right outside our cabin. And our beagle enjoyed the smells of nature.

Quiet hours start around 9pm. The pool opens at 9am and closes at dusk. There’s a laundry room on premises as well as a small general store in the office. The staff are friendly and helpful. This summer one of the workers helped adjust the seat of one of our bikes. They all made us feel very welcome. Down the road is Gott’s Store, which serves awesome pizza. Around the bend is beautiful Bass Harbor Lighthouse, which you can drive, bike or walk to from the campground.

Do not mistake this lodging for a hotel room. It’s a cabin. The mattresses aren’t thick but they’re fairly firm. You’ll need to bring your own sheets and pillows. We bring our sleeping bags, too, because it can get a bit nippy at night. During the day eating at the picnic bench right outside our cabin, we were frequently visited by wasps; they never stung us but next time we’ll bring one of those big net tents to keep them and the mosquitos out.

Room Tip: We’ve stayed at three different cabins at Bass Harbor Campground – the Potting Shed, C3 and C7. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were camping there the weekend of Columbus Day so the sites were not full. We found a nice spot away from most tents next to a small magical meadow, which at night was steeped in full moon's light. It was super quiet while we were there, the bathrooms amazed us as super clean and well maintained and the price was perfect. We usually stay at States campgrounds as they are the cheapest but this was a nice change not to have been greeted by grumpy rangers but rather two very nice and helpful ladies. I would go back there anytime was it not so far from NYS.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

While, this is a very clean and friendly place.I would NOT stay here at Bass Harbor again. Our site was squished between two others and I can literally hear every word everyone says, and basically "reach out and touch someone." No idea why they put us where they did, when they have plenty of delightful empty sites...maybe because we requested sewer. However, when we called they said, that we were in the woods, and secluded and no one was around us. We would have easily given up sewer for what we thought we were getting. We would have complained, but got in after the store was closed (7 p.m.). There was no picnic table, but once we asked, one was delivered in a timely manner. We really couldn't sit outside and enjoy much, as our fire pit faced someone's camper and automobile and trust me it was very close. The last thing I want to stare at is someone's mini van. As I said, there were many other sites, and I just wish we'd gotten one of those. It is also nearly 20 minutes in the off season from Acadia and Bar Harbor. We checked out Mt. Desert Campground while we were here and they are right on the water with very private sites...we'll be headed there next time.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the B section...much nicer sites and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Clean restrooms and more private tent sites would help make this a better stay. Restrooms looked like they hadn't been updated since 1983. Loud diesel engine ran from 6 am to 8 am - sounded like a rock crusher nex to my tent.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was our second stay at the Bass Harbor Campground cabins. We stayed in one that was recently built in 2010. Very basic but just right. They have a mini fridge, microwave, gas grill, and coffee maker. The cabin was clean, and perfectly located. The bathhouse is quick two minute walk away, and was always very clean. During our stay the campground was quiet at night, and we could clearly hear the buoy bell by the lighthouse. The office staff are very helpful and friendly. The pool was clean and heated as advertised. Our one disappointment; as well as our kids, was the recreation room. The building is falling apart as was the games and equipment inside. I would of expected a little more out of the rec room. Everything about it is bad. I hope to see some improvements next year, maybe some horseshoe pits too somewhere on the grounds. The kids playground however, has been recently upgraded. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

4th of July weekend at Acadia. Bass Harbor campground was a second choice for us, and after staying there, it still is. The price was good. The showers hot and free, the bathroom adequate. The staff was friendly and helpful. They delivered wood to our site, as we had two motorcycles. Our picnic bench was broken upon arrival, and they brought a replacement in less than half hour. The site was not so good, NO privacy despite the trees. Our lot abutted a "busy" street. I did have a flat grassy place for my tent. The other campers were quiet enough, so no complaints their. Nothing outstanding here, basic tenting accommodations - tents are separated from the big RV's - that was nice. Quiet side of the island, as we expected and enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

If you want a peaceful camping experience without other tents 15 feet from yours, go elsewhere. Bathrooms were clean but the campsite is way too noisy and cramped.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bass Harbor Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Harbor Campground

Address: 342 Harbor Drive, Route 102A, Bass Harbor, West Tremont, ME 04653
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > West Tremont > Bass Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bass Harbor
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
Bass Harbor Campground Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Harbor Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.