We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ann's Point Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ann's Point Inn to your Saves list
Ann's Point Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   79 Anns Point Rd., Bass Harbor, ME 04653   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bass Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My spouse and I recently spent our honeymoon at Ann's Point Inn. It was perfect! The attention to detail was incredible and the service by the hosts was impeccable. When we arrived there were flowers, chocolate covered strawberries, and cookies for our pleasure. The room was spacious with a fireplace, a shower for 2, and very stylish comfortable furniture. The views were incredible - the food was top notch - the recommendations for dinner and activities were spot on. The morning breakfast included a 3 course variety of homemade items that were delicious and the presentation was five star. There is an indoor pool, sauna and hot tub that were very well maintained and very inviting. We definitely recommend a stay at Ann's Point Inn and look forward to when we can return.
Bill & Joe

Room Tip: We stayed in the Herron room and although we did not see the other rooms, I can't imagine that t...
See more room tips
Green Features: Messages were included to allow for towel changes.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Attentive, gracious hosts in a beautiful and quiet location. Views of the water from rooms, main house, and property. The rooms are comfortable, lovely, and elegant. Well worth a few days stay any time of year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The breakfasts were masterfully prepared, the room was welcoming and the location was secluded yet in the middle of everything. We stayed in the Eagles Nest with the closest proximity to the water. It was very quiet and since it was in the harbor/backwater there was no sound of surging tides. If you want waves crashing on the rocks this isn't the place for you. But if you want peaceful vistas and great accommodations we would encourage you to make a reservation.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: LENERGY STAR guest room appliances Towel reuse program Temperature set to save energy Waste is composted Biodegradable toiletries Energy-saving lighting controls
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

EXcellent simply said. Suite outstanding, host and hostess superb, wine and cheese, delightful, location spectacular. Thank you Alan and Jeanette for a wonderful 3 days. The quieter side of the island was the best choice of our holiday and we are glad we stayed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We hesitate to say how perfect Ann's Point is, lest we be unable to book a room there again next year. And yet, this inn and the innkeepers who are the perfect hosts, deserve all the accolades they receive.

First the setting: gorgeous and quiet, water views from every window, a blue heron here, a bunny rabbit there, hummingbirds at the feeder, mist over water. A serene place to be, in good weather or even in fog and rain.

The accommodations: tastefully furnished house and guest rooms with a fireplace, lovely king-sized sleigh bed, chairs facing the water, both inside and outside, homemade cookies left in our room in the evening, a huge library of DVD's, pool, sauna, hot tub: every amenity one could want, all offered graciously by the hosts. Fresh flowers from the garden are in beautiful vases throughout the house, in guest rooms and bathrooms.

The innkeepers/hosts: Alan and Jeanette are the perfect hosts: friendly and helpful, but never intrusive. Alan's wine and cheese at 5:30pm will introduce you to delightful new surprises: locally produced mead (much lighter than you might think from your Beowulf or Shakespeare texts) beer, and wine produced locally, and interesting cheeses from Italy, France, Maine, and beyond. Jeanettes's breakfasts are incredible: fresh fruit, fresh-baked scones and sweet breads, savory entrees with herbs from their garden. Their thoughtful hospitality has set the bar high and is an exemplary model for other prospective B&B hosts.

Such a marvelous place to be, away from the crowds of Bar Harbor, but within easy driving distance of Southwest Harbor, Northeast Harbor, Somesville, and Acadia: we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We loved Blue Heron: very spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I often think about writing reviews, but rarely get around to it. But this B&B is so deserving of accolades that I couldn't miss the chance to add mine. This is my second night, and I am sitting in front of the fireplace in my large lavish room (Eagle's Nest) eating the homemade oatmeal raisin cookies that were left in our room while we were out to dinner, and drinking Starbuck's hot chocolate, which I made in the little gallery right outside my door. Later, I will take a dip in the hot tub (10 feet from the door) although the indoor pool is also inviting, then spend 15 min in the sauna (5 feet from my door) before hopping into the magnificent four poster bed where I will sleep like a baby in the quietest place in Maine. When I get up in the am, I will take a luxurious shower with the high scale bath products in my large bathroom, put on the warm robe left in my walk-in closet, make a cup of Keurig coffee and sit on my private deck overlooking the water. At eight, I will wander onto the veranda for a 3 course gourmet breakfast, again overlooking the water, before I head into one of the many coastal Maine towns (Bass Harbor, Southwest Harbor, Bar Harbor) for a day of adventure.
Do I have your attention yet?
I haven't even reached the high point- the hosts! Alan and Jeanette are warm and gracious, and made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in their door. When we arrived, Alan was making cheese (!), which we had with wine and crackers at 5:30 ( a nightly occurrence). Within a few minutes we were talking like old friends, and Alan's enthusiasm for making cheese and growing mushrooms was contagious - he lent my husband a book and we are already planning our first crop. The inn has only four rooms, so it is very intimate and it has been great fun meeting the other guests as well.
Great attention has been paid to every detail, the place is exquisite, the food is delectable, the hosts are delightful. My only regret is that we are leaving on Sunday. But not before we book next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This beautiful inn is immaculate and has every amenity one would hope for in a 5 star hotel but has the intimacy of an inn. The breakfasts are unique and delicious, wine and cheese tasting is a lovely late afternoon touch and to top off your day are warm cookies in your room before bedtime.
Alan and Jeanette are the innkeepers who go out of their way to make sure all your needs are met and you are comfortable.
We would definitely return. The inn enhanced our trip to Maine.

Room Tip: We stayed in eagle's Nest which is large with a fireplace, high ceilings and a four poster bed...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were impressed by the extent of their concern for the environment. They go out of their way to make sure everything that can help the environment is practiced.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ann's Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Point Inn

Address: 79 Anns Point Rd., Bass Harbor, ME 04653
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bass Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bass Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ann's Point Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious four-diamond contemporary B&B on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island--secluded and romantic yet close to beautiful Acadia National Park and the towns of Bass Harbor, Southwest Harbor and Bar Harbor, Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Ann's Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann's Point Inn Bass Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ann's Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.