We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of cap'n nemo's - CLOSED

cap'n nemo's
45 Harbor Dr, Bass Harbor, ME 04653
2972447872
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: we are the most unique restaurant on the island (cir.1900) everything on our menu is prepared from scratch. we have the best burgers on the island and further. we are open year round. our prices are modest and we cater to the locals. we have a great selection of local micro brew beers and a full bar to boot. our bar-b-que is awesome, pull'd pork and baby backs smoked right here.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Crazy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Don't let the eclectic lobster/marine decorations fool you, this restaurant is worth a visit especially if you are fond of fresh lobster. It is definitely one of those down Maine family owned and operated places that looks like it has been there forever. Food is great and service is straight forward with a no nonsense approach to taking care of what you need and then leaving you alone. We opted for a pair of 2 pound lobsters and had time to relax with a beer or two while the owner's son went down to the pier... the lobster was literally just off the boat. All the usual trimming with a special treat of "fiddle heads" since they were still in season. Delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Key West Atmosphere in Maine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Those who are put off by the looks of Nemos probably drive Beamers and are from the Hamptons. If you've been to the Keys or maybe Nawlins, then you'll recognize character right away. Inside is an eclectic mix of clutter punctuated by local flavor, including the regulars at the bar. The food was good and portions gigantic. And 20 oz craft beers for $5! Beware the pool table that slopes like the 18th at any US Open. Out in the beer garden a nice fire was roaring. An awesome find in an otherwise quiet fishing village.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“don't be afraid to try it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

After driving by Cap'n Nemos several times this week, we really wanted to try it,but like many other people have stated in their reviews, were a bit hesitant due to the looks of the place from the outside. After reading several tripadvisor reviews on how good the food is-we decided that we had to try it! This is definitely a unique, funky type of place- but not in a bad way- in a fun way. This is a casual, laid back, quirky decor-so if you're looking for formal dining you may not appreciate the concept. However,for regular folks looking for a family friendly,unique, & casual restaurant- give this a try! We had burgers & pork BBQ sliders and they were all really good! Would definitely come back again. Glad we gave it a try!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food in a locals spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were visiting friends in Bar Harbor and they wanted to take us to check out this spot over in Bass Harbor. So glad we did! We never would have stopped on our own, as others have mentioned the appearance is very eclectic. But GO for the food. The fish and chips (fried haddock) is delicious and fresh. It is flash frozen on the boat when it is caught and you can tell when you eat it. Burgers were great too. Good prices, cold beer and a fun night. Not an experience you will have anywhere else on Mount Desert Island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A jewel in a junkyard!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of our highlights to our trip!! We were attracted to the eccentric and eclectic lighthouse, junkyard, boatyard appearance from the outside and HAD to stop and look, then we smelled the food cooking and knew we HAD to eat there! Dinner was crowded and we were in a rush, so came the next for lunch to find it was closed! The owner was there and said they usually are opened for lunch, but had just closed this one day...then welcomed us in anyway! He and his wife cooked up the best meal we had in Maine!! You really made a bunch of New Yorkers and Floridians happy by welcoming us on your day off...THANK YOU! We had smoked BBQ chicken, smoked BBQ ribs, Haddock sandwiches, dubloons, nachos, burgers(with maple bacon), and huge mugs of local beer!!! Everything was perfectly delicious! The owner was welcoming, funny and so accomodating. The inside and back patio were decorated in the same eccentric motif that kept you busy looking while waiting!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cap'n nemo's also viewed

Bass Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bass Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bass Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bass Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cap'n nemo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.