We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse

Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse
Bass Harbor, West Tremont, ME
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most photographed lighthouses in Maine.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

be sure to find the trail to right of restroom, main pat from parking lot takes you to one view of lighthouse but path through woods takes you to a much nicer view, very pretty

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    43
    21
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not sure if it was worth it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This felt like a must do if we had the time so we drove down to the light at sunset and did not realise how small the parking lot is!
For the first time ever in the US we could not find a space and had to park down the lane and walk back in.
Although the sunset was pretty the light looks very ordinary and its difficult to view as access is limited
We had a much more enjoyable visit to Portland Head Light later on!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We love lighthouses, and their history. This one is beautifully situated and very accessible. We enjoyed the short walk down to the point just below the lighthouse where there were beautiful views.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Don't Be In A Hurry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

While the lighthouse is lovely, waiting 1/2 hour to park makes it not worth the wait! My husband was a dear and dropped me off to walk down to the lighthouse while he waited for a parking spot in early October. After waiting 30 minutes for him, I started back up the hill to find him finally parking and not in a good mood about the wait. The drive is long; almost not worth the time wasted to go back. I would think twice about recommending it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Was a toss up between going here or the schoodic peninsula. Unfortunately this won. Was after that quintessential maine lighthouse photo. Got there. Walked down the path to the side of the lighthouse that is penned in by wire fencing. Did not see anywhere to walk down to they rocks below for a much better view. Turned round, got in the car and left. Utter utter waste of time and fuel. If we missed the walk and it was not closed off, they seriously need to improve their signage.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Bass Harbor, West Tremont
Bass Harbor, West Tremont
 

Been to Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.