We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Bangor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Bangor to your Saves list
Ramada Bangor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   357 Odlin Road/I-95, Bangor, ME 04401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked this hotel for a business trip because it was close to the airport in Bangor. Upon checking in I was given a room on the second floor which usually is fine, but I soon discovered they did not have an elevator! I had hip surgery a few months previously but managed to slowly manipulate my luggage up the winding stairway. If someone has heavy bags or more than a few it would be a big problem. There was only one person at the desk and perhaps they could have called for help, but proper notice given on making the reservation would be advisable. I did not ask for a first floor room, but anyone with substantial luggage would be wise to do that.

I had two nights reserved and left for my meeting at 11:00 the next morning. I noticed the cleaning cart in the hallway when I left for the day. When I returned about 7:00PM that evening I was disappointed to find my room had not been serviced. The front desk reception gave me towels, coffee, and clean coffee cups but I faced full wastbaskets, an unmade bed and used towels. The receptionist said the housekeeping person left a note saying the dead bolt was set, but that was impossible as I was gone for the day.

The room did have a reclining chair so I decided to do my business reports while seated there. I moved the bed side table about 2 feet so it was near the chair for my paperwork, notes etc. To my disappointment I found dust thick enough to write a message on and other objects that had rolled under the table for obviously a long time! The rest of the room and bathroom seemed clean enough but that thick dust troubled me.

Another disappointment was that there was no breakfast included, I should have checked when scheduling, but have come accustomed to this level of lodging including some sort of morning breakfast.

I needed to print out my airplane boarding pass for the next day and was directed to a computer sitting alone on the second floor landing, there was no printer though so I had to go the the front desk for them to print my document.

The hotel is proud of their new swimming pool and indeed it is large and beautiful, local residents can use it for a fee. I was the only one using it the first morning and did enjoy the experience.

All in all with a choice in lodging I will not choose this establishment again, there are too many drawbacks there that probably won't be found in other hotels. I take responsibility for not asking about breakfast, that would have been nice, but the other problems strongly tip the scale not to return.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you have much luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    204
    156
    66
    41
See reviews for
274
188
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ROTHESAY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent location. Good rates. Restaurant is exceptional. Staff is accommodating. Rooms are well appointed. Property recently upgraded and it shows. Very nice. Truly a pet-friendly property, which is hard to find in most hotel chains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having spent several nights in the camper It was time for a shower & a real bed...Did not like the looks of the "8" & the Days Inn had a tour bus in & no vacancy...So defaulted to the nearby Ramada...Our room was dated & would have been OK... but... for the musty smell in the hallway... Opening ajar doors across the way... I found several un inhabitable rooms apparently undergoing (I hope) mold remediation from a faulty roof system...A long interior trek to the Ramada desk for a extra towel (provided) had one feeling like a rat in a maze... No breakfast provided, at this humble effort, so made do nicely, in the camper... This property, was the unfortunate low point of our Maine visit... carracar

Room Tip: Avoid the far rear wing...or alternatively, the entire property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st lucia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

stopped here, and the lobby was gross, the halls were gross, then the room was next to drilling and the air conditioner belted out some kind of disgusting smell, I quickly took my kids and left and told the front desk. They said they wouldnt charge me. Guess what they did! I called Ramada a week later and found out that I would need to call the hotel directly log distance to inquire abut this. I didn't bother. We drove to Augusta and stayed at an excellent Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We ended a five day trip to Maine and New Hampshire staying at the Ramada Inn in Bangor before we drove home to Canada. The facilities were basic but clean and adequate, as we had expected. However, the two female members of staff we had contact with were unhelpful and seemed disinterested in us. Also, the hotel restaurant was closed and there was no complimentary breakfast. This came as a shock as the nightly rate is higher than other hotels of a similar class which do offer a complimentary breakfast to guests. We recommend the Days Inn in Bangor, which is cheaper than the Ramada, where the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was highly satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Bangor

Address: 357 Odlin Road/I-95, Bangor, ME 04401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bangor
#8 Family Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Bangor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bangor Ramada has just finished a new renovation. Part of that renovation includes a brand new swimming pool. Our pool is the newest and largest in the area. The hotel also provides high speed wireless, shuttle service and a full service restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Bangor Hotel Bangor
Bangor Ramada Inn
Ramada Bangor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Bangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.