We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard Johnson Bangor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Bangor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Bangor to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Bangor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 Odlin Road, I-95 & I-295, Bangor, ME 04401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Dayville, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Howard Johnson Bangor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Well we are at the location right now. After reading what others had to say, I thought I would add in:
Hallways smell like hell, by this I mean stale urine and mold
Heat in room doesn't work, good news is they have fixed this problem with a 10 dollar space heater from Walmart, that as a licensed Department of Public Safety electrical inspector looks
Ike a major fire hazard
Looks like they forgot to vacuum this room for the past (5) years maybe longer.....
Neither of the two smoke decectors look like they have power or batteries, safety first!
The electrical near the bed has not meet the electrical code in years, scary to say the least.
In the bathroom you are greeted by an electrical switch that does nothing near the door.
Lastly, front desk clerk was not friendly and hotel lobby smelled bad.
Almost forgot, the sheets on my bed don't fit and it keeps coming off and I don't really want to touch the bed!
My best advise would this : Run as fast as you can from this place, even if it is chain owned the crop rate office should make them shut the doors!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    145
    93
    44
    77
See reviews for
129
153
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I will never stay at this hotel again. The staff were very rude, the entryways werent shoveled, the heater in our room blew only cold air, over half of the outlets didn't work, the lamps would flicker even after they were turned off, the water pressure was very low which meant the shower would only trickle, and to top it all off our toilet was plugged and I called for someone to come fix it and I was told to come pick up the plunger at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed a this hotel one night and it was one night too many, dirty, smelly with the rudest staff I have ever encountered with a hotel. The "Desk Clerk" screamed at me during check out about a complaint I had over a dirty blanket. She told me she didn't care, I was paying anyway to just leave, great customer service. Would never recommend this hotel to even a brothel...horrible is the only word to describe it.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed at the Howard Johnson Bangor at the begining of September, we just needed a cheap place to stay while we went on a girls shopping trip. We paid under $45 for each night, for the price. I truly believe in the saying " you get what you paid for" I wasn't expecting much for under $45 a night, so I mentally prepared myself for a stinky cheap motel stay, just somewhere to sleep. It really wasn't as bad as some of the reviews I have read. It was pretty clean and neat, we didn't find anything disgusting in our room. The bathroom was a fair size and there were no stains or mold. I do agree that they need an update, it look like they haven't had one since 1988. But if you're looking for just a cheap stay to spend more money shopping, it's really not a bad place. Great location, ok service, fairly clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We spent one night there, worse night of our vacation, I was actually afraid to get under the covers it was so bad. Pillow cases looked as though they hadn't been washed so I imagine the sheets were the same(I didn't even look I was so grossed out), milk left in the fridge from who knows when, hairs in the bathtub and a hole in the wall where a vent should have been. Guess the mice didn't need to come in, they probably had better!! Oh yeah, and to top it all there was a condom in the drawer where normally you find the Bible!!!! One more night back in Bangor before we cross the border and it will NOT be at HOJO.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is my third stay.At $54 us a night I have few complaints.Room needed a dusting
but other then that the bathroom was clean,the bedding was clean,everything we needed
was in the room and the staff were friendly.Location is also good.Only thing lacking is free
breakfast but Tims is across the street and McDonalds is a 5 minute drive.As long as it
stays clean I will be back (remember it is a place to sleep,you are not buying the room).
Satisfied travelers from Moncton NB Canada.

Room Tip: Book ahead and get 20 percent off 2 nights stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel was disgusting, hadn't been cleaned in awhile, rug and walls were filthy. Toilet did not flush, had to use a plunger for every flush, shower didn't drain. When room next doord took shower at same time there was no shower pressure at all and what came out was freezing. There was even hair in the bedding. We called a few times, spoke to 3 different people about the toilet, no one ever came. They didn't clean our room the next day, didn't even get fresh towels had to go to front desk and she told us to flag down a cleaning lady. Will never stay there again! Motel 6 was even cleaner than this....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Bangor

Address: 336 Odlin Road, I-95 & I-295, Bangor, ME 04401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Bangor Hotel Bangor
Howard Johnson Bangor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Bangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.