We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, good price. Would go again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN White House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN White House Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Littlefield Avenue, Bangor, ME 04401-7206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Morganville, NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, good price. Would go again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed here the night of June 26, 2008 on the way to Acadia National Park after a long day of driving from Canada. It was located just off I-95 at a truck stop area. Even though there appears to be a business connection with the truck stop, don't let that influence you if you're planning a night's stay. Our room was substantial and clean. We were located in the back between two parts of the building and had a wall view out the window, but it was quiet with no road noise at all. The continental breakfast was average but satisfactory. We paid $80.96 + tax after an extensive internet search and consider this a good deal especially for what we got. We would stop here again.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    103
    53
    19
    13
See reviews for
120
131
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

We selected this hotel because were visiting University of Maine in Orono -- about 15 minutes away. We paid a little less than $70 per night. The hotel is right off the highway , but high on a hill and overlooks a farm. It is right next to a major truck stop. We were not bothered by traffic noise.

The truck stop restaurant food is not bad. My favorite was the sugar-free blueberry pie. The service at the restaurant was excellent and all of the staff at Dysart's were caring friendly people. We had lost our gas cap during our travels and inquired about purchasing a new one at the truck stop store. The nice person at the counter took out a box of gas caps that had been left behind by others over the years and let us take one for free. How nice was that?

Our room had two reasonably comfortable queen beds with plenty of pillows and towels. The bathroom is small and dark and has toilet and tub only which didn't really bother us. The sink is located outside the bathroom, which we liked because then we weren't tripping over each other when getting ready in the mornings. Fridge is located under the sink. You have to pay extra for a microwave. Our room was on the 3rd floor and had a nice skylight along the slanted wall instead of a typical window.

The breakfast room is lovely and big. Deluxe continental breakfast includes pre-cooked eggs (not fresh) and yogurt (not sugar-free) for those of you concerned about protein. Plenty of processed carbs, of course, including make-your-own waffles. Bring your own coffee mug - the paper coffee cups are teeny tiny. Skim milk is available. Coffee and tea are available all day in the breakfast room, but the front desk clerk watched us like a hawk everytime we went in to get a cup. Made me feel wierd. Maybe they have a problem with people stealing stuff.

They have an outdoor pool, no indoor pool. The gym is beautiful -- all new equipment and there is a jacuzzi which we did not use. No HBO or Showtime on the tv.

Overall, a very good value.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean. Convenient to walk across parking lot to restaurant
  • Disliked — teeny tiny coffee cups
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

On a recent trip to Bangor we decided to try the Best Western White House Inn. What a great place!

The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. My children loved the fresh waffles.

What a surprise the whirlpool was, it had a rock waterfall flowing into it, I could have set there for hours. I noticed they had an exercise room, it looked nice, but I just wanted to relax.

The room was very clean and comfortable. We will recommend the White House to all.

  • Liked — whirlpool
  • Disliked — all was wonderful
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Best Western White House Inn, Bangor, ME
Newly renovated. Beautiful theme rooms. Close to all central Maine attractions. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

We stayed at the best Western as valentines day gift to one another. We stayed in the Wilderness Lodge, one of several themed suites. It was fun and luxurious.
I have always wanted to go camping , but I like a shower and a shampoo everyday, shave my legs etc. I also would not like wildlife knocking on my tent flap. This wilderness suite is my idea of camping. Yea!
Best Western I will return to try another suite. Thanks for a great evening.
Lynne

  • Liked — The wilderness Suite
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strafford, NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel many times and every time it is always clean and quiet. They have great rates and they also have pet-friendly rooms which we found to be very convenient when traveling with the dog.
We like the location because it is right off of several main routes. The staff, especially the front desk staff, is always pleasant to deal with and they are always accomodating.
We always stay here when visiting family and we would never go anywhere else!
Also, don't forget to visit Disart's for a delicious breakfast! It is so close and always delicious!

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

I called this hotel at the last minute and was given a newly refurbished room with a fire place, a huge bed and a massive bathroom. Not sure if this is representative of all the rooms, but this room was amazing (I think it might have been a suite of some sort, so you might want to inquire) and it was at a very reasonable rate ($80). Incredibly clean and looked very new. Breakfast was nothing special, but the quality of the room more than made up for it.....highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White House Inn

Address: 155 Littlefield Avenue, Bangor, ME 04401-7206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bangor
#6 Family Hotel in Bangor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN White House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial-style 3-story Motor Inn located at I-95 exit 44, 3 miles south of city center & 6 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White House Hotel Bangor
Best Western White Hotel
Best Western Bangor
Bangor Best Western
BEST WESTERN White House Inn Bangor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN White House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.