We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The White House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN White House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN White House Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Littlefield Avenue, Bangor, ME 04401-7206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love The White House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed in one of their newer rooms. Excellent room, great bed, very comfy. Bathroom had plenty of room for two people to do their thing. Breakfast was very good and the price was right (free). Right on I-95. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the free hot breakfast we offer.The executive rooms are wonderful with their fireplaces and comfy beds. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    113
    57
    21
    13
See reviews for
134
143
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We have passed this hotel many times on our way south and wondered if it was a better than the usual I-95 stopovers. We are so happy we tried the White House Hotel. The rooms and bathroom are very clean. The beds have warm and cosy duvets, instead of the usual scuzzy bedspreads. Lots of soft pillows and towels.
The lobby is attractive and the breakfast area is the nicest I have ever seen. There is a full breakfast including sausage and omelets and beans. Coffee and an assortment of tea is available 24 hours.
We chatted to each of the desk clerks and all were very friendly and professional. It is refreshing to meet innkeepers who like what they do and it shows. This hotel could be used as a model for service and professionalism for most other hotels.
I will never stay at any other hotel in Bangor!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. Our entire staff takes great pride in our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us so we can welcome you home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed at the White House Inn for 2 nights. The room we selected had 2 queen beds, large flat screen TV and 2 comfy chairs for reading. Everything was so clean. We enjoyed the in-room coffee before heading down to the continental breakfast! We surely will stay here the next time we are in Bangor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed our property. We have recently done renovations to the first and second floor and we love to hear when our guests enjoy them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

It was a little weird finding the inn. You turn from an intersection onto a giant road without lines and then pull into what appears to be someone's farmhouse. The inn is down the hill behind that. Upon arrival we were greeted by a crotchety old man who made it clear that by checking us in we were wasting his precious time. They messed up our reservation and tried to make us pay for two rooms. The parking lot is a never ending, awkwardly designed, circle of death. The whole hotel smelled of mold and possibly formaldehyde. Our bathroom had mysterious hair in the drain and stuffed behind the bathroom door. They only provided shampoo- no conditioner. We fell asleep to the ambiance of the trucks roaring by on the highway located a stone's throw away. In the morning we ate rock hard bagels. None of their food was fresh and any hot food was reminiscent of public school lunch. When we checked out, the woman at the desk was friendly, but any extra questions seemed to annoy her. The Whitehouse Inn did, however, have a pencil sharpener! A happy surprise.

Room Tip: To find a better room- drive the 10 extra miles into Bangor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are located on a dead end street. and our driveway is one way. If you follow the many signs and arrows, it is quite safe as traffic is one way. I assume that you may have met someone traveling in the wrong direction.

The first and second floor of the hotel has been recently renovated. We did put in new ceilings and a few people have noticed an unfamiliar smell associated with them. The manufacturer has assured us this will dissipate.

I am sorry you did not enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast with its many choices such as hot and cold cereals, fresh make your own waffles, oranges, three juice choices, white and wheat bread, two types of bagels, two types of eggs, sausage, baked beans, yogurt, two milk choices, hot chocolate ,tea, coffee and pastries.

I hope you have a safe and enjoyable holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Fairfield, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Best Western White House.The rooms are clean and neat.We enjoyed the hot Breakfast along with the friendly staff.I would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the highway.Our room was on the end where the interstate was but the traffic r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review of our property. We take pride in our hotel and love to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed on November11, 2011 for a single night.

the problem is that the location is a lot further from the airport than I expected.

The room that I was given was on the third floor. It was nice, but the ceiling had an angle from the roof line. Every time I stood up not thinking about the ceiling, I bumped my head.

The bathroom was so small that it was very difficult to turn around in it. The shower head was high enough that I did not have to bend over to wash my hair.

Room Tip: Be careful of the room assignment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are about 6 miles south of the airport about a 10 minute drive. Our rooms on third floor do have cathedral ceilings with skylights. They are a unique feature of our Inn. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the features of our property such as the hot breakfast, indoor hot tub and exercise room. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My family and I travelled to Bangor for Rememberance Day/Veterans Day weekend for a couple of days of unadulterated retail therapy. We opted to stay at the Best Western due to its high overall rating on Tripadvisor and its competitive prices and amenities with other hotel chains in the vicinity. Check in was so fast and easy. I pulled up to the front doors, strolled over to the desk and handed them my ID/info. In a flash, I had our hotel keys in hand. The hotel was somewhat hard to find... Believe it or not, other reviewers who mentioned the large pile of dirt adjacent to the interstate off ramp helped us know we were in the right place. I love the fact that the road to the hotel was not on the main traffic artery. It meant that only people staying there used the road so other than the background din of the hwy, 4 wheeled noise was minimal. Our room was easy to find, about half way down the hall on the second level. The room was perfect for what we needed: Two queen beds and a bathroom. The beds were soft and sleep inducing. After the long road trip and marathon shops we were powerless to resist. The room was neat, clean & tidy. The bathroom housed a toilet and the tub, the sink was across the room from the bathroom; a unique feature. At first it feels that this will cause pedestrian traffic congestion right by the door, but once the door is closed and all occupants settled there is no problem with its use. Comfy carpets in the halls reduce the sound of footfalls for guests staying in rooms on the first floor. Our room we stayed in has a microwave, two fridges and plenty of storage space for jackets, bags and clothes for our stay. Comfy chairs beckoned beside the table allowing a rare opportunity for those who like to get lost in a book to do just that. The decor was tasteful and added to the rooms ambiance actually making the room feel larger than it was. I awoke every moring to the latest edition of the local paper outside my hotel room door. This is great for guests who want to both get away from the world for awhile but still keep abreast of current affairs. A Breakfast "buffet" was included serving muffins, breads, waffles, eggs, sausages, cereals, yogurts, coffees, teas, milk and juices. The breakfast hours offered were 6am to 10am which meant that if one slept in there was still a chance to eat a delicious meal at your own pace before starting the days activities. The pool was closed due to the time of year but the chill in the air meant it was not missed. The whirlpool/hot tub/spa was a special treat and melted away any aches and pains picked up throughout the day. The family and I had a blast staying here. Thanks to the White House Inn, we are looking forward to our next trip to bangor and our next stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor on the north side of the building at the time of booking. The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate hearing you enjoyed your stay. Your picture is adorable and should be in our brochure. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White House Inn

Address: 155 Littlefield Avenue, Bangor, ME 04401-7206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bangor
#6 Business Hotel in Bangor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN White House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial-style 3-story Motor Inn located at I-95 exit 44, 3 miles south of city center & 6 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White House Hotel Bangor
Best Western White Hotel
Best Western Bangor
Bangor Best Western
BEST WESTERN White House Inn Bangor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN White House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.