We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word: bedbugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bangor Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Bangor Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bangor Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Hogan Rd., Bangor, ME 04401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Bangor
Alma, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One word: bedbugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The room was shabby, the door was insecure, the bed was uncomfortable, no alarm clock, the bathroom fixtures barely worked, it smelled bad, we found food remnants on the floor, the room was very noisy -- but bugs in the bed make it completely unacceptable. I'm not an entomologist or a pest control specialist, but when you go to bed in a seedy motel and all the parts of your body in direct contact with the sheets start itching in little spots just like bug bites, it's hard to think it's anything else. We have travelled extensively for many years, and this is the worst night we have ever spent in a hotel or motel. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Bangor Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
On 10/03/2011 a comprehensive inspection for bed bugs was conducted by a licensed professional. None were found!!

David Knappe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
17
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

While driving from Halifax to Boston we decided to stop over night with no reservation. They had a room which was great. Service was excellent but the beds sure could use an upgrade in to the 2000's. (Mattresses were very old and torn) Very clean room and a great breakfast with plenty to eat and well priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

There are bedbugs there we spent 1 night there woke up bugs in our bed. Called the office athey sent a guy over he was not surpsised a hell of a week-end we went through. Had 2 bring everything home and leave it outside until we got it all in the dryer 4 30 mins and wash all we had.. I am still nervous about going 2 bed after this .If u know any-one tell them not 2 stay there.. I Am not done with this yet thinking about sueing

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excellent location, good breakfast, rude guy at the front desk, who should not be greeting and meeting potential and current guests. That alone put me off from making any positive comments. Still too expensive at $82.00 night.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We got into Bangor at 9pm on a Saturday night. We checked a few hotels (Hampton Inn and Sheraton near the airport. They had no rooms and told us to check the Bangor Motor Inn. They had 3 rooms left and since we were tired, we took a room there. The motel is old and the non-smoking room smelled of stale smoke. One of the pillows on my kids bed was dirty with what looked like makeup and there was hair on that pillow. We checked the beds and they appear clean otherwise. I gave the kids a clean pillow from our bed and slept with a towel over the dirty pillow.
The continental breakfast was included and had some donuts, Eggo's and toast, fruit, juice and coffee. There was free wifi available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Clean, located need decent restaurants and shopping centers, and easy on/off access to the interstate. Good breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madawaska, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We ended up leaving for a four day vacation to southern Maine a day early because of an impending snow storm so we didn't want to spend too much extra money to stay an extra night. The rate was great but like they say "You get what you pay for". The room was very dated and not the cleanest place which really surprised me since my sister and I stayed here a few years back on a shopping trip and this was a decent motel for the money. My daughter didn't even want to take a shower there and she just loves to take showers every day. I don't think I slept more than two hours total because the beds were the hardest beds we have ever "slept" on. We all agreed that we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bangor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangor Motor Inn

Address: 701 Hogan Rd., Bangor, ME 04401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangor Motor Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Bangor Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangor Motor Hotel Bangor
Bangor Motor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangor Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.