We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever you do, get a blueberry pie to go.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dysart's Restaurant

Dysart's Restaurant
530 Cold Brook Rd, 1110 Broadway, Bangor, ME 04401
207-942-4878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 162 Restaurants in Bangor
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Diner, Dessert, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We're a family restaurant specializing in home-style food. Whether for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or dessert, we serve homemade and delicious food in a friendly atmosphere. A must visit for a true Maine experience. Breakfast is served all day, we offer takeout, and we provide a variety of Dysart's made bakery goods to take home.
New England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Whatever you do, get a blueberry pie to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hubby and I stopped here for breakfast while we were passing through Bangor on a road trip. We both ordered pancakes--he got blueberry and I got the seasonal pumpkin--both filled a large plate and we probably could have easily split one order. If you have a chance to try the pumpkin pancakes, DO IT. They are delightful.

My hubby got some home fries and eggs, too, and he wasn't overly impressed with those, but the homemade corn beef hash I got was so good it made up for that. I've had homemade corned beef hash from a few different restaurants and this was one of the better ones I've tried.

After our meal, we grabbed a blueberry pie to go. Holy blueberries, Batman! This pie is larger than your average pie (I believe it is 11" vs. a standard 9") and jam packed with berries. The crust is flaky and really just a perfect pie crust. We'd definitely stop back at this place on any future road trips, if only for the pie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for writing a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our homemade corned beef hash. We are very well known for our hash! We have also been voted best blueberry pie in Maine, so we love hearing visitors let us know that they enjoyed their pie! And yes our whole pies are 11 inches! Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    103
    35
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, Good quanity, VERY Popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This restaurant is located in a Truck Stop outside Bangor Maine. It has a huge parking lot that was absolutely full upon my arrival on a Sunday morning - that's a good sign. We had a party of 9 and did not have to wait to long for a table. The breakfast we had was great - everyone got something they liked. This is a very popular place and I would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for writing a review! We are glad you did not have to wait long for a table. We do our best to seat all parties when we are busy, like Sunday mornings. We hope you visit again whenever you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expensive, average/poor truckstop food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Disappointed. I had an average chicken potpie and my wife had a poor pot roast served cold--both dishes recommended by our waitress. With two kids and one piece of pie, our bill was about $48. The place was relatively crowded on a Tuesday night--many old people. We'll never go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and letting us know about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We would have liked to take care of the situation while you were still here and would have gladly replaced your meal if it was cold. We do appreciate you letting us know, so we can work on any problems we have to make us stronger. We hope this experience does not discourage you from visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great meal..excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's the best...ever.
Don't miss the food/ atmosphere here.
We had Fish Chowder...made the way it's supposed to be made - no thickener - milk base.
It's wonderful.
ALL the food here is so good.
Maine Blueberry Pie has about a thousand blueberries in it! No kidding.
Raspberry Pie - excellent.
Bread/ Cookies/ Pies TO GO...what could be better?
Molasses Cookies - a real treat.
Just plan to stop here -

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for writing a review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! Thanks for writing so many great things about us! We look forward to you visiting whenever you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had breakfast here with my relatives and it was fine - not a huge choice for a non egg eating veggie like me but I still found something that I fancied. Very reasonable prices too

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for writing a review! Do you have any suggestions for non egg veggie items? We would love to hear your thoughts. We just started a gluten free menu and are realizing the interest from our customers with it. We love being able to offer different food for everyone's liking! We hope you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dysart's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dysart's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dysart's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.