We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dysart's Restaurant

Dysart's Restaurant
530 Cold Brook Rd &, 1110 Broadway, Bangor, ME 04401
+1 207-942-4878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 163 Restaurants in Bangor
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Diner, Dessert, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We're a family restaurant specializing in home-style food. Whether for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or dessert, we serve homemade and delicious food in a friendly atmosphere. A must visit for a true Maine experience. Breakfast is served all day, we offer takeout, and we provide a variety of Dysart's made bakery goods to take home.
maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Easy highway access. The service was great and the food was very filling. The baked goods were awesome.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    103
    35
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“White glove service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

On our return from Nova Scotia last week, we made it a point to stop at Dysart's just south of Brewer, Maine because we had heard such good reports about their food, including their wonderful desserts. Yes, this is a truck stop and not the Ritz, but we are very earthy people and don't need white glove service but that's what we got. We had our Siamese lynx point kitty Stella with us and it was a hot, hot day, so leaving her in the car was out of the question. I asked my husband to wait while I went to the hostess to tell her our predicament. She asked me to wait while she spoke to her supervisor. She returned seconds later and said we could leave our Stella (she was in a crate) in a special room while we ate. Wow! Talk about service! We left Stella in the care of a woman who was working in a small office, and while we were eating people stopped by to talk to Stella and comfort her since she had no idea where she was or what had happened to us. Meanwhile, my husband was enjoying a fabulous Reuben sandwich while I was raving about the fish and chips. The portion of my lunch was so large I took half home for next day's lunch. For dessert we shared a bumbleberry cobbler (to die for). Bumbleberry, it turned out, was a combo of blueberries and raspberries on a nice crusty biscuit warmed in the oven and topped with vanilla ice cream. No wonder the place is so popular. Not only were they able to accommodate Stella -- the food so impressed us that we wanted to let everyone else know, too. If you're in the area don't miss Dysart's. And tell them Stella made it home safe and sound, no worse for the wear.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for writing such a thoughtful review! We are so happy that we could accommodate you, your husband and Stella! Many of us are animal people here so we know its tough to bring our animals with us especially knowing there are not many places that are as welcoming to animals. We appreciate you sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!! Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We ate our evening meal here during our trip to Bangor. It was not our first time so we new to expect large, home cooked portions. Both my husband and myself had mini meals of Yankee pot roast with broccoli. I had baked potato, he had mashed. The roast was really tender, falling apart. It could have been hotter, but that was a minor complaint. Broccoli was well cooked. The rolls that came with it were fresh. We have healthy appetites but have found the mini meals to be plenty. Our daughter had chicken wing dings (boneless ) chicken wings, smiley face fries and raw baby carrots. In her words, everything was cooked perfectly and it was nice and hot. The waitresses (we had two...one was in training) were both friendly and efficient. We certainly weren't disappointed with this experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for writing a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit here. We hope you continue to visit anytime you are in the Bangor area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dont Judge a Book by its Cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stopped for the 24hr bathrooms which were touch less, and immaculate. We decided to get breakfast, which was amazing.Went back for dinner the two consecutive nights , all the food is homemade, which is extremely rare to come by. Real food at great prices.If your in the area you need to try this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for writing a review! We hope you continue to stop whenever you are in the area! We always say, "follow the truckers, they know where the good food is." Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food was good and fresh. Portions were very large.
Unfortunately not a lot of vegetarian options.
Service was nice.
Very useful when you arrive in the area late in the night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for writing a review! We are sorry that we do not have many vegetarian options for your liking. Please feel free to contact us with any suggestions for more options or email us your favorite vegetarian meal at info@dysarts.com. We hope you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dysart's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dysart's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dysart's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.