We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Charles Inn to your Saves list
The Charles Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Broad Street, Bangor, ME 04401 (Formerly The Phenix Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dim but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's poorly lit and poorly furnished, but clean and functional enough. Everything about the place is slightly odd, but not terrible. Friendly enough staff. At one point my bed broke, but they came and fixed it within an hour. Breakfast was pathetic. So, mediocre but fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    14
    13
    32
See reviews for
13
42
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Not as it appears online. This is not a quaint, boutique hotel. This is an old, tired inn. The management are genuine but the town seems to be in a funk (depressed). This inn is in desperate need of a remodel, so goes downtown. Dining & pub options in the area are surprisingly good. I'd like to visit Bangor again in better economic times but I'd seek out better lodging options even though this one has the best location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Thought we were staying at a boutique style hotel - a little charm, a comfortable room, and a unique experience. This was not the case. The hotel felt old and run down. The bed was very uncomfortable and the tv was from the early 90's. The building seemed secure and staff were friendly, but be warned, this is in NO way an upscale hotel. Not even on par with a typical econo style hotel. Just too old and tired to be comfortable to MOST guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Dont spend your time and money going there. We couldn't wait to leave this hotel after only a one day stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We booked this hotel on the basis of its website. Don't believe it - it is deceptive.

We agree with many of the other reviews - it is dirty and dingy. Upon arriving in Bangor, we could not drive on the street in front of the hotel (art festival in progress), so we were directed to the back and asked to park near the dumpster (horrors). Then we came in through the back of the hotel (horrors again).

The first impression was the carpets in the halls - stained and dirty. The front desk reception was piled high with papers and books - it seemed a miracle that the manager found our reservation. We asked for a "quiet room" and the response was "well, this is a downtown hotel." Little did we realize the impact of that statement.

Perhaps there are two saving graces for our room - it was large and the towels were quite thick. Other than those, there were no other saving graces. I dropped somethig on the carpeted floor, and when I knelt down to find it, I found remanents of cookies from previously occupants - obviously the room needed vacuuming.

The next morning, we left a note for housekeeping to vacuum the floor thoroughly and to leave extra hand towels. Well, the floor was vacuumed, but hand towels were illusive. Breakfast was nothing to brag about - we brought some of our own items.

But the worst thing of all was the noise. We tried to open our window for ventilation, but the street noise was so loud that we had to close (we were on the second floor near the back), but closing the windows did nothing to dampen he noise. But Saturday night took the cake.

There was a street festival happening during the three nights we stayed. Saturday night's concert (the stage was right outside the front door) ended around 10:00 - so that's OK. But, the bar next door started music (LOUD) at 10:00 and continued until 1:15 a.m. Even with the windows in our room closed, we heard the noise and felt the thumping. We almost called the police.

When we checked out on Sunday and I mentioned the difficulty sleeping we had on Saturday night, I told the manager that I almost called the police. Her response was " I wish you had. They have a permit for the music. I have tried calling the police and they do nothing. We were a hotel before the bar opened." Obviously, she had no sympathy for her guests - her customers.

Please do us a favor - do not stay in this hotel They need to receive a message that the price they charge is outrageous for the condition of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a room at the Charles Inn - the service and conditions are deplorabe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I called to make a reservation and the "receptionist"? just laid the phone on the desk while she talked on the phone, answered someone's question, booked someone in.... Why do I know this? Because I listened to all the activity until I finally hung up the phone (and no, she never came back and said anything after she said hello). So I called back, got the answering machine. And I called back again, got the answering machine. Called back again, got the answering machine - I think you know the drill - for about 15 minutes. Still no answer. I was going to book a reservation. But, not now - if this is an indication of their customer service skills, I don't want to experience actual paying money to be ignored.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This was an awful experience on our summer vacation. We stopped at this hotel for the night on our way to Kennebunkport from Quebec and had a terrible experience. The neighborhood is scary and the room was not nice at all. The bed was very old, the towels were thin and the sink area did not look very clean. We left very early in the morning and will never return to Bangor. I would suggest that people find a different stop on the highway for an overnight.

The woman at the front desk was friendly and welcoming, so that was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Inn

Address: 20 Broad Street, Bangor, ME 04401 (Formerly The Phenix Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Bangor
Charles Hotel Bangor
The Charles Inn Bangor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.