We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in downtown.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 11 Central

11 Central
11 Central St, Bangor, ME 04401 (Formerly 11 Central Street)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 143 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fine dining in downtown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

11 Central is perfect for a relaxing stop after work or for a night on the town beginning with an exquisite dining experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    6
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeBary, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu and Nice Modern Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was my second visit and both times the food was quite good. My first visit was was a couple months ago before tourist season and the place was busy, but bar was a nice place to spend a short time waiting for an open table. The wait for a table during tourist season was about a half hour. My wife enjoyed a ginger cocktail, which I disliked, not being a fan of strong ginger taste, preferring a more subtle approach with ginger. Water is served with drinks, a nice touch.
We have enjoyed two different appetizers. The smoked salmon plate was large enough to share and quite good with with a nice variety of items. The spicy cakes appetizer was good, but not outstanding, the horseradish sauce being a little too bland.
A small caesar salad, which not really small, but perfect in size comes with the entree, but totally lacked any flavor of lemon juice, egg, Worcestershire sauce (from which the slight flavor anchovy come from) or garlic. It tasted mostly of oil, I am not sure if it was olive oil, and parmesan cheese, but the fresh ground black pepper at the table was a nice touch that most restaurants seem to forget.
The N.Y. Strip was perfectly cooked and nicely flavored and my wife enjoyed the Chicken Oscar this visit. This visit I had Scallop Fra Diavolo which was good, but could have had a little more tomato and less oil.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksport, Maine, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place for Date Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food is awesome, the ambiance is elegant and romantic. Service was good...We had a very enthusiastic waitress...Drinks were terrific, the only complaint was, my husband felt his fish had been frozen, so he wasn't wow'ed by his dish...but mine was great!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My Favorite New Place in Bangor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have taken my girlfriend out to dinner here a few times now and each time have been very impressed. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. The bar is awesome and offers a great variety of local beers. It is a great thing to have while you wait for a table. The meals we have had have all been delicious and the price is reasonable for the size of the meals. I will definitely be going back to 11 Central soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrington, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not too shaby...quite good actually!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good food, solid service...menu a bit simple but hey...keep it simple and do it well! Nice work, drinks were tasty!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 11 Central also viewed

 

Been to 11 Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 11 Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.