We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit every year for Father's Day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cole Land Transportation Museum

Cole Land Transportation Museum
405 Perry Road, Bangor, ME 04401
207-990-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 attractions in Bangor
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museum dedicated to preserving and displaying Maine's land transportation equipment.
Stockton Springs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Visit every year for Father's Day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and sons really love this place. We went last year when they had a car show and plane exhibit. Very educational and kid friendly.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John NB
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you love history, and want to see a lot of historic wheeled and tracked vehicles and implements that are unique to Maine's history, then drop in for a very interesting visit. It can be done in as little as an hour. My wife and two teenage kids weren't bored at all, and actually enjoyed it too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprising fun, our guide was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We swung by here for a brief visit but wound up spending a few hours. The exhibits cover aspects of transportation you may not think about often - fire trucks, logging trucks, milk trucks and more. It is a seasonal museum, we were in Maine on our way to Prince Edward Island in August, so you can't visit during the winter. This is a great place to bring children, with some exhibits that are "hands on", but also with some that they can particularly relate to, like snow sled designs over the years. There is also some very interesting military exhibits included. Our guide was great and we even got to chat with Galen Cole for a good bit - a great guy.

While in the neighborhood, recommend that you dine at Dysart's Restaurant or Angler's Restaurant (both less than three miles away) - both are excellent

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Several forms of transportation under one roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This museum is worth getting off the highway to visit. I don't know what staff is paid verses volunteers, but there is no doubt that the people running the museum care about it and want you to have a good experience while learning about their exhibits and local history. They have a smattering of all kinds of transportation, including trucks, cars, bicycles, trains and an impressive snowplow exhibit. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. Having driven past it for years (and seeing the helicopter and tank outside), I was glad we were able to stop and visit. It is easy to find and is only a couple minutes off the highway (the road that connects Bangor with I-95).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

You can meander by yourself or ask a volunteer to take you around. The staff is very friendly and very informative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cole Land Transportation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cole Land Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cole Land Transportation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cole Land Transportation Museum to your Saves list