We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah-mazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moe's Original BBQ

Moe's Original BBQ
650 Broadway, Bangor, ME 04401
207-992-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 162 Restaurants in Bangor
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Moe's Original Bar B Que serves up an award-winning, all things Southern, Alabama BBQ experience. The award-winning Alabama-style BBQ offerings include Pulled Pork, Ribs, Wings, Chicken and Turkey in addition to Catfish, and a Shrimp Moe-Boy sandwich. Plus, an array of traditional down home Southern sides and tasty desserts are prepared fresh daily.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ah-mazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Simply the best BBQ anywhere around. Traditional and delicious at it's best in combination with phenomenal service!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, service and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Really enjoyed the pulled pork, cornbread, beans and squash casserole (all for $10)The cornbread was the best I've had in a long time. Wife also had the pulled pork and loved it. Don't let the old KFC building fool you. It is nice and clean inside with a good atmosphere. This was our first time here but it won't be our last. Thanks Moe's BBQ

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a great surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great bbq in a clean family style atmosphere. Its counter service but dont let that fool or deter you. Had ribs- rubbed and smoked. Sauce it kept warm on the side. They were very very good. Speaking of side-mac and cheese was from scratch no velveeta no thick sticky sauce. Instead it was homemade cheese goodness. Collard greens soft but not mushy bright green fresh and slightly peppery. Corn bread js savory with onions and peppers. Moist served grilled and it was awesome. Not greasy. Clearly cooked on a nice clean grill. Loved this place. We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You Must Stop Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I heard about this place through a friend. It's a short drive from our airport hotel so we decided to try it out.

We both came away saying that this place is outstanding for BBQ.

I'm a wing lover so I had to try them, these are the best wings I've ever had. I couldn't believe how outstanding these wings were...because it's Maine and let's be honest this place isn't known for wings!

People, manage your expectations before walking into this place. If you're looking for authentic southern/NC BBQ this isn't it....but if you're looking for a BBQ fix that will blow you away....this is the spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good no frills BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Good quality BBQ food in a no frills setting. We had the ribs for 2 with two sides, which were all very tasty and reasonably priced. If you are looking for tablecloths and fine dining this won't be the place for you - if you are looking great tastes and an authentic American experience give this place a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moe's Original BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Moe's Original BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moe's Original BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.