We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor to your Saves list
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   570 Main Street, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Professional and friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Second night of our road trip of New England and not sure why we decided to stay in Bangor.
We had booked (in January) a room with a fireplace, but we arrived on a warm day in May and wondered why we had done this - woke up next day to a cool, wet day and welcomed the warmth from the fire.
Bedding a little thin, not thick cotton of the previous night's stay.
Breakfast was buffet to take up to room.
Staff at check in and check out were friendly and professional - acknowledging us when on the 'phone (unlike some places!).
We did get our Whoopie Pies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us last May. You learned that a fireplace can be nice even in May--now you know all you need to about Maine weather. Unlike the weather, getting a whoopie pie at check in is something you can rely on. I hope you return to Bangor some day and visit us again. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    24
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
28
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so it's an older hotel but that's all that is wrong with this place. Period. You won't find a more comfortable bed, I promise. The furnishings are updated, the bathroom is very clean. The common areas are definitely older, the restaurant was not good for takeout. Maybe eating in would have better luck. Also, if you travel with your dogs like we do, they are more than welcome.

I would stay here again without a moments hesitation and the value is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

We really appreciate your review and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank-you for staying with us, we have been working to update the facility and we hope you come to see us again next time you visit the area!

Thank-you,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
525 helpful votes 525 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Writing this as we are getting ready to check out. First time here it is ok nothing fancy a older property, room is reasonably clean, average size room, no screen on the sliding door,40 inch flat screen TV,internet worked good, kurig coffee maker in room,The rooms are Quiet but some train noise. It is next door to the casino so some riff raff hanging around so make sure you lock up everything in your car.The little bar/restaurant on site seems very busy but we didn't go down to it.Very pet friendly which is great.The only issue is at night limited parking with hotel guests,bar patrons and people using the parking lot to walk over to the casino. We would stay again if in Bangor

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

We really appreciate your review and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been making some changes in and around the facility and believe you will find it is more secure and updated. Thank-you for staying with us and we hope you come to see us again next time you visit the area!

Thank-you,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had such a great time back in October of 2012 my wife and I couldn't wait to get back for March 13 and 14 of this year. When we arrived on the 13th, through a small mixup (our fault), we were informed by day manager John that the room we requested was already reserved for someone else but that the staff of the property would do everything in their power to ensure we received the room we wanted as early as possible the next day. And with the help of John, staff member Pat and others, we were in our new room before mid morning. We of course after enjoying the benefits of the fireplace, massage recliner and king-sized bed had to stay another night. Though the parking lot appeared full at the time we were able to secure the room for the 15th.

When it was time to leave on the 16th, we packed up and left some small bags of of tied up trash behind but what we didn't know, there was a bag of gifts we were going to give our kids among the garbage and very similar in appearance from the outside of the bag to the others. We returned to Fredericton before noticing the misstep and phoned the Inn hoping that not all the bags left behind were disposed of. One wasn't and thanks to Pat it is now awaiting my parents' arrival to pick it up on their way back home from the south.

Bruce and Ann will always be grateful and can't wait to visit again in October for our anniversary.

Thanks again Fireside.

Room Tip: Room 217 if you don't smoke and 231 if you do
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your review, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be seeing you again next time you are in the area!

Thank-you,

Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

this definitely was the best nights sleep i have ever had in a motel the bed was so comfortable my husband and i never budged in the bed. i would reccomend all of my frids to stay there! and it was right next to hollywood slots which we loved and the irish pub was nice too! i would love to have the bed i slept in! the service was good the irish pub was really good!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We greatly appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are working hard to update the facility and hope you visit us again next time you are in the area!

Thank-you,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to visit our son last week and stayed at the FIreside Inn. We had a great stay as always. This time we had a big screen TV. The mattress was Temperpedic. So close to the casino and to our favorite restaurant. Can't wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are working hard to update the facility and hope you visit us again next time you are in the area!

Thank-you,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we stayed here on new years eve this year so we would be close to the casino, where we wanted to go for their party. The location is extremely convenient we were able to walk to the casino, so no one had to drive. Also when we came back and were ready for bed, it was quiet. The walls are thick enough so you arent hearing everyone else in the building. The staff at the front dest was friendly as well. Now with that all said. I was surprised when we walked in the room just how small the bathroom area was. I havent been in a hotel room with a bathroom that small ever, and Ive been in some pretty small rooms. Also when I went to take a shower the curtain would not stay put. I spent most of my time in the shower fighting to keep the curtain off me. There was also hair in the shower, on the light switch and on the trim around the bathroom door. We brought beverages to have & when I went to put them in the fridge, it was literally full of food....OLD food. That was disgusting. I cleaned that out myself. I think they need to educate the housekeeping staff on what and how to clean. Our bed was ok, Ive slept on worse, but it was not a tempurpedic, and I know not all of them are, but I was part of a group of 4 couples and we were the only ones who did not get a tempurpedic. we also did not get a fireplace, but were charged the same as our friends who did get the tempurpedic and fireplace. My last observance, and this is a small one....we didnt get our whoopie pies....and they had a whole basket of them sitting behind them which they gave to the people ahead of us and after us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear TrishN67,

Thank-you for staying with us, I am sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your stay. After looking into the issues mentioned in your review we found that the quality problems were coming from one individual employee. That person no longer works here and our current housekeeping staff ALL shares the same high standards of quality cleanliness. I apologize for your experience with us. I hope that you will give us a second chance so that we may ensure your satisfaction and prove that our standards are to go above and beyond for all guest. Thank-you for your review and again I hope you allow us to make up for your previous experience.


-Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Address: 570 Main Street, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Bangor
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.