We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor to your Saves list
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   570 Main Street, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Houlton, Maine
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Rooms are a bit dated but clean and neat. The TempurPedic Beds are GREAT!!! Great Restaurant and Pub. Best wings in Bangor. The location is perfect, next door to Hollywood Slots and the Bangor Fair grounds across the street

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your response! Yes, we a little bit older but improving the product all the time with things like Tempur-Pedic beds and bigger flat panel tv's. Geaghan's Pub does have great wings and they just started construction on their own brewery. Micro-brews by the end of the year!!! Hope to see you again soon! Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    24
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
29
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed at Fireside Inn for a few nights at the end of April (2011); perfect location for us as we went to the riverfront concert (Avalanche Tour) on the Saturday night. Concert grounds were just a 5-10 minute walk from Fireside Inn.
The hotel itself is adequate; not flashy or fancy looking like the casino across the street seems to be. But the room rate was quite reasonable, and it's a fairly clean spot. Yes the bathrooms could use some modernizing, and even a small flat-screen TV would be nice, but who needs that at a brief stay -- at least there was a mini-fridge to throw a few pre-concert beer into, and there's an irish-american pub downstairs which we unfortunately never got the time to check out.
Might rate shop next time we're in Bangor, but it was nice to be able to walk to and from the concert rather than pay big bucks for cab fares.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We love being in the heart of the Bangor entertainment district with the Waterfront Concerts. Hollywood Slots, the Auditorium and the Harness Race Track all within walking distance. Thanks for enjoying our City and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Perfectly located in Bangor, right across the street from the Bangor Auditorium and Hollywood Slots Casino. My room had a king bed and fireplace. I had to spend one day in the room due to in climate weather and it was very relaxing. With Geaghans & Restaurant & Pub on property (excellent by the way), I didn't even need to go anywhere!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
It is great to hear from our guests! Thank you for your very kind words. Hope to meet you on your next visit to Bangor. Check out our Waterfront Concert series this summer. We are within walking distance to the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We had a great stay here. Easy access to main access routes, quick check in, quiet and clean room. What more could you ask for? We were staying one night to shop and visit family elsewhere the next day. Do yourself a favor and have a beer in Geaghan's pub (connects to the lobby). Great pub food, good price and great beer. They even have their own red ale which was very good. We would stay here again, without question.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thanks for your review. We are improving our hotel everyday. The foundation has been poured for the brewery so we can brew our own special beers. Geaghans Irish Pub is defiantely an asset. Hope to see you soon. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I had a very nice stay everyone was very pleasant very clean property

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you and we hope to see you soon. Our Temper-pedic beds are very popular. We highly recommend them. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Didn't expect much but turned out to be awesome stay. The rooms are outdated but mattresses are Tempur-Pedic so sleeping was a dream for our bad backs. Great Blueberry pancakes, Steak & Eggs, Yankee pot roast too! Walking distance to downtown. Maids aren't poundingi on door either.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We were in the area for an event and friends made the reservation for us. There was a very strong dog odor plus dog hair in the first room, particularly on the bed, so we requested another room. The second room also smelled of dog, but there was no hair on the bed, although we did find dog hair in the bathroom. We were also bothered by a barking, whining dog, but no one answered the door to that room, which means it had been left unattended. Another guest at the event had to go to another hotel because her child was having a severe reaction to all the pet dander. But what bothered me most was that guests are encouraged to walk their dogs near a river, no one picks up after their pets, and when it rains, the dog waste is washed into the water. So, in addition to having no concern for non-dog-owning guests, this hotel also has no concern whatsoever for the environment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
We are pet friendly and that doesn't work for everyone. I apologize for the dog hair. We now have rooms that are no smoke and no pet. They are great for those guests with alergies. Hope you give us another opportunity in the near future. Tom Palmer Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Address: 570 Main Street, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Bangor
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.