We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan Statue

Paul Bunyan Statue
519 Main St., Bangor, ME, Bangor, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Bangor
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mighty 31-foot statue of the "great tree-biter" towers over the landscape in Bangor's Bass Park.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Put this on our to-do list while in Bangor. The statue is accross the street from the Casino, so it is easy to find. Take a picture or two, and crossed it off our list. LOL

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    27
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mainerovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This Paul Bunyan Statue is a fun spot to take in while in Bangor-he looks like the real deal, and he is well maintained. We have seen a few other Paul Bunyan statues, and am proud to say that he has the best look in Bangor.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointment and poor signage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My daughter has a book with 101 things to do before you are 12, and visiting the Paul Bunyan statue was, inexplicably, on the list. We were flying out of Bangor and had extra time, so we went to look for it. It was not easy to find - Maine as a state has done a beautiful job of limiting billboards, but in their zeal to restrict signage, they seem to have made the decision that if you don't have a GPS, and you don't live there, you really shouldn't be there. But I digress.

The AAA guidebook didn't point out that it was across from the casino, or else it would have been easier to find. Instead, we were focused on the casino and missed it the first time. When we finally realized it wasn't in the downtown area of Main Street, we circled back and found it, taking a picture from the Circle K next to it. So if you like statues in constriction zones that aren't marked, are across from casinos and next to Circle K's, this landmark is for you! Although if that's truly what you like, you should probably seek professional help.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Drove by ole Paul twice today. Construction prevents an opportunity to see him in his glory. Not sure when the fencing will be removed but the statue is tall enough to see him from the car.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Under construction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Some construction in the area so a bit hard to see but it will probably be nicer when they are done!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan Statue also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.