We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find but Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Bangor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Bangor to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Bangor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 Sylvan Road, Bangor, ME 04401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
Bloomington IL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Hard to Find but Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was the first reconditioned Courtyard experience for me and the new format really works here. The lobby and rooms were colorful and cheery and everything works the way that it should. I especailly appreciated the helpful, friendly front desk staff that helped me get tickets to a local Pat Benetar / Journey concert and extended my stay despite being in a sold out condition. When we arrived the Journey bus was sitting out front. It could be because this was the best hotel in town or because the hotel is verrrrrry discrete. Not only would they not tell us who was staying there, the hotel is a little difficult to find which allowed the bus to "hide" there. Across I-95 is the Bangor Mall and a plethora of businesses. It appears that the Courtyard was built for the businesses on the other side of the interstate, none of which was successful. The Courtyard and sign are a bit off the interstate, so we almost missed it on our first pass by. So keep in mind that this is close to but set apart from the high traffic area of Bangor ... not a disadvantage once you find it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. And thank you for mentioning that we exhibit the new Courtyard lobby and guestroom design features. We are fortunate to have been built from the ground up with the new design 4 years ago, making us the 5th "new stay" Courtyard in the country. I'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy one of the concerts on the Bangor Waterfront while you were with us. We hope to be your hotel of choice when you're in the area again.

Take Care,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    80
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
85
86
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend. The hotel is quite nice, in a fairly horrible location right next to car yards and old industrial buildings but it is new and close to the Bangor Mall.

The first night we stayed here we were put in room 314, right behind the ice machine. The ice machine went off all night long and we were woken every 20 minutes by ice crashing through the stainless steel machine. The ice room shared a wall with our bathroom and the noise wasn't pleasant. The second night we asked to be moved and were put in a quiet room.

The hotel is nicely decorated, clean and modern. My only recommendation is if you are put in a room with the ice room sharing your wall - ask to be moved straight away. You will not be able to sleep if you risk it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott. It's disappointing to hear that you were disturbed on the first night of your stay. However I'm very happy that our staff assisted you in changing rooms. Our entire staff is at your service 24 hours a day. I sincerely wish that we had known about your concerns on the first evening of your visit. I'm certain that we would have made you more comfortable. Thank you for bringing the noise from the ice machine to my attention. I will follow up with our Maintenance Department to ensure the machine is functioning properly. Please consider staying at our property the next time you're in Bangor.

Sincerely,
Doreen Salls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here with my sister for one night en route from Canada to a shopping trip in Boston. Beautiful, new hotel with extremely friendly staff and beautiful rooms and facilities. The breakfast place is great, affordable. Off the main drag so very quiet, but still minutes to shopping and restaurants. I've stayed at many other hotels in Bangor and this is by far the nicest place. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments about our friendly staff & beautiful facilities. We really enjoy hearing from our Canadian guests. I'm happy you decided to stay with us, and I hope you enjoyed your trip to Boston. Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harwich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night and found everything to be delightful. Check in was very easy, even at 5:00 p.m. and the room was clean and comfortable. We had a free night via Marriott so I don't know what our room would of cost us. Definitely will stay again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room looked toward the highway but the hotel is far enough back so you don't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Bangor Courtyard on TripAdvisor. Your description of your delightful visit made me smile. Our entire staff is devoted to providing our guests with top notch accommodations. Thank you for staying at our property, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oronoco, Minnesota
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed one night. There is no shuttle from the airport & it is a $15.00 cab ride from the airport to the hotel (not a problem if you have a car.) All staff we encountered were very proessional. The room was clean. Breakfast is a separate charge.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott. I hope you were able to take advantage of our Park & Fly package on your visit. I'm happy that you shared your thoughts on TripAdvisor; we really enjoy hearing from our guests. Please plan to stay with us again when traveling to Bangor.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Lovely modern hotel. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly and the bistro serves a great choice of food to cover all meal times. We stayed here on the way to North Conway from Canada and it was a really comfortable break. We had hoped to stay there on the way back but sadly they were fully booked. A little on the expensive side but worth the extra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott, and thank you for mentioning that we are a great halfway stopping point between Canada and your final destination. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the Courtyard Bistro which is open daily for breakfast, dinner, cocktails and proudly serves Starbucks coffee. We hope to be your choice of lodging the next time you’re passing through Bangor.

Sincerely,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

“The Kindness of Strangers”

Last Saturday, September 1, 2012, my wife and I had made the grievous mistake of not booking ahead for a room in Bangor, Maine. We arrived, after a long, 8.5 hour drive from Montreal, at 9:15 pm, to discover no available rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott, (or anywhere else in Bangor !) due to the week-end music festival. Alicia, and I hope that I remember her name correctly, on the front desk at the Courtyard by Marriott, acted like a Tourism Agent to check availability at surrounding towns, while expertly handling all her other responsabilities, such as registering newly arrived hotel guests and candy sales. By 10 pm, after extensive internet searches and telephone calls, not a hotel room could be found in the state of Maine! Too tired to drive three hours to New Hampshire, I requested the name of a local campground, planning to sleep in our car. Alicia phoned the Waltons Campground, Eddington, to check availability, and provided us with a Google map to get there, in the dark. When we arrived at the Waltons Campground, at 10:30 pm, tired and discouraged, Lisa and her brother-in-law, provided us with a cabin, clean mattress, sheets and pillows. By 11:30, we sat in front of a little bonfire, beside our little cabin, amazed at our good luck, thanks to the kindness of strangers. We were saved from a miserable night thanks to Alicia at The Courtyard by Marriott who explored many possibilities and oriented us to the campground, and thanks to Lisa and her brother-in-law, who took pity on woefully unprepared campers. Thank you ! Thank you ! Thank you !

David DK Millar,
Longueuil, Quebec

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for commenting on TripAdvisor about the exceptional service you received from our front desk associate, Alicia. I received your personal letter as well and was excited for the opportunity to share it with her and her fellow associates here at the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott. Alicia was very concerned that you would have to sleep in your car and was pleased to hear that the campground provided a place to lay your head for the evening. Thank you for the accolades for Alicia and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

At your service,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Bangor

Address: 236 Sylvan Road, Bangor, ME 04401
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#5 Family Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Bangor 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true Maine hospitality at the new Courtyard by Marriott. As one of the premier hotels in Bangor, Maine, the new Courtyard by Marriott design offers the latest technology, amenities and décor that exceed the expectations of today's business and leisure traveler. Yes, you can get there from here! With quick access from our Bangor, Maine hotel’s location near I95, travelers are just minutes from the Bangor International Airport and area corporations, including the University of Maine Orono (Go Black Bears!), Eastern Maine Healthcare, Husson College, Cianbro and General Electric. Maine's famous lakes, mountains and coastline are just a short, scenic drive away from our hotel. Additionally, as one of the most accommodating hotels near Bangor, ME, our friendly, knowledgeable staff can direct you to top attractions and local favorites like Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, The Maine Highland region and Baxter State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Bangor Hotel Bangor
Courtyard By Marriott Bangor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.