We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative menu. Superbly cooked meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistles Restaurant

Thistles Restaurant
175 Exchange St, Ste 26, Bangor, ME 04401-6537
207-945-5480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 162 Restaurants in Bangor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Imaginative menu. Superbly cooked meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

On the last night of our 10 day vacation to the Canadian Maritime provinces, we arrived in Bangor and wanted a memorable final meal of the trip. Thistle's more than filled the bill. The menu had something for everyone -- from excellently prepared duck to fabulous salmon. The sleek, modern interior was tempered by subtle lighting, the wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable, and the wine list contained excellent choices in a range of prices. I highly recommend Thistle's for people who enjoyed good food and wine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner at Thistles in Bangor Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had dinner at Thistles very recently and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Our server Heidi was superb and expertly looked after us all evening. My husband and I absolutely had a most relaxing and delicious meal. I had gazpacho for a starter, then we split the empanadas. I had one of the house specialties, Cashew Chicken with apricot sauce. And we split the Spanish Flan for dessert. The food is international with an Argentinian bent - it was hard to decide from all the wonderful choices. I actually could have just had just a couple of appetizers they all looked so good. The meal was accompanied by a gentleman (who I believe is a family member?) playing a huge repertoire on the guitar- unobtrusive and atmospheric at the same tine. We travel a lot and have eaten at some fabulous restaurants all over the world; we would definitely go back to Thistles in Bangor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Adults looking for an evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Went to Thistles with another couple while vacationing in nearby Ellsworth after purchasing a Groupon. We were looking for a nice night out in town minus their toddler and Thistles was a great choice. Pleasant atmosphere, friendly & attentive service from Holly, plus a sophisticated menu of fusion delights. The French onion soup was very good, as was the seafood pesto pasta (the smaller portion was perfectly sized for a light meal after soup & appetizer). The queso appetizer with guava sauce was a bit disappointing given its preparation was similar to mozzarella cheese triangles but tasty just the same. Bar is well stocked and menu features a good selection of Argentinian wines. My party also enjoyed the New England clam chowder but it wasn't terribly unique vs. What we could normally get in RI. My husband's dish featured shrimp, chorizo and green plantains and was a real winner in terms of flavor. We would definitely visit again if looking for a nice adult night out in the area. Car pooling is recommended as the parking seems fairly limited.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Bangor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

You are guaranteed to have a great meal! The owners are excellent and always friendly. Wine selection is great and staff is knowledgable about pairing the wine with meal. Always a first choice in Bangor!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite meal in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have consistently received excellent food and service at Thistles. Whenever we want a sit-down meal, Thistles is our first choice. I wouldn't consider this a family restaurant, although the prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food. Their take-out quality rivals eating in the restaurant, and it reheats well. They also take added precautions with shellfish allergies, which can be difficult to find and relevant in this state. They offer the best food in Bangor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thistles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.