We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food To die For” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistles Restaurant

Thistles Restaurant
175 Exchange St, Ste 26, Bangor, ME 04401-6537
207-945-5480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 158 restaurants in Bangor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food To die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

On Sat. the three of us went to dinner at the THISTLE in Bangor. What a terrific meal. We had a bottle of Pinot wine,a veal dish and appetizers and all were delicious and cooked perfectly. The ambiance and music were also perfect for an evening meal. This place deserves 5 stars
Jay and Jack Rosenburg Quincy,MA

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    60
    25
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A real find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Went for lunch per tripadvisor reviews and were pleasantly surprised.
With so few good places in Bangor, we will return.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This restaurant is well polished through the entire experience. The servers are very professional and prompt. The food is diverse and upscale. The dining room is very open so you may not feel like there is a lot of privacy. The paella is excellent and has even been enjoyed by Senator John McCain. The risotto mushroom cap was also a unique appetizer.the highlight was when the chef came out to talk with us. In our brief chat we learned that he had once been a tenor singer and with a little encouragement he shared his beautiful voice and a few bars of Spanish opera with us. It was a fantastic experience.

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Exceptional Sercive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I went to Thistle's to celebrate a friend's birthday and had never been before. It was a Friday night, so there was a small jazz-like band playing. We loved the band, and thought that it brought alot of life to the restaurant. I had the crab cakes for an appetizer -delicious- and the Bavette Steak for my entree. The steak was so tender and delicious, more than I expected from a flank steak. We all had creme brulee for dessert, and it was the best creme brulee I've had in years!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Okay for business dinner with no surprises. The food is plain and predictable, the service is okay. For the same money you can do better.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thistles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.