We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a weekend getaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway to your Saves list
Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401 (Formerly Hollywood Slots Hotel and Raceway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Bangor
new brunswick
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great spot for a weekend getaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I spent a Saturday night here and had a wonderful time. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and the buffett was amazing. She did some shopping at the many great stores in Bangor while I had some fun in the casino. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    63
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
29
132
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rincon,PR
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. The entire staff are very friendly, always saying good morning, hello, how is everything? Check in fast and simple, stayed on the fifth(5th.) floor, queen size bed, mini fridge, flat scream tv, work/desk table, wired & wireless Internet in room and entire hotel. Nice size bathroom, bed very comfortable. There is a snack bar by the casino, where you may purchase hamburgers, hot dogs, salads. Then there is the Buffett, $17.95 Great prime rib, drinks are extra, $5.00 for a beer-not bad for hotel prices. The Casino, has a lot of slots, a few card tables, fun for a couple of hours. Walking outside to your left, a few resturants, nice size grocery store. Hotel shuttle to/from airport. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We wanted a Sept. getaway, so we booked 3 nights at the hollywoods casino hotel and drove there. The room was well equipped, and the beds were comfortable, but one of our beds was not clean. It was a long walk / maze to the casino. Staff were friendly. We would have liked to see a stay n play package, but none were available. Shopping centers are a bit of a drive from the casino too, but small stores, are nearby. I rated this poor, because i find it was just a bit below average. So really its poor +, or average -. If we found a great room deal, we may stay there again, but we wont go out of our way to do so.

Room Tip: Make sure the beds have been changed when entering the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've stayed at Hollywood slots on several occasions, great place to stay. Staff at hotel, dining and casino are all professional, friendly and helpful. Reservations, check in and check out all quick. Rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. Good price for corporate, and fun to play a bit of slots!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Me
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I decided to stay at this hotel thinking it would be a lot like Monhegan Sun. The customer service was very good and the rooms are new and clean. However, terrible signs for navigating the garage to the hotel, no Valet, no Bell hop, no concierge and no room service. I understand the draw is the casino, but not everyone is in town to gamble and for the price in Bangor Maine on a Saturday night, they really need to turn it up a notch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Casino hotel on our Eastern trip. We were very pleased with the comfort and appointments of the room. The attached parking garage has plenty of free spots. The staff were helpful and we got checked in and out easily. We had a nice corner room with rivew views out both windows. It is tremendous to have a non-smoking hotel AND casino. We went in to the casino since we could breath and that is different than Indiana casinos. The room decor seemed very new and probably is. It has a nice HD TV and many choices. There is food available on the edge of the casino and it is OK. I would return.

Room Tip: The corner room has great views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway

Address: 500 Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401 (Formerly Hollywood Slots Hotel and Raceway)
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#7 Family Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel offering seven stories of luxury and entertainment, perfect for business and leisure travel. 148 oversized rooms with king or two queen beds and 4 luxurious two room suites. All rooms include a complimentary full breakfast buffet and free parking in our parking garage. Amenities include 42” LCD flat screens, in-room movies, room service, fitness facility, and business center, buffet restaurant, lounge with live entertainment, and Maine’s only gaming facility featuring 1000 slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Slots Bangor
Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway Bangor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.