We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, but bare bones hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401 (Formerly Hollywood Slots Hotel and Raceway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Bangor
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“comfortable, but bare bones hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Just returned from three nights at the Hollywood Slots Hotel in Bangor Maine. While the spacious and clean rooms are well appointed with comfortable linens, relaxing colors and quality furniture with a river view, the hotel offers nothing to its patrons. Unless you gamble at great deal at the casino and amass a huge number of points on your casino membership card, you will get only what you see and nothing more. No amenities.... no room service, limited desk clerks who have no answers to your questions, no one to great you as you enter. Don't get me wrong, the staff were delightful and understanding of my issues (no bonus coupons for patrons, no discounts on breakfast buffets, no motivational coupons to attend the casino), room attendants were very friendly and accomodating when asking for extra towels, shampoo etc....

The hotel is not well designed, but functional. I suppose that is the key.... For the $159.00 + tax and room fees it was not as good value as I had hoped. I have stayed in equally or better appointed hotels for better deals and with many benefits of appreciation at being a guest.

My conversations with desk staff regarding the lack of amenities and promotional items were overheard by several people who were return customers. They were in agreement with me and told me the reason they satyed at Hollywood Slots was for convenience and often because it is the last hotel available for booking on long weekends and holidays and of course for the ease and availability of the slots.

Having benn somewhat negative with my above comments, the breakfast and dinner buffets were quite nice with a great variety of foods. The breakfast was well priced at $8.99 while the dinner buffet was a bit on the high side at $17.99. I suppose the argument for paying that price is that one has a large selection in a comfortable and clean environment.... Again, being a guest in the hotel should have its privileges and even a slight discount would have been appreciated. I would have spent a considerable amount more money at the hotel should I have had incentive to do so.

Stay if you like, but don't expect any pampering of any kind. It's as bare bones as you can get.

Room Tip: ask for a river view which faces east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    55
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
109
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dieppe, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We are a young couple from NB canada that have started travelling to Bangor for shopping reasons. Our last trip was this November and we were really impressed with this hotel. It's of newer quality, staff were very friendly/helpful, the room was clean and of modern style, etc. We were happy to have had access to computers/internet in a buisness room as we were unable to bring our own laptop that weekend. We also really enjoyed spending a bit of time on the main floor gaming area, which consits of many slots, a bar that served great drinks and there was even a band singing saturday night. They also have a nice little gift shop that I couldn't leave without purchasing something.
My only complaint was the air in the room being very dry, but that might have been preventable as we did not bother asking for assistance or check temparature regulator. All in all, we highly recommend this place to stay, you pay a little more then the average hotel, but worth it if you just want to have peace and quiet in your room and a bit of fun downstairs! Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We began staying at this hotel a couple of years ago when we had trouble finding a hotel for one of our frequent trips to Bangor. We had a choice of this hotel or the Airport hotel and opted for this one since we were curious about it. What a pleasant surprise it was when we arrived! The lobby and, front desk area is bright and inviting with comfortable chairs and sofas. The hallway to the casino area is filled with pictures of film stars from the past like Clark Gable and Lana Turner.. Carpets are clean and there are even chairs and sofas along this hallway. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated with either queen-sized beds or a King sized bed. We have often had adjoining rooms-- one with two queens and the adjoining room with a king. The beds are super comfortable and have duvets. The carpets, bedding and pictures on the wall all complement each other. There is a coffee maker, ironm ironing board and even a chaise lounge in the room! It is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at anywhere and definitely the best in Bangor! I highly recommend it. The hotel has a huge buffet breakfast, lunch and supper at a reasonable price. There is also a snack bar which offers salads and sandwiches, ice cream all at a reasonable cost. And of course there is the Casino for entertainment. Sometimes we get offers for free rooms or low rates for future stays depending on how much time is spent at the Casino.There is a gym, a computer room and a laundry room. Wonderful place to stay! This is our first choice for a hotel in Bangor...and we just stayed there October 11 & 12, 2011 and are going back in November!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siren, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I visited the Hollywood Slots hotel for 3 nights. We purchased several packages that were offered on line. Thier front desk manager, Johnna was outstanding!!! Johnna made sure we had everything that we needed, we purchased the golf package and the sweetheart package. Service the way it should be. When we left she even sent us on another adventure to see the high bridge that we would not have seen on our own. She went out of her way to make us feel like we were her only customer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Saw the reviews here and booked. What a great find. Friendly staff - the associate that handled our reservation even helped with dining options outside the hote When we arrived there was an envelope with printed directions to the restaurants. We stopped there on our way to PEI, Canada and were so impressed we booked it on our return trip. Rooms are good size, clean with very nice amenities and free wireless internet. The lobby and hallway that takes you to the casino are beautifully decorated with comfortable seating and fantastic photos and posters from the golden age of movies. The Take2 snack bar was opened late and had some nice selections. As others have said, it would benefit to have at least one sit down dining option. The buffet was fine for breakfast. I wont say positively but after the fact I realized that I did not see anyone smoking in the casino - smoke bothers me and I would have noticed so I am thinking it is a totally non-smoking hotel and casino. Overall - a great find!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Although we enjoyed our room, we thought the casino was a joke. If your used to Vegas style casino gambling you'll be very disappointed. No table games - only slots. Stuffy vibe in casino w/ lots of rules re: alcoholic beverages. I wouldn't plan on eating there either unless you like hot dogs. We left for dinner. Won't be back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I have stayed at many hotels in Bangor and in my opinion this is my favorite.

Things to know

1) same street as the Waterfront Pavilion where all the major concerts are in Bangor.
2) Hotel has a casino in it but its only slots and horse race betting(as the name of hotel suggests)and if you go to the casino make sure you bring your ID as the card everyone..yes Grand-Ma you too.
3)The Epic Buffet is great...breakfast served until @ 11:00....the selection is not as good as the the afternoon buffet,if you only have time for one go the afternoon one you will not be disappointed.Breakfast one is @ 10.00$ pp.....Afternoon one is @ 15.00$ pp but if you sign up for the players card(free) the buffet is half price the first time.
Well worth it as i think i gained 10 pounds in the few days i was there.
4) a parking garage is attached to the hotel which makes it very convenient on the rainy days and you feel safe about your car....plus parking is free.
5) If your a Tim Horton fan there is one right next to the hotel
6) The Hotel rooms are nice plus the staff seems to bend over backwards for you.
7) Price range is 130-150 for King or two Queens...use the AAA rate to get a better discount.
8) High speed internet is free

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway

Also Known As:
Hollywood Slots Bangor
Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway Bangor, Maine
Address: 500 Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401 (Formerly Hollywood Slots Hotel and Raceway)
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bangor
#7 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel offering seven stories of luxury and entertainment, perfect for business and leisure travel. 148 oversized rooms with king or two queen beds and 4 luxurious two room suites. All rooms include a complimentary full breakfast buffet and free parking in our parking garage. Amenities include 42” LCD flat screens, in-room movies, room service, fitness facility, and business center, buffet restaurant, lounge with live entertainment, and Maine’s only gaming facility featuring 1000 slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hollywood Casino Hotel & Raceway to your Saves list