We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Massimo's Cucina Italiana

Massimo's Cucina Italiana
96 Hammond St, Bangor, ME 04401-4941
207-945-5600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 159 restaurants in Bangor
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Rothesay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently visited this great Italian restaurant located in the heart of downtown Bangor! Overall had a very good meal but the pasta was outstanding. The parpadelle with sausage in cream sauce in particular. The pasta portions were so big we had to bag most of our entres. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    53
    25
    16
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average food... nice decor, very good service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have been to Massimo's twice. Each time I ate at the bar and the service and presentation were excellent.

The food.. is Just okay.. the bread they serve is wonderful, and they have a great selection of wine.. I ordered the lasagna on my last visit and was very disapointed... it tasted like something out of a can.. my kids would have loved it because it was just like Chef BoyRD, it was very sweet and I think the tomato sauce had a carrott puree base.. it was not good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'm surprised by how many negative reviews there have been. This is probably the best restaurant in Bangor, in my opinion. I generally order one of the specials, which have always been fantastic. The pork belly is wonderful, as is the quail. My wife trends more toward the pasta dishes, and those have always been really good, as well.

This is miles and miles above what you'd get at a place like Olive Garden. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor, ME
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Real Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent, well prepared and fresh italian food. The pasta is wonderful (and must be made in house, it's THAT fresh), elegant sauces and friendly service.
This is genuine Italian Cuisine and people who enjoyed the more "Americanized" versions (ala Olive Gaeden, et al) may not enjoy the attention paid to the ingredients as much as I do.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not a Fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Recently I dined at Massimos. After reading some of the reviews, I was looking forward to a wonderful meal. I ordered the $9 spinach w portabello mushroom salad. It was very bland. I had to flag down my waitress to ask for some fresh ground pepper to give it some flavor. The bread was not what I expected (warm, crusty Italian bread). Instead, it was room temp and a little dry. The dipping oil was lackluster. Again, after tasting, I had to call my waitress and ask for some crushed red pepper. The lasagna was a disappointment. No ricotta or mozzarella. Since freshly grated cheese is not offered or available on the table, there was no way to jazz up the pasta. The sauce was unusual- it contained celery and carrots. Would not recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo's Cucina Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Massimo's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massimo's Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.