We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn, idyllic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bailey Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn and Cottages
Bailey Island, ME 04003   |  
Hotel amenities
Forest Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Charming inn, idyllic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

After spending a very rainy weekend in Brunswick, my husband and I decided to drive out to Bailey Island before our long drive home since the sun decided to make an appearance on the day we were supposed to leave. We basically fell in love the minute we left Brunswick and took Route 24 all the way down to Bailey Island. This was the Maine I had imagined! Rugged coastlines, lobster traps, fishing boats, and old cottages by the ocean. We decided very quickly to find a room somewhere and stay one more night.

We came across Driftwood Inn by accident and were not disappointed. The minute we saw the location we KNEW we had to stay there. The guy at the desk informed us that the main cottage was completely empty and we could have an ocean-facing room. We walked to the cottage, went upstairs to the room, saw the breathtaking view and without hesitation said "Yes, we'll take it!".

The plaque on the cottage door said Driftwood Inn, 1905 so we knew the place was going to be charming and rustic. I was really happy that it was fairly clean and didn't have that icky feeling that can come with some beach houses. Our room had a private toilet and sink which was convenient but the shower was in the hallway and would have to be shared with other guests. Luckily for us - there were no other guests! The bathrooms were what you'd expect to find in an old house -- nothing modern, maybe a little mold, but otherwise functioning.

The living room downstairs had an old piano and fireplace which made everything really cozy at night. I was a little surprised that the cottage we stayed in didn't have a kitchen. Since the restaurant was closed for the season we had to drive into town for a bite to eat -- but this was the only downside!

Outside there was a huge covered porch (as well as a closed-in porch) with rocking chairs and wicker furniture. I'm sure in the summer it would be the perfect place to have a meal and watch the sunset.

My husband and I are definitely considering returning next season with a couple of friends to take full advantage of everything this place has to offer...can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The location of this rustic, very comfortable establishment, is supreme, The sound of crashing waves and smell of salt air hits you the second you arrive. My husband and I stayed two nights recently and could have easily booked for a week. There is a slightly summer camp retro feel about the experience., communal spaces to meet and make new friends. Lounge areas, verandas with spectacular views. and dinning area. Shared shower facilities may not appeal to everyone, but they are meticulously clean. We throughly enjoyed our stay, met wonderful people, will definitely come again, for a much longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the cove side of the Driftwood and the sound of the crashing waves was magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We loved this adorable inn and wished we could have stayed longer than just one night. From the friendly staff (and cats) to the charming rooms (we had a view of the ocean from the top floor of Pleasant House) to the wonderful coastline walk just steps from the Inn, we can't say enough good things about it. I suppose some might call it "rustic" but we found it to be an old-fashioned inn experience--just what we were looking for. We sat on the porch and sipped wine before dinner, and then took a walk and watched the sunset. Despite the large family sharing the house with us, it was silent at night and we fell asleep to the sound of the surf. This is not a luxury resort or a chain motel, but it is very charming and warm. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We just spent our last night in Maine at the venerable Driftwood Inn when my wife and I needed a Bailey Island fix. I noticed the previous review re: "roughing it" neglected to mention the glorious setting of the Driftwood, only concentrating on perceived negatives of a great place - kind of a camp for adults and families - that's been around for over a century. This is old Maine at its best, and yes it is a bit rustic. But, that is part of the charm of mid-coast Maine for those of us who know it well and appreciate it as it has been for decades. Also, the breakfast there is one of the outstanding values in Maine. All that food for a maximum cost of $7.50? Are you kidding me? This is not the only good place to stay on Bailey Island. We've stayed at several others and will continue to do so. But, to be mesmerized by the beauty Maine is famous for, one would be hard-pressed to find a better spot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in a king room with 1/2 bath (toilet + sink) in the Pleasant House ($125/night) and didn't take a look at the other two houses with rooms (Driftwood and Surfside) but did notice that they had larger porches. Pleasant House has 9 rooms that share one small shower stall in the downstairs bathroom. Breakfast is served at 8 am, not 8 to 9 or 10 am, 8 am - period. Therefore, everyone arrives in the dining room at the same time and waits for a very mediocre breakfast, not worth getting up for but then the nearest place to get something to eat is at least 15 minutes down the road. Dinner is served at 6pm (we opted out). We may have missed something but we didn't find much to do - no badminton, croquet, bocci, volleyball, just a few board games with missing pieces and no surface or lighting available to play them on. The salt water pool is an unpleasant sight - a large grey cement hole holding dark, murky salt water.

Bottom line if you stay here: bring extra towels (the bath towel provided was a large hand towel) and be prepared to take meals and find things to do elsewhere. It may be a better experience to stay in one of the four or five 'housekeeping' cabins scattered around the property - but I'm not sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed here with two other family members the first week in June for a wedding at Bailey Island Library Hall. It was only 1/2 mile away, and the 2 bedroom cottage was perfect for us. Quiet, at the END of the road (and then some as you walk along the lawn for just a bit to access the cottage), and RIGHT on the ocean. We knew the dining room wouldn't be open til later in June so weren't at all disappointed. The place is older but clean, and comfortable, with everything you need. Staff are great. What more could you ask for? In my mind this is a real bargain. The nature walk along the "Giant's Stairs" are really cool, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUN CITY CENTER
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I discovered the Driftwood probably in the mid 80's. It was just by chance. I love it for its simple charm and nearness to the ocean. We just got back and stayed in room 8 or the Driftwood building. sleeping to the sound of surf is my greatest pleassure. the smell of the ocean is next. We met the two kittys this year, Alby and Menace. Breakfast is a great deal.
Friendly place with happy visitors. I t was getting very warm as we were there at the start of a "heatwave". but the nights were cooler as was the water when we took a dip!!!!
cold for the water in Maine! Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn and Cottages

Address: Bailey Island, ME 04003
Location: United States > Maine > Bailey Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bailey Island
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old style cottages and rooms located on Bailey Island, Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Cottages Hotel Bailey Island
Driftwood Inn And Cottages Bailey Island, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn and Cottages to your Saves list