We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry

Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry
Builyeon Rd., South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9YJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Alness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice quiet stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here as a stop-over for an early flight from Edinburgh. Clean, quiet and comfortable rooms, excellent shower, easy and quick check in, excellent road access and a MacDonalds on the door-step. Can't really ask for more than that from a budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear David W

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry.

We are pleased that you found our rooms clean, comfortable and quiet before your early flight.

Yours Sincerely


Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    87
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
86
72
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A great choice if you are heading north and want a quick getaway over the Forth Road bridge. Really clean and fresh linen, new pillows - all made for a sound and comfortable sleep. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious, my daughter was really happy at having a few extras on her breakfast plate too !

Room Tip: free wifi for half an hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Adventurer S

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us here at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry.

The Team and I are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found our new pillows comfortable.

I will pass your comments on to our restaurant regarding your breakfast, as I am sure they will be pleased to hear that a good experience was had by all.

Yours Sincerely

Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel isn't in a good location if you want to stay for a few days in Edinburgh to see the city centre sights, however great location for South Queensferry and a view of the forth rail bridge.

The rooms were large and clean - all you expect from a Premier Inn.

Breakfast service was efficient and there was plenty choice included in the rate. The hotel wasn't too busy when we stayed, therefore we had no noise disturbance.

Handy location for coming off the motorway and there is a retail park nearby. South Queensferry town centre isn't too far and has some nice restaurants looking out onto the water.

Only negative point was that the price was quite expensive, given that the hotel was not very busy, however would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear T0m_Y22

Thank you for you lovely review of your stay with us at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our housekeeping team are proud that you found the rooms large and clean.

South Queensferry, is a beautiful town with some views of the iconic Forth Rail Bridge.

Once again, thank you for your review and we would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh south Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you want a peaceful night, don't accept a room above the kitchen. All night long there was a continuous pervading noise as if coming from an industrial air conditioning unit on the kitchen roof right below my window. Spoke to reception and they promised it would be switched off at 10pm - It wasn't! This was one of the hottest days of the year but I had to close the window for some refuge from the noise, and then of course the room temperature and humidly made sleep impossible,

The room was Spartan but clean, and all the bells and whistles worked. It was a good job there was one chair where I could sit to put on my socks. You couldn't do this sitting on the edge of the bed because it was nearly 2 feet high!

Had a meal in the attached Brewers Fayre. The place was clean and the staff were efficient, but the food!!! I made the mistake of inadvertently ordering the basic fish and chips instead of Cod. Goodness knows what type of fish I got, but is looked and tasted as ’re-constituted' fish, as they say. The chips were warm. That's all I can say good about that. My good wife suffered in silence, as she does.

The cost of the room for the night was £80. Places like this were a godsend years ago when weary travellers were grateful for a bed at competitive costs. The unique selling point of places like this being sited near major roads and interchanges is wearing a bit thin in this day of the internet and smart phones. In hindsight, we could have been better fed and bedded in a choice of nearby quality hotels at little more cost than I paid here.

Never again.

Room Tip: Pre-book. Although, when online they annoyingly don't encourage direct phone to the hotel, only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Millbrae

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please if you would like to talk to me directly about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me on 0871 527 8364.

Yours Sincerely


Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morayshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Really enjoyed stay,short family break down at The Highland Show. Our room / bathroom was of first class standard
Family friendly,restaurant good, breakfast was exceptional.
Looking forward to our stay next year already!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Linda M

Thank you for your kind review of your stay here at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry).

The Team and I are happy that your enjoyed your stay with us, whilst in the area for the Royal Highland Show.

Our housekeeping team extremely work hard to ensure our guests have a clean and comfortable room, and I am proud that they delivered this to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year, for another great weekend!

Yours Sincerely

Jacqui Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I had not stayed in a Premier Inn before. We were holidaying with my daughter and the children and had to book two double, double rooms to accommodate the four children and ourselves. The rooms were bright, very clean and enough room for us all to get around. The beds lived up to their claim of a good night sleep, and all were claimed comfortable.Toiletries were supplied, along with tea and coffee facilities. The staff were friendly to the children and there was a secure play area outside which the younger children loved. We dined in the Brewer's Fayre restaurant with plenty selection to please everyone and a 'eat as much' as you like breakfast all served by attentive staff. It proved good value for the cost of us all staying two nights. It was in a good location for going to the Highland Show and later we all walked through the underpass and over to the Forth Bridges.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, but surprisingly for the location of the hotel quiet until traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Jan1250

The Team And I would like to thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry).

We are pleased that your enjoyed your visit, and enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep. Our Housekeeping team are proud to read your comments about how you found their rooms.

The play area within the restaurant grounds is a great place for the children to play and I will pass on your kind comments to the Brewers Fayre.

We hope that your enjoyed the sunshine and highland show and we look forward to welcoming your and your family again.
Yours Sincerely

Jacqui Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

P.Inn South Queensferry is one of the older type within the chain, but all the better for it in many ways. A manned reception (no annoying self service check ins), breakfast cooked to order (far better than the offputting buffet style), actual metal room key, all making for a refreshing change to the newer style hotels within the P.Inn group in my opinion.

Very friendly & helpful staff, ample car parking, rooms spotlessly clean & well equipped. I requested a quiet room, which overlooked the car park, & had a great night sleep. Large room, but the small desk mounted TV appeared lost. Directly behind this was a bare wall that would easily have accomodated a larger screen wall mounted TV, which would have made a big difference.

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the picturesque South Queensferry with its bars & restaurants, many of which provide a delivery service to the hotel.

Large, comfortable bar/restaurant next door, with a good range of beers.

Enjoyed my stay here, will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Allertonlad

May the Team and I thank you for your recent review of your stay with us here at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry.

We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the lovely town of South Queensferry. Premier Inn are refurbishing all our rooms, so hopefully in the next year or two, we will have refreshed and updated bedrooms, but I think we will be keeping our 24 hour manned reception!

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you, should you find yourself in the area again.

Your Sincerely

Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn (South Queensferry)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry

Address: Builyeon Rd., South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9YJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.