We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry

Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry
Builyeon Rd., South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9YJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Banbridge
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quality sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Another last minute call but you know exactly what you are getting a good quality room at a reasonable price with a good nights sleep. Staff pleasant and helpful room clean and tidy in standard Inn colours so you know wht your getting. There is the usual eatery connected to the premises and there is a McDonalds and M+S food handy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear BigAl1050,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry.

The hotel is in a great location with lots of choice for places too eat.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Steph Sneddon
PITL Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    87
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
86
72
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We were only at the hotel for one night and had a decent enough stay. Had a call from the hotel earlier in the day to find out what time we were arriving, but we didn't know as we were taking our time heading to Edinburgh. Although mentioned we didn't know the time, was still asked if we wanted to book a table at the restaurant. As at that time, we didn't know what time, we may gave decided to stop en route. Have stayed at a few Premier Inns but have never received such a call before hand. The sceptic in me wonders if this was due to hotel being full and the hotel looking to book my room out again.

Anyway, we checked in without issue and did book a table, which to be honest wasn't necessary as the restaurant wasn't busy. We were handed our keys but no mention made what each key was for.

The room was clean and spacious. No view but while the window was open, it was quite noisy. Bed was comfortable, but the temperature was not. I admit I did toss and turn during the night, much because of the heat, but also due to currently having a arm in plaster. Did mention the heat when we checked out, only to be told that it was a clammy night.

Found this hotel to be ideal for one night. Never had the breakfast as normally just have cereal, so not worth spending the money.

And tip for anyone staying, if you need to withdraw cash, the machine in the restaurant charge for this, it there is an ATM at the BP petrol station which does not charge to access your own money :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear F00Tballfan1903,

I was sorry to hear that you did'nt fully enjoy your stay with us here at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry. The team always strive to make every guest feel brilliant through a great nights sleep and on this occasion we are dissapointed that we have not.

We always contact our guests prior to arrivial to confirm reservation and offer to book a table in the attached Brewers Fayre as most nights they are very busy and we try too avoid our guests having too wait for a table.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope we will welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Steph Sneddon

PITL Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

They do their thing and they do it well.

Car parking was somewhat random, but thats down to the guests skills not the hotel layout.
Great welcome, fast check in... Strange buzzer in lift sounded like I was being piped aboard! :D

External appearance better than some Premiers, bins not full / overflowing and not awash with cigarette ends so thats a plus.

Rooms good sized,standard Premier inn decoration, scrupulously clean and well presented.

Bed and pillows to die for, hit those and you're gone.

McDonalds next door, garage and shop next to that.

Busy road nearby, but most of them have those.

Overall well sited, well up to expectations, and a hotel I will happily stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Blueman R,

I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at the Premier Inn South Queensferry. Our team take great pride in keeping our site in good condition and its nice to know you where happy with the appearance.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the furture.

Kind Regards

Steph Sneddon
PITL Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight recently as we were attending an evening wedding reception in South Queensferry. On our arrival, the reception staff made us very welcome and check-in was a breeze. There is a bit of an issue with bad signage to let you know where the hotel entrance is, but that’s down to West Lothian Council and not the Premier Inn. The car park was busy, but we were able to find a space before going back out for the afternoon.

On coming back to the hotel the car park was still busy, but we obtained a space easily, and we decided to have a bite to eat at the Brewer’s Fayre which is built on to the hotel. You can either walk along the outside pathway to the restaurant, or there is a connecting internal door with the hotel which you access by way of a key on the keyring belonging to the room. This key also unlocks the main entrance door if you intend to come back to the hotel after 11 p.m., although there is also a night porter on duty. Our meal was very nice and, because it was prior to 6.30 p.m., we were able to take advantage of the ‘two meals for £10’ offer. As we required a taxi to take us into South Queensferry itself, the staff very kindly arranged this for us.

On arriving back to the hotel well after 11 p.m., there were no issues in gaining access

As promised by the hotel, we had a good night’s sleep and we went back to the Brewer’s Faye for breakfast (or there’s a McDonalds nearby if that is your preference). Our breakfast was tasty and well cooked and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The bedrooms are very basic, but do have tea/coffee making facilities, some storage areas, a TV and a hairdryer. There are dispensers for shower/shampoo within the shower (ours was an over bath shower) and hand gel at the hand basin. It was clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate for an overnight stay.

There's also a petrol station here if you need your vehicle topped up with fuel for any onward journey you might be making.

I would certainly stay here again if we were attending any sort of function in South Queensferry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Marlscat

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Premier Inn South Queensferry. We are working to try and resolve the issue with the signage for the hotel but i am glad you managed to find us.
The offer's in the attached Brewer's Fayre are superb and its great that you where able to take advantage of this.

We hope you enjoyed your wedding that you where attending and look forwrad too welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Steph Sneddon
PITL Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and were favourably surprised by the standards. Although it is close to a busy roundabout the noise was not intrusive. Our first floor room was large and spotless with ample storage space, a comfortable bed and a good shower.
We chose the continental breakfast which gave us a good start to the day-a large variety of cereals/fruit and yoghurt(kept cold over ice-a nice touch)/as much toast as you could eat and serve yourself tea and coffee.
A particular mention to staff. All were pleasant and happy to give any explanations. The rooms,too,were spotless.
We visit Edinburgh regularly and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Pat & Jim,


I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you well.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Steph Sneddon
PITL Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were showing Aussie visitors this part of Scotland and picked this Premier Inn because it is really handy. Although located near a busy roundabout and Service Area it is ideal if you want to drive into Edinburgh and also travel further north over the Forth Road Bridge. Our Rooms were away from the road noise, we were overlooking the car park. We did a lot of the tourist stuff using this a convenient base. We ate in the restaurant several nights and the food was up to a reasonable standard with no complaints from any of us. The staff are friendly, efficient and attentive and we can recommend staying here if you are driving. Prices in Edinburgh hotels are higher and car parking is not always easy, so this hotel is better value and has its own car park. Road links in all directions make it easy to tour the area from here. Our Australian friends loved visiting this part of Scotland and as they live in Perth Western Australia we had to show them the real one, and a few distilleries of course! This is a good choice for the reasons stated above.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the road and roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear M D,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree that the location of the hotel is ideal for travelling in any direction. It's great that you showed your friends visiting from Australia 'The real Scottish Perth' I hope they enjoyed seeing the sights,although im sure the weather didnt compare to there Perth back home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Steph Sneddon
PITL Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent one night stay at this hotel while taking in the Edinburgh Festival. Nothing negative to say apart from the hotel signage which I didn't spot while approaching from the roundabout. The building was hidden behind trees. You enter next to a filling station and there is a Macdonalds which you pass. The hotel parking is beyond that. Once I had arrived everything was fine - good friendly check-in, nice quiet room on the second floor. There was understandably some traffic noise; due to the warm weather the window was open.

Spacious room and spotless bathroom. The usual incredibly comfortable bed which are the same whichever Premier you stay in. Usual plentiful breakfast closely supervised by efficient lady who checked with me that everything was ok. I would have thought that there was sufficient choice to satisfy anybody.

Lady receptionist in the morning was more than willing to chat and let me have details of the beds which I have been trying to find out about for ages. She was very friendly so all in all I was well pleased with my visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Peter2305

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. August is a great month to visit Edinburgh with all the going's on in the festival, I hope you enjoyed this.
I am very happy that we have managed to help you with your search for one of our bed's which i agree are incredibly comfy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Steph Sneddon
PITL Edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry

Address: Builyeon Rd., South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9YJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.