We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, unique setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dundas Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Queensferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dundas Castle
Save
You added Dundas Castle to your Saves list
South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9SP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic, unique setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

When our daughter got married in the Auld Keep at the Castle, the happy couple decided that they wanted to spend their wedding night in the castle as they hoped to revisit the venue and stay in the Boathouse as an anniversary celebration. Thus it fell to us, the parents of the bride, to take ownership of the Boathouse for the night- we had been obliged to book the Boathouse as the happy couple had wanted photographs there. After the wedding and reception, we enjoyed a few drinks in the castle and were then driven down to the Boathouse. It was a lovely tranquil setting with only the ducks and swans to add to the atmosphere. The complimentary drinks allowed us to enjoy a wind- down drink on the porch before enjoying a lovely nights sleep after all the celebrations.

Next morning we were collected promptly to have breakfast in the Castle - maybe a little early give the wedding celebrations did not end early. Breakfast was fantastic.

I can only say to the happy couple - you will love the Boathouse!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
We love hearing from our guests who have had a fantastic stay at the Boathouse, thank you for reviewing it. We are glad that you were able to spend time both at the Castle and in the Boathouse and I'm sure your daughter and son-in-law will enjoy their time when they come back!

I wonder if the cygnets were born when you stayed? They are much bigger now and trying to stamp their authority over the other birdlife that call our loch their home!

We hope that you have taken home some wonderful memories of your daughter's special day and we would love to welcome you back to the Boathouse in the future.

Best wishes,

The Dundas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

W e spent 2 wonderful days here for my grandsons wedding in June. It really was a fairytale experience.Even the weather was just perfect. What more could one ask for! Everything was so relaxed. It was so well organised all you had to do was enjoy yourself, and we certainly did that. The keep was such a beautiful setting for the ceremony and so unusual. The food was wonderful and the attention from the staff excellent. Everyone was saying it was the best wedding they had ever attended. Thank you Dundas Castle for giving us great memories which will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your grandson's wedding, we're delighted that you had such a wonderful time.

It is lovely to hear from guests who have appreciated how unique and authentic the Auld Keep is. It must have been lovely to enjoy this special Castle with your family and friends on such a wonderful occasion and we are so happy that everyone else enjoyed it too!

The estate looks very different now compared to how it was when you were here. The leaves are now the most spectacular colours and you'll see the team in slightly warmer jackets!

With kind regards from the Dundas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were here in May 2010 but I only recently discovered TripAdvisor, hence the incorrect dates. My husband's company booked the castle for a week for their annual board meeting. The castle, the Auld Keep, the immense sense of history, the family's photo collections in the parlor, all of these were incredibly fascinating. Our room was lovely. But I think I'm the only one in the group who got the full impact of the place, because I took the walk through the grounds on the map they provided. Oh, my goodness! The grounds have been tended for 900 years to look as if they just naturally grew up that way. My walk took me past the Loch, the walled gardens, through the woods, with stunning views in every direction. I fully expected a knight in shining armor to ride up on a white stallion and carry me away to Camelot. It was one of the most astounding experiences of my life. While I had wished that someone in our group might have gone along to share it, in the long run I think I enjoyed it more since I could dawdle wherever I wanted to along the way.

I have to say, although the whole experience was fabulous in every other way, my poor American taste buds just weren't up to a Scottish breakfast!

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but they all have a different flavor and decor. Ours was the Rhodo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and that you remember your experience so vividly. Since you were last here we have had a few more llamas born on the estate and only last month we had 5 new cygnets on the loch!

We would love to welcome you, your husband and his company back any time - you know where we are!

With kind regards,

The Dundas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Attended a wedding here last Sunday what a stunning venue as we where evening guests a girl met us in the car park and escorted us up the steps on way to the castle where another girl met us and escorted us inside where we where given a glass of champagne and told we could roam about the rooms till the bride and groom where ready to meet us, after that we went to a huge marquee where the reception was being held beautiful inside everything was stunning the castle the grounds and the marquee a fantastic wedding venue

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in the Castle before joining the wedding and we hope that you felt at home. We like being able to offer the contrast of the warmth and calm of the house before you move to the Pavilion where the wedding really kicks off into an atmospheric Scottish party!

Hopefully we'll have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Dundas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Now relaxing on a beach in the Indian ocean we are able to reflect on our wedding day at Dundas Castle at the weekend.
What can i say..........spectacular!
Everything you could possibly want in a wedding venue and more. Fabulous attention to detail, reassurance, effective management and much more. Goes to say the catsle, keep and surroundings are beautiful.
The staff were superb especially Ben and Prestige do the castle perfect justice in providing the catering.
Thank you again for providing the perfect day for us that we will never forget and our guests will talk for many a year about!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment whilst you're on your honeymoon! We hope you're both having a fantastic time.

Lisa, Morvern and Ben really enjoyed working with you and your family throughout the planning and on the special day itself. It is a real honour for us to play our part in your celebrations so it means a huge amount that you had such an amazing time.

We hope that you both carry many wonderful memories of your wedding day here at Dundas.

With best wishes for the future,

The Dundas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We attended my best friends wedding in January this year and was stunned about how perfect the day was. The grounds are stunning, the staff are very on the ball and well mannered. The wedding breakfast was in the pavilion and the food was outstanding. Everywhere was spotless, it was undoubtedly the best wedding I've been to.
Even the next day when we found out we had left a jacket there, the staff were more than happy to help.
I would recommend to anyone who is getting married or having a party.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi Lauren,

Thank you so much for leaving a comment with us. It is always exciting when your best friend gets married and we are so happy that we didnt disappoint(!) and that we helped you have a wonderful time! We hope that you still have lots of fantastic memories from your day and that you and your friend can talk about it for years to come.

With kind regards,

The Dundas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Well worth a visit this is a beautiful place excellent staff mannersand food will defo visit again in the future nothing ever a problem staff always on hand polite and well mannered................. cant wait for another outing here

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted that you had a wonderful time and yes, it would be lovely to see you here again!

With kind regards,

The Dundas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dundas Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundas Castle

Address: South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in South Queensferry
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Dundas Castle Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundas Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.