We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway

The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway
31025 Louisiana Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788
1-866-527-6884
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Aloysia Street
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When exploring the river road plantations the restaurant at Nottoway is a perfect place for a lunch stop. Very reasonable prices, excellent meal. Lovely location. Enjoy the exterior of the plantation before you hop back on the road to resume your trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautiful setting with a wonderful selection of Southern dishes!
Fried green tomatoes are a must as are their seafood dishes. Their complimentary bread and homemade butters are addictive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are visiting the River Road Plantations north of New Orleans, make your final plantation stop the Nottoway and include dinner reservations at their restaurant. They have greatly improved their menu and their level of service since my last visit about two years ago. The setting is lovely, almost feels that you are outside among the beautiful trees. The menu is Southern but not typical. All of our party of 3 praised the chef's creations. Special callouts for the excellent turtle soup (which was just recently added to the menu) and for the double cut pork chop glazed with an apple sugar cane sauce and roasted sweet potatoes. The pork chop dinner was sweet and excellent! I would be remiss if I didn't mention the rosemary ciabatta bread with sugar cane butter that preceded dinner - yum! If you are lucky enough to have dinner at sundown you will have an unbelievably beautiful setting for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Party of three. We slept at the Nottoway Plantation that night. The receptionist at the Louisiana State Capitol recommended us to try the restaurant saying it was very good and she was right.

The food was delicious. We shared some fried green tomatoes as appetizer and I had a delicious blackened shrimps and grits as entrée tried some creole entrees: spicy but not overwhelmingly so, with a very nice balance of flavours.

We didn't try the wines but the Sazerac cocktail was delicious.

Service was courteous and very nice (they came in three for a synchronised deliver of our entree).

Recommended, it's a relatively short drive from Baton rouge or New Orleans, but I suggest to combine dinner with a stay at the hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had our 10 year anniversary dinner here & LOVED it! I made reservations through their website & requested a table in the glass room with views of the beautiful grounds & oak trees. It was beautiful! Food was delicious & service was great, very friendly people. Will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway also viewed

 

Been to The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.